List Mgmt. 2013 Trade / Draft / Free Agency

I still think Jack Watts is a good footballer. Although he seems to be soft and he gives little effort, at a better club he would be a more than serviceable player. I think he would slot in nicely on a wing or a flank. Talented athlete and he is a strong mark, I doubt he would cost much.

One player I am interested in is Josh Kelly. Impressive in the U18 championship as a 17 year old. Although he isn't a trade target, I think the Saints should go after him.
Personally I wouldn't touch Watts. You can't teach hardness and I don't think we could pull him out of the nose dive. He'd be about as useful as Fiora.

why would we want thomas, he doesnt address any issues on our list. it sends a terrible message that we wouldnt match the goddard offer but are happy to throw big money at a very similar player. thomas is not an inside mid. hell the pies have stopped playing him in the midfield full stop. he plays off the flank now. thomas would be a significant upgrade on milera. he would not address any of the issues we have now. regardless i think the blues will be the ones that get him.

lever from memory is a project player. he is 200cm and will take time to develop. if we cut him, we'd probably chuck him on the rookie list.

gilbert for me is a keeper. he is young and offers alot off half back. he is also extremely versatile and can fill other positions if called upon. i dont think we would get what we need for him.

jones would be perfect for the eagles right now. they are desperate for another in and under mid who can run all day. if priddis is missing, its game over. kerr cannot be expected to run all day like he used to.

milera wont attract anything decent.

the two younger players in the gun IMO are ledger and simpkin.

Unfortunately I have to agree with you Defacto. Ledger seemed to be out of puff against Werribee??o_O did he run around all day for no reason? If he is simply not fit enough then he is gone because that was the gauntlet laid down to him at the start of the year. I think he will be part of the Brown trade. WCE could do with another midfielder.

Simpkin hurts me because I like the kid but he is a victim of circumstance as we have too many of his types. I wouldn't be upgrading Ferguson ahead of him however. I won't draw a formline on Ferguson's performance on the weekend because he has been out injured but he was probably the worst player for Sandy. I don't rate Lever at all but at 200cm I would keep him over Ferguson. Same goes for Staley who has a bit of fire in the belly but I think is caught between sizes and may never make it either.

I for one am increasingly of the mind that we DON'T do many trades next year, other than go for Brown on the cheap as a Delisted Free Agent ideally. I think our recruiters are doing an excellent job of identifying talent, both in terms of kids and in terms of mature mid-20s players. Let them continue to do that, develop them, and then either play them, or trade them in trades where WE have the upper hand. I'm sick of trades that sound like "Opposition Player for Our player + first-round pick" - I want that equation to go the other way, and for us to walk to the trade table with confidence.

I think I've read somewhere that the club have said the 1st pick is sacrosanct! We need a key defender, (like we have all talked about), another up and coming key forward as well as lots of mids with more emphasis on the pacier outside, (although another inside mid would be handy).....apparently the top 6-8 players are majority pacier outside mids which is encouraging, (someone with much more draft knowledge than I can confirm this)!

Get Knightmare over, If he does ;) knows alot of those in the draft.

Yes Knightmare knows his s**t! Hoping he can elaborate further...

I think we'll get Brown for not very much which takes care of the key defender which leaves a key forward and the mids. We need a couple of A Grade mids, marquee players, the kind of players that are invariably a top 8 pick, (Selwood the exception but then again Stephen Wells is a recruiting genius). Hoping we can pick up 1 per year for the next 2 years...

Interesting to see what NZ rookies will yield. In 2/3 years' time when Roo is no longer here they might be ready along with my main man Spencer to make an impact.

Yes Knightmare knows his s**t! Hoping he can elaborate further...

I think we'll get Brown for not very much which takes care of the key defender which leaves a key forward and the mids. We need a couple of A Grade mids, marquee players, the kind of players that are invariably a top 8 pick, (Selwood the exception but then again Stephen Wells is a recruiting genius). Hoping we can pick up 1 per year for the next 2 years...

Interesting to see what NZ rookies will yield. In 2/3 years' time when Roo is no longer here they might be ready along with my main man Spencer to make an impact.

Sorry to sound petty but Selwood went at pick 7. He was considered 1 or 2 until a negative medical report on his knee. Wells got advice to the contrary and backed himself that Selwood would get over his knee problems. And yes - Wells is a recruiting genius. If we can pick up a Selwood or 2 in the coming drafts then I would be rapt!!

Brad Dalziell may be a better/cheaper option than Thomas. Similar type.
He looked really good early in Brisbane and also looked good on Saturday night. Eagles don't seem to rate him, only plays when they have injuries.
Whats he been like in the WAFL Defacto?

He was good at Brisbane, for a new player, but he was already a mature ager and didnt get much better.
I thought the move west was an "I wanna go home" thing. We'd be foolish to go against that again.
Once got 10 contested disposals ( but so has Seb Ross ).
He's 26 now.

No thanks.

Sorry to sound petty but Selwood went at pick 7. He was considered 1 or 2 until a negative medical report on his knee. Wells got advice to the contrary and backed himself that Selwood would get over his knee problems. And yes - Wells is a recruiting genius. If we can pick up a Selwood or 2 in the coming drafts then I would be rapt!!

Not petty - got confused. Thought Selwood slipped to 16 for some reason...maybe it was someone else.

Lot of good players coming through this draft but the Top 5 is a bit worse with Martin and Hogan gone. In regards to key forwards, Tom Boyd would have to be the standout. I don't rate him as a #1 pick and I think his biggest advantage (size) will be slightly nullified. I was not impressed by his round 1 game against the Chargers even though he kicked 4.

If we finish around 10th as I think we will, I hope we can secure Billings or Kelly. Billings is a beast and he definitely knows how to kick a goal. I would love to draft him as I was very impressed with his play in the U18 championship last year. We would be lucky to see both Kelly and Billings slide to pick 8 or 9, but I think one should be there. Billings is quick and Kelly had an outstanding 3km time trial.

Lot of good players coming through this draft but the Top 5 is a bit worse with Martin and Hogan gone. In regards to key forwards, Tom Boyd would have to be the standout. I don't rate him as a #1 pick and I think his biggest advantage (size) will be slightly nullified. I was not impressed by his round 1 game against the Chargers even though he kicked 4.

If we finish around 10th as I think we will, I hope we can secure Billings or Kelly. Billings is a beast and he definitely knows how to kick a goal. I would love to draft him as I was very impressed with his play in the U18 championship last year. We would be lucky to see both Kelly and Billings slide to pick 8 or 9, but I think one should be there. Billings is quick and Kelly had an outstanding 3km time trial.
Conlan?

We will get a premium mid with our first pick. If we finish about 12th-13th:p (i think that's more realistic mate after the start we've had!) we will get pick 6 or 7. Would Crouch slip down that far? Is he worth it in your opinion?

Not petty - got confused. Thought Selwood slipped to 16 for some reason...maybe it was someone else.

Dangerfield is the most recent one that slipped in my opinion. Went after McEvoy and Rioli.

On drafts - I showed the Spencer tape to a Wobbles supporter and he choked on his dinner when I told him that we picked him up with pick 25. He was baffled that they didn't grab him given they had earlier picks. His view was that Spencer was top 10-15 on talent alone.

Dangerfield is the most recent one that slipped in my opinion. Went after McEvoy and Rioli.

On drafts - I showed the Spencer tape to a Wobbles supporter and he choked on his dinner when I told him that we picked him up with pick 25. He was baffled that they didn't grab him given they had earlier picks. His view was that Spencer was top 10-15 on talent alone.

Dangerman went a year earlier then most players get drafted, bit like what we did with Jack Steven and also Hawks did with Liam Shiels (I think it was)

Conlan?

We will get a premium mid with our first pick. If we finish about 12th-13th:p (i think that's more realistic mate after the start we've had!) we will get pick 6 or 7. Would Crouch slip down that far? Is he worth it in your opinion?
Yeah I am a bit optimistic on our ladder position!

I really rate Crouch's clearance work highly. 6-7 would give us an opportunity to snare Billings IMO, but if he isn't available then Crouch would also be an excellent selection. He should be available at 7.

One player I am interested in is Josh Kelly. Impressive in the U18 championship as a 17 year old. Although he isn't a trade target, I think the Saints should go after him.
We'd obviously love someone with his tank and elite, pinpoint kicking, but wouldn't he be bringing a lot of what Jimmy Webster and Jack Newnes already bring to the table? If they live up to their potential, would we really want to have 3 like them who are very "outside" in the same team? Might be one too many especially with Kelly being rake-thin like Jimmy.

There's always a few smokeys around that turn out to be good. Steven was one.
Probably not that many genuine " A" graders though.

Zharakis, Beams, Robinson, Fyfe were all available to anyone who wanted them.

And of course there is the odd midfielder that trains with you all summer and doesn't get picked up so he goes to Fremantle in the pre-season draft for nothing ................

One outside midfielder that has been impressive so far that I had forgotten is Kennedy-Harris. Very quick, provides great effort and might be available at the Saints' second round pick. He's performed extremely well in the TAC Cup so far as one of the standouts for the reigning premiers (Go Chargers :thumbsu: ). Will definitely be worth drafting him with our second round selection.

We'd obviously love someone with his tank and elite, pinpoint kicking, but wouldn't he be bringing a lot of what Jimmy Webster and Jack Newnes already bring to the table? If they live up to their potential, would we really want to have 3 like them who are very "outside" in the same team? Might be one too many especially with Kelly being rake-thin like Jimmy.
Haven't watched too much of Newnes/Webster, but I don't think they're very similar players. I don't doubt Kelly's ability to put on weight as he has been tested and has played as a 17 year old. I think he'll put on another 5kg this year, his father was 80+kg so I reckon he has the potential to build some muscle.
Either way, I'd probably want Billings at St Kilda.

One outside midfielder that has been impressive so far that I had forgotten is Kennedy-Harris. Very quick, provides great effort and might be available at the Saints' second round pick. He's performed extremely well in the TAC Cup so far as one of the standouts for the reigning premiers (Go Chargers :thumbsu: ). Will definitely be worth drafting him with our second round selection.

Haven't watched too much of Newnes/Webster, but I don't think they're very similar players. I don't doubt Kelly's ability to put on weight as he has been tested and has played as a 17 year old. I think he'll put on another 5kg this year, his father was 80+kg so I reckon he has the potential to build some muscle.
Gday Rahul do you know if there are any real strong bodied mids in this years draft sort of like Wines, Lonergan or Vlastuin

There's been a lot of people mentioning Billings - is that because we think he'll be available at our pick? Where do people think he'll go? Top 3? Or is there any chance he'd still be around at our (probable) pick 6-7ish?