List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

Seems like there has to be some reason for them giving two years to Naitanui but shouldn't matter. Doubt it's breaking the bank and sure he would do the right thing by the club if it came to it in 12 months.

No signing of Bailey doesn't mean we dont want Jackson. They will be a good one two combo if both come on while doing there apprenticeship under naitanui for the next couple of years.

Have gold coast go 5 and 7 picks?

If so I reckon we would havr to give up 26 as well 2 to get them.

Give Melbourne 5 and gaff (clears cap space also)

We are left with 7, 20 and Jackson and MG, Make it happen O'Brien

No signing of Bailey doesn't mean we dont want Jackson. They will be a good one two combo if both come on while doing there apprenticeship under naitanui for the next couple of years.

Putting a lot of faith in the pie man there.

I'm just more interested in getting decent now than 12 months as you can have no idea what happens.
Understand that but after 3 bad drafts in a row (2018, 19 and 20), I believe we need 3 strong drafts to get a list capable of competing. 2021 was a really good start. We have a really strong hand this year and I expect us to have another good hand in 2023 so I'd rather get it right than get it faster

Seems like there has to be some reason for them giving two years to Naitanui but shouldn't matter. Doubt it's breaking the bank and sure he would do the right thing by the club if it came to it in 12 months.
Nic Nat just needs to get fit. I'm guessing the club is preparing him for a huge pre season. If we get Nic Nat to lose 10kg and his able to jump freely he would still be pretty valuable. His athleticism in the ruck is untouchable when his fit. Nic Nats weight has been the main issues for him this year. His way too over weight but that can change in a off season and the club knows it.

Now NicNat and my boy Bailey have extended, we have 9 out of contract as follows:
Winder
Witherden
Trew (R)
Nelson (UFA)
West (R)
Naish (R)
Dixon (R)
Joyce (RR)
Rioli (has requested a trade)

(R) stands for Rookie
(RR) stands for Rookie permanently in rehab

Amy Winehouse Rehab GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I doubt 2 + 26 are getting us 5 + 7. In fact, I know they aren't.

2 + 20.... maybe, but that would be a stretch, especially in this draft where seemingly the only stand out is Ashcroft but he's going to Brisvegas.

Weird stuff here. Nic is on two years with the club altready saying the second could be a transition to coaching. Regardless, and noting this context no club can not have three ruckmen (and be odd on successful) particularly when one is a kid.

You seem quite cynical about comments on the strength of the 2023 draft. It is not the greatest draft ever - I cannot recall anyone stating that.

What it does have that this year does not have is a op KPP's that look top end and some really good mids. The expected outcome will be that the top 10 in 2023 will look more like the top 10 of 2018.

I actually like the draft this year but it does not have the 5 to 8 players at the pointy end. I think it feels more like the 2016 and 2017 draft top end. Again, loads of good players in both these years but the top end not outstanding.
Yep, was a bit of a flog comment.

I've regularly commented from what I've seen that looks like plenty of good talent for next year. IMO certainly looks stronger than this year. Never stated it's the greatest ever, and haven't seen anyone else say that either.
Most comments made by draft watchers are more around trying to put value on our picks for next year vs this year as they're tradable.

Weird stuff here. Nic is on two years with the club altready saying the second could be a transition to coaching. Regardless, and noting this context no club can not have three ruckmen (and be odd on successful) particularly when one is a kid.
You recon they're going early on the NN to coach and allowing for having Jackson on the list?

Williams signing means we're not likely to get Jackson imo, we'd have delisted him otherwise.

Which means we're actually playing games getting freo to pay more for him, thank **** for that considering they stepped on our toes with Tim Kelly.

Now NicNat and my boy Bailey have extended, we have 9 out of contract as follows:
Winder
Witherden
Trew (R)
Nelson (UFA)
West (R)
Naish (R)
Dixon (R)
Joyce (RR)
Rioli (has requested a trade)

(R) stands for Rookie
(RR) stands for Rookie permanently in rehab

Amy Winehouse Rehab GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Technically, whilst expected to sign, Hurn and Redden are still out of contract as nothing has been announced

Importantly, we now have 34 players contracted of which one (Culley) is a rookie so I see at absolute most 2 of those players you’ve listed getting a contract (pending anyone else asking to be traded out)

So our ruck stocks (age turning i 2023)
  • NicNat (turning 33)
  • Bailey (turning 23)
  • Jamieson (turning 23)

This seems a little light

I would not be surprised if we go for Broadbent. WAFL are listing him as 201 cm (up 2 cm when I last looked). He looked great in 2021 as a bottom ager while in 2022 he looks to have gone backwards.

I suspect he is still growing and with shin splints his body was probably at 6's and 7's this year.

He has been in for meetings at the club and I suggest we are keen. Yes there is Edwards next year who looks even better but there are multiple targets I am seeing in the top 10 next year, including some KPF's and some excellent high end mids. Possible more rucks from WAFL colts next year so he is a nice to grab now not a must grab now.

Bringing in a lad turning 19 in 2023 makes a lot of sense. Pick 38 might be a reach based on 2022 but I would have gone with pick 20 or 26 this time 12 months ago. And you all know the Pieman loves a player who excellent in his bottom age year and had some problems getting their body right the following year.

Technically, whilst expected to sign, Hurn and Redden are still out of contract as nothing has been announced

Importantly, we now have 34 players contracted of which one (Culley) is a rookie so I see at absolute most 2 of those players you’ve listed getting a contract (pending anyone else asking to be traded out)
If 2 are to get a contract - I'd expect it would be Witherden and Winder to be delisted with a promise to pick up as rookies if still available (and spot still free). Is so, that announcement will come after trade week

We will still need to turn a good number over in 2023 - that will include Redden and Langdon (cannot see either lasting), with players out of contracts including
  • Hurn (surely he won't be playing at 37)
  • Shuey (hope he stays fit and reinvents as a forward so maybe more than 1 year)
  • Waterman (2023 is a make or brake year)
  • XON (more of the Pies game please)
  • SPS (will need to do more next year to stay)
  • Clark (not sure what his standing is)
  • Petch (will he stay fit)
  • Foley (we our game plan go past the slow build up that he possesses)

1663147073516.png