Player Watch #11: Luke "Two Dogs" McDonald (Part II) - Roo til end '26 - 2023/24 co captain w/ Jy

If I witnessed my highly paid boss doing the bare minimum and plodding along I'd be tempted to plod along too.
Yes, he puts his head over the ball, but what exactly has he improved in his 10 years at the club? To me he appears the same player as when he arrived at the club if not a regressed version.
And we wonder why we have a problem at Nmfc....

Clarko needs to get real and start making some hard calls- the first one is dropping the Captain.

2026 Brady. 2026.

I can't with this football club.

Words fail me. But then, get this, we make him captain. The club who needs strong on-field leadership the most, makes the established player who possibly demonstrates on-field leadership the least, the captain.

I just...no..I..I...nah. I cant deal with this.

He should step down as captain, or from the side proper for a while - like Rich and Gunston at the Lions last year. I know he won't, but he should. It would be the leader thing to do.

I suspect Rich and Gunston "stepped down" before "retiring" and "seeking a trade".

Clarko is a leader. Tell LMac to "step down" and make him a captain of the VFL team for a stretch. It would do him, and the AFL team, a whole lot of good.

Fair dinkum. He's like Magikarp. He's got one move and it's ineffective. In amongst all the other dreck I waited for him to get the footy and wheel onto the left to dump it long to a contest every single time. Whatever he's on, he's thieving it.

If he cared about the joint he'd drop himself. He couldnt lead a sing-along.
When the f*** is he gonna evolve into a Gyarados?

😂 Yeah can't see him walking away with 2 years left on his contract and the club for whatever reason is hypnotized with him. It's all just a bit of fun for Luke.
That's a main part of the problem - especially when you're a bog average footballer with zero leadership credentials.

Captain. My God. He makes Jarryn Geary (was that his name?) look like Wayne Carey. Jy at least probably has bloody brain damage the poor bastard. Jy has shown he can be a very good player, and is young enough to get back there. This campaigner. Soon as Bergman is fit he should be in for him.

Captain slow:
Slow moving
Slow hands
Slow thinking
Slow to get boot to ball
More of the same.... get ball, hold on to the ball & brace for tackle.
No positive ball movement at all. There was one moment in the last qtr he had the ball on the hbf & kicked it 30m backwards to a player in the goalsquare.....mind boggling :drunk:
With ball in hand he's a creative black hole.
Black Hole Space GIF by The New Yorker

This bloke is our equivalent to Richie Van Der Burg

A woeful captain , and a player who wouldn’t get a game with any other club.

At least Van Der Burg, gave a crap about his team, he’d fly the flag when needed, he looked upset when they lost .

Our bloke …the stumbling , mumbling , good for nothing moron, just seems to smile and smirk. I don’t think I’ve seen him angry/ upset, especially after the final siren, just wants to be liked by the opposition players. I would slap him for fun if I could.

He really is the village idiot

My favourite was in the first quarter when he just ran straight up the guts from half back and bombed it long to a contest only for the ball to come straight back and he got smoked in a 1v1.

It was just desserts for what was deplorable level of both decision making and skill

This bloke is our equivalent to Richie Van Der Burg

A woeful captain , and a player who wouldn’t get a game with any other club.

At least Van Der Burg, gave a crap about his team, he’d fly the flag when needed, he looked upset when they lost .

Our bloke …the stumbling , mumbling , good for nothing moron, just seems to smile and smirk. I don’t think I’ve seen him angry/ upset, especially after the final siren, just wants to be liked by the opposition players. I would slap him for fun if I could.

He really is the village idiot

Possesses a pretty good head rub routine though. How many other skippers have that tool in their repotoure

Words fail me. But then, get this, we make him captain. The club who needs strong on-field leadership the most, makes the established player who possibly demonstrates on-field leadership the least, the captain.

I just...no..I..I...nah. I cant deal with this.
It hurts to think about it mate. We know what McDonald can do on the field but its his contract and his leadership status within the 4 walls of the club that does the most damage.
All the top draftees would look at him with disdain.

We as supporters simply choose to ignore this issue as much as we can and proceed to have blind faith and hope that it'll be right. It'll turn.

This football club cannot do 5 consecutive years of failure. Its never been done in the modern game before. Something has to give for there to be uplift.

Selected ahead of:
  • Dom Sheed
  • Patrick Cripps
  • Matt Crouch
  • Jake Kolodjashni
  • Tom Barrass
  • Allir Allir
  • James Sicily
  • Alex Pearce
  • Blake Acres

and more. Would take any of them over him.

Another reflection of our standards, or lack thereof.

As a case study Tom Jonas is an interesting comparison. Port captain, was putting up equally poor performances, dropped. For a long while.

When we're willing to do the same I'll start believing we're serious.
Stephen Colignio was dropped at GWS for periods during the 2021 or 2022 season (apologies, was one of them). Has since bounced back. But Cameron had the balls to drop him, and he was THE one out captain.

My favourite was in the first quarter when he just ran straight up the guts from half back and bombed it long to a contest only for the ball to come straight back and he got smoked in a 1v1.

It was just desserts for what was deplorable level of both decision making and skill
Ummm I'll call you on that, what about when he cannoned into the Brisbane player who marked the ball on our F50 line, causing a 50m penalty, which was then handballed in a chain for a goal? He is so inept.

That f***ing wry "I tried my best but it was luck that beat me" smile - I just can't deal with it.

Player Watch #11: Luke "Two Dogs" McDonald (Part II) - Roo til end '26 - 2023/24 co captain w/ Jy