List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

I don't know if anyone call answer this or not but is there a reason why West Coast doesn't look at Irish talent. We've had one on the list and there's ther's other like us too but there's heaps of others that continually look at GAA players

Think I read somewhere that another GC or Qld club offered to assist the Suns in their administration, and by all reports said club was considered very well run. The offer was declined and the Suns opted to go it alone, to which we're all aware of the results.
was it it southport? Back then it felt like Southport were very well run

I don't know if anyone call answer this or not but is there a reason why West Coast doesn't look at Irish talent. We've had one on the list and there's ther's other like us too but there's heaps of others that continually look at GAA players
Did you also read the article about the guy Geelong picked up and, like me, assume this means they will win the next 10 flags?

The success rate on them tends to be low IMO. For every Tuhoy, Kennelly, Hanley there's a lot of them who don't make it. Quite a few get home sick and head back to Ireland.

The clubs with a really strong draft position as it stands now are:

Melbourne - 2 x R1 and 2 x R2
Doggies - 2 x R1 and 1 x R2 plus 3 x R4
GWS - 2 x R1, 1 x R3 and 2 x R4
Sydney - 1 x R1, 2 x R2 and 2 x R3 (that being Hawks R2 and R3 meaning likely to be even better)
Suns - 1 R2, 2 x R2, 3 x R3 and 3 x R4
Eagles - 1 x R1, 2 x R2, 2 x R3, R4

The multiple first round clubs are Giants, Norf, Dogs and Dees

Of all the clubs who traded out their 2023 R1, Port are the only club who finished outside the 8 (and long may that continue).

Dees holding theirs and the purples R1, I can see them bundling trying to get higher. Giants always try to get pointy end.

Some positive news at least: Hough and Jamieson extended through to 2025.

Bit surprised Jamo got that long though.

Hough I can understand getting signed up om exposed form but why Jamieson until 2025? Hardly going to be a rush by clubs thinking they need to poach him.

Signing people through to 2025 when there’s no real need to do so is a club tradition.

Wellll. Immediately a few thoughts spring to mind.
It could signify that they truly believe he can come along quickly and take the ruck spot over the next few seasons.
- Nic Nat is truly cooked and may only play another 15 games over two seasons
-It's a better option than anyone they can pickup or trade in for immediate impact.
-Barnett seems to be a long way off even just being able to pinch a few games.

More likely a lowball offer came with the expense of the extra year. (See Langdon, Rotham)

Wellll. Immediately a few thoughts spring to mind.
It could signify that they truly believe he can come along quickly and take the ruck spot over the next few seasons.
- Nic Nat is truly cooked and may only play another 15 games over two seasons
-It's a better option than anyone they can pickup or trade in for immediate impact.
-Barnett seems to be a long way off even just being able to pinch a few games.

More likely a lowball offer came with the expense of the extra year. (See Langdon, Rotham)

All of which is irrelevant to why now before the season starts and he has plenty of chance to impress…. Smacks of list clogger who we have to hold.( refer Rotham, Nelson, he who shouldn’t be named so someone doesn’t get upset. )

The only reason I can think of is to lock players away early is to then have the ability to focus recruitment on other areas. You wouldn't exactly want to get a player snaked mid-late season once other list decisions had been made.

Interesting that Jamieson's contract extension was already announced in September, though it was never announced how long it was.

I’d assumed it was a 2 year extension but that would appear to be incorrect

So a one year deal on an expiring contract at the end of 2022, now extended to 2025

My best guess is that there was some uncertainty on how long to commit to him for last year but with a good preseason under his belt and some encouraging progress they’ve extended

It’s still odd that they’ve had two separate extensions without a game being played in between

Anyone talking about 2 first round for Harley reid needs to get better talking points and a smack

The bidding starts at 3 first round picks. Get those talking points correct and don't undersell players.

Dan Curtin + first round + first round a minimum.

Even then any suggestion Harley reid out will need smack.

I don't care what we have to do, but we need to draft Reuben Ginbey.

Been watching juniors for a long time, and this is a kid that wont be first picked but will end up close to best player in this draft.
Very similar to Carltons Cripps in his draft.

When he plays half back he is very very good one on one, is strong tough and always tackles.
he is lightning quick and a good kick of the footy

He goes into the middle and he has that power burst no one can stop.

Just love this kid get Beau Waters vibes from him oozes leadership players walk taller around him.

If we can get him with our second pick it would be a bargain.

My old post last year
Love him already all the best Reuben this weekend

They definitely look at GAA players. In fact they look twice to be sure to be sure

Jamo is improving rapidly, has put on size and muscle, and kept his athleticism. Another similar year of development, and he will be a very good player. He is showing a lot and I am stoked for him. A good proactive extension by the club. 👍
Yeah tend to agree I reckon Jamo is tracking well, find the negativity in some of the threads here about him a bit harsh but that’s big footy hey

Anyone talking about 2 first round for Harley reid needs to get better talking points and a smack

The bidding starts at 3 first round picks. Get those talking points correct and don't undersell players.

Dan Curtin + first round + first round a minimum.

Even then any suggestion Harley reid out will need smack.

What if I told you he was gettable with just one first round pick

* By finishing last