Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Poor old Gerald Wheatley was on the brink of tears talking about "Kenny" a few moments ago. "Kenny is one of best" he says.
There's no doubt Whateley has been around the Hinkley estate to check out the roller blinds & sample Donna's BBQ'd rissoles.

HE'S PASSED THE EXAM WITH FLYING COLOURS & EARN'T A 3 YEAR DEAL.. fukc me lol

Alot of Richmond people want Carr

Hopefully a meeting is arranged this week after the Carlton game - After all he will be in melbourne and whats the harm ;)
no-please.gif

Kane on sprtsday just before thinks GC sacked Dew to go after Ken before August....said he knows port are yet to offer Ken anything but that 2 years for Ken would be max as anything longer would be too long for Port and silly by the club.

Thinks its a perfect fit at GC.

Unsure whether hes trying to pressure up to force Ports hand or genuinely just calling as he sees it.

Kane just a flog talking rubbish as usual in order to get attention. He'd be very jealous at all the attention Caro has received with her Dew comments and wants a cut of the action.

If he gets an extension it just proves once again that the club don't really care about winning premierships and/or think winning premierships is too hard. In that context, there's not much point in caring too much. What the club used to be and what it is now are two different things and unfortunately it's hard to see us getting back to what we were.

To further Whateley's exam analogy, Hinkley's exam results oscillate between 60-80% but the graduate programme is only accepting people who average 90%.

Sack him.
No, the exam hasn't even started yet. The exam starts in September. All Ken is doing at this stage is getting a good result on his ATAR. And he's suspected of having a Mr J Carr do most of his assignments for him.

HE'S PASSED THE EXAM WITH FLYING COLOURS & EARN'T A 3 YEAR DEAL.. fukc me lol

I love how he and the rest of them are either oblivious to the Port context or more than happy to ignore it in defence of their man:

• 2001 — 16-6, 3rd = straight sets
• 2002 — 18-4, 1st = lost QF/PF
• 2003 — 18-4, 1st = lost QF/PF
2004 — 17-5, 1st = WON GF
• 2007 — 15-7, 2nd = lost GF
• 2014 — 14-8, 5th = lost PF
• 2017 — 15-7, 5th = lost EF
• 2020 — 14-3, 1st = lost PF
• 2021 — 17-5, 2nd = lost PF
• 2023 — 14-2, 2nd = ?????

BUT HE’S WON HEAPS OF MINOR ROUND GAMES, YOU GUYS!!!11

Sure, that record in the new millennium would be worthy of its own star on the St Kilda, Freo and Carlton Hall Of Fame.

Here? It’s not good enough. Outright unders. And we’ve seen it all before. And therein lies the difference between Port and the rest.

To further Whateley's exam analogy, Hinkley's exam results oscillate between 60-80% but the graduate programme is only accepting people who average 90%.

Sack him.
Hinkley is great at formative assessment, but sucks at summative assessment. Which unfortunately for him.makes up most of the grade.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sack him.

To stretch your exam analogy to breaking point:

Ken's results during his years in the system bounce between 45% and 82% but his intermediate exam results follow a consistent pattern of promise then disappointment. He's now repeated the course without gaining entry to the final exam more times than anyone else in history. We look forward to him successfully reaching and completing the final exam this year and wish him well for his future endeavours... elsewhere in life.

---

Anyway speaking of analogies, myths and fables, if we were ruthless and true to ego as opposed to true to spineless form, Kochless would just bloody well sign Carr for the main job starting next year, negotiate in good faith the potential of a hang-around role for Hinkley after that, and announce it all to us with a "we look forward to Josh earning the right to become our next 10 year coach", so that we are all reminded that the foresight to hang onto Ken when all called for his head, as well as the transition deal, was mostly due to His Kochiness's brilliance. None of it contingent on this year's finals performances.

What are the chances, in the real world? Sigh.

Too bad Ken had to use an abacus for his exam circa 2013-2017 when everyone else was using a calculator.

And if you don't buy that, do me a favour - take the current best 23 and then tell me who you would replace in it from any list we had between 2013-2017. If you can't pick more than 11 players, it wasn't really a premiership calibre list, was it?

Too bad Ken had to use an abacus for his exam circa 2013-2017 when everyone else was using a calculator.

And if you don't buy that, do me a favour - take the current best 23 and then tell me who you would replace in it from any list we had between 2013-2017. If you can't pick more than 11 players, it wasn't really a premiership calibre list, was it?
So we should be sacking Cripps and Parker since they failed to procure the tools Ken needed for the premiership job, right?

The s**t 2013-2017 list that continually beat the dominant team of its generation home and away and ran them to 3 points in an away prelim with more scoring shots.
Your words, not mine. I said it wasn't a premiership calibre list. Running the eventual premiers to 3 points in an away prelim and finishing no higher than 5th was exactly it's high water mark.

Gold Coast may be Hinkley's dream job but I very much doubt they are interested in Daddy Donuts. Dew made the same number of Grand Finals in his five completed seasons at Gold Coast as Hinkley has in his ten completed seasons at Ports. Statistically Dew is twice the coach Hinkley is.

daddy donuts.jpg

Your words, not mine. I said it wasn't a premiership calibre list. Running the eventual premiers to 3 points in an away prelim and finishing no higher than 5th was exactly it's high water mark.

Even apart from Hinkley’s lack of tactical acumen without the likes of Walsh and Richardson holding his hand, are you allowing for Burgess in his Mad Professor ‘elite soccer players in Europe play 3 games a week, 10 months a year, you should be able to do twelve Hawaiian Ironmans between Saturdays!!1’ phase, or just reheating your usual superficial assessment of assuming the flameout was purely down to talent?

Dale Thomas and Nathan Jones on the LISTNR ‘Footy Talk’ pod.

“Port should be smashing Ken’s door down! He’s got them in the palm of his hand! I had them out of the eight! They’re the biggest bolter! Especially after they started zip-three!”

🤪