Autopsy Sydney Legacy in Grand Finals continues 10 goal loss to the Lions

I'm convinced we need a tougher, bigger bodied inside mid than what we currently have. Gulden is slight, as is Warner as is Papley when he's there. I feel we should have a good look at Kennedy from Carlton.
Not sure he'd leave Melbourne having just had a kid, assume his wife is from there.

I get so pissed off with these so called footy experts who spruik bullshit day after day, Apparently our biggest issue is that we play 11 games a year at the SCG but we then get found out when we come to the spacious MCG. I wish they would check their facts before they open their bloody mouths.
So the MCG is 5 meters longer and 5 meters wider than the SCG. That could be an issue however it didn't worry Brisbane.
The Gabba is 1 meter longer than the SCG. 1 fuc..ng meter. That's a huge difference isn't it? It is 2 meters wider than the SCG. So, in total

I get so pissed off with these so called footy experts who spruik bullshit day after day, Apparently our biggest issue is that we play 11 games a year at the SCG but we then get found out when we come to the spacious MCG. I wish they would check their facts before they open their bloody mouths.
So the MCG is 5 meters longer and 5 meters wider than the SCG. That could be an issue however it didn't worry Brisbane.
The Gabba is 1 meter longer than the MCG. 1 fuc..ng meter. That's a huge difference isn't it? It is 2 meters wider than the SCG. So, in total

I guess if all our kicks and plays ended 5 just outside the goal square I would think it had merit 😂.

It's just a nonsense, Geelong play at that thin strip of shit all the time for example.

Maybe not playing at the MCG since round 7 doesn't help , so the AFL could perhaps make sure a minimum amount of MCG games are played by all sides and they are spread out more .

But still the difference in ground size is a bs thing.

All of its bs really, the talls stink the mids suck, the grounds small, the sun shines incorrectly .

The side is just mentally ****ed under real pressure and no more pressure than Grand final day.

I look at the mid 80s period of finals failure and put the blame solely at the feet of Tom Hafey. He was a fitness fanatic that could run all day and then keep running during the night. He expected all his players to be the same.
As a result, whilst other coaches were reducing the workload of their teams during finals, Hafey actually increased it. He was of the belief that the harder you trained the harder you played. Problem was that, as Merv Nagel explained later, the players were exhausted come match day and played accordingly.

The team also had no depth whatsoever
No, I disagree with that.
We finished 2nd and 3rd respectively and you rarely do that with no depth. From memory, we had little injury concerns coming into those finals.
I will always remember Nagle saying that Hafey was so pissed off with the Hawthorn loss that the team had probably their hardest training session for the year the following week. He said that his legs were already like jelly before the Fizroy final.

Just need to dip down to the bottom 8 for a few years. Nothing too drastic but float around 12-14th. We've been up for too long. It's no good and to be fair, im sure it goes without saying - the boys would be worn out mentally and physically.

Re-group, re-invent and then re-launch. Trade and recruit appropriately.

P.S what is Brett Kirk doing?
That won't help. We'll stuff up our first round pick as we have for past number of years.

No, I disagree with that.
We finished 2nd and 3rd respectively and you rarely do that with no depth. From memory, we had little injury concerns coming into those finals.
I will always remember Nagle saying that Hafey was so pissed off with the Hawthorn loss that the team had probably their hardest training session for the year the following week. He said that his legs were already like jelly before the Fizroy final.

In 86 we used 31 player and 87 32 the least of all clubs. There players weren't coming through and then when guys like Williams leave and Healy retired there was no one to replace them either.

Was looking at my pics, photos only capture a moment but it's quite telling in hindsight how organised Brisbane are at the anthem and we have guys looking around, picking their nose etc etc IMG_1484.jpeg

Was looking at my pics, photos only capture a moment but it's quite telling in hindsight how organised Brisbane are at the anthem and we have guys looking around, picking their nose etc etc View attachment 2128168
Don’t forget our captain holding warners hand during the photo and both giggling like school girls

Was looking at my pics, photos only capture a moment but it's quite telling in hindsight how organised Brisbane are at the anthem and we have guys looking around, picking their nose etc etc View attachment 2128168
Given how few people are standing I'm tipping this was during the admittedly long winded 'Welcome to Country', but nonetheless it shows one group connected, in the moment, ready, the other anything but.

The club psychologist (Emma Murray) has received plenty of plaudits from the players, but I seriously question her role in getting us prepared for Saturday.

I don't mean we need the 'Power Stance' but the players look as if they are a bunch of individuals who happen to have turned out in the same kit and 'know' that one game won't define us and that a Premiership would just be the cherry on the top.

Yep it is only one photo, but seemingly no focus on the game ahead, no readiness to play in a GF and the ensuing lack of intensity unsurprisingly occurred.

Given how few people are standing I'm tipping this was during the admittedly long winded 'Welcome to Country', but nonetheless it shows one group connected, in the moment, ready, the other anything but.

The club psychologist (Emma Murray) has received plenty of plaudits from the players, but I seriously question her role in getting us prepared for Saturday.

I don't mean we need the 'Power Stance' but the players look as if they are a bunch of individuals who happen to have turned out in the same kit and 'know' that one game won't define us and that a Premiership would just be the cherry on the top.

Yep it is only one photo, but seemingly no focus on the game ahead, no readiness to play in a GF and the ensuing lack of intensity unsurprisingly occurred.

On the apple live photo it's while Hamish or whoever is introducing the welcome to country and yes it's a moment and yes it equally meant f all if we won. But given what we saw , one team is linked up and ready to go, the other is as you say individuals still not switched on yet .

They are little things, but like Mcdonald running on and of and on again after half time , it speaks to a side that is disorganised.

If you can remember to do your stupid funny pose for the team photo after the banner , surely you can be ready for the welcome to country and anthem you know are coming

Was a bit further around outside the 50.

I saw Papley moving a fair bit, but saw some of the Lions doing little stretches and movements like anyone on our team.

Was a bit further around outside the 50.

I saw Papley moving a fair bit, but saw some of the Lions doing little stretches and movements like anyone on our team.

Yeah like I said it is just a moment so not pretending it's the ahh there's the answer.

Ehhh, look I get this stuff might appear instructive in hindsight, but I think trying to spotlight these moments in time is a bit of a furphy.

Contrast to 2017 when every single Crow looked absolutely terrified in the tunnel waiting to come out and you knew they were about to capitulate.

I think sometimes a game can be summed up with an image.

In 2022 when we went down to the MCG and beat the then-top of the table Melbourne, our pressure that night was just out of this world. I remember saving this picture I saw from that game. It was just so cool - Petracca, surrounded on all sides by Swans, about to get swarmed on, as he was all night that night.

IMG_8359.jpeg

I saw this image from Saturday and it was quite striking, for one simple reason: WHERE ARE ALL THE SWANS?!

IMG_8117.jpeg

I think sometimes a game can be summed up with an image.

In 2022 when we went down to the MCG and beat the then-top of the table Melbourne, our pressure that night was just out of this world. I remember saving this picture I saw from that game. It was just so cool - Petracca, surrounded on all sides by Swans, about to get swarmed on, as he was all night that night.

View attachment 2128257

I saw this image from Saturday and it was quite striking, for one simple reason: WHERE ARE ALL THE SWANS?!

View attachment 2128258

Look which 2 it is

Autopsy Sydney Legacy in Grand Finals continues 10 goal loss to the Lions