Preview 2016 Grand Final: Sydney Swans vs Western Bulldogs

Rohan. Sretchered off. 2 weeks later Granny

McGlynn playing for his first flag in possibly his last game.

Aliir Aliir (hopefully)

Buddy fighting back from mental health issues.

Papley...plumber off the rookie list

Heeney...kid from Newcastle.

Most of the team...redemption for 2014.

Yeah. Nothing to see here. Go #braves

Yah but that doesnt please the old nannas who have plonked their protruding behinds for the last 50 years at the western oval screaming out things like "you're a dunny brush so and so" while knitting their 158th bulldogs scarf.

This is about those supporters. Those brave supporters.

Yes kid who escapes war as refugee, lives in appalling conditions in Kenyan refugee camp, dad then tragically dies and is brought up by a mother in a welcoming country, trying to overcome another setback before the biggest challenge of his sporting life might beat the drug using, lout son of a dirty, scratching grub father story and bob's knee

Only some of us are loving it.... the rest of us are not it! It's our grand final week too and we are just being shut out all together!

I get that they can't introduce us to the 'fairytale' because... well no, I don't get it. It's just crazy and its wrong... :huh::mad: Why would they ignore us? Some of these shows are supposed to be reputable, informed commentaries on the game... and apparently only one team is playing! Very frustrating!
It's a great week to keep the telly switched off. Win/win.

I'm not going near it. My interface with the GF build-up until the big day is entirely text based.

The dribble will come all week from every angle:
http://www.theroar.com.au/2016/09/27/cola-academy-picks-propel-sydney-another-grand-final/

The more of this dribble i read, the more i hope we are absolutely ruthless on Saturday. I want us to pick up cinderellas stiletto and plunge its sharp heel straight through bambis heart and twist HARD!
The thing I like and dislike most about the Roar is that they give a platform for your average Joe blow. I am on a train while reading that, and my opinion of it must've shown on my face, because people are staring at me :/

Was interesting to see a snippet from Parker on the news the other night saying that there was a feeling amongst the team in 2014 that they could just show up and Hawthorn would hand it to them on a platter.

We were red hot favourites and the Hawks, whilst reigning premiers, weren't invincible yet but surely not? He was only 21 back then so I can understand he and some of the other kids at the time feeling that way but you'd think the older heads would have kept them on the job.

Hopefully Parker can beat that message into the likes of Heeney and Paps who weren't there last time.

I'm sure I'll feel differently on Saturday evening but part of me is devastated we didn't get a chance to personally avenge 2014. Even if it meant 5 GFs in a row, my dream scenario was to belt them on their turf to bookend the 3-peat.

Again, this is part confidence, part bravado talking but this almost feels anticlimactic.

The players will no doubt not give a stuff!

Hewett doesn't appear to be a player who would lose his cool on GF day either. He might not win heaps of it because he's young but he'll generally pick the right option and won't get flustered. I'd pick him without hesitation.

Doesn't play a position or role that means he can get a lot of it.

But plays inside well and outside fine. Tackles like a beast. Draws frees...keeper.

No way the kid get dropped.

Only possible changes to the team from last week are AA for obvious reasons and then Mills and Macca coming in.

Personally I think Mills and Macca are an upgrade on Laider and Marsh but both need to be 100% fit. Laidler and Marsh have done nothing wrong to be dropped but Mills is class personified and Macca despite the shit he cops on here is a very experienced player that can still play at the top level and contribute all over the field.

Rather him out there than a first year dude for this one....next year not so much.

Doesn't play a position or role that means he can get a lot of it.

But plays inside well and outside fine. Tackles like a beast. Draws frees...keeper.

No way the kid get dropped.

Only possible changes to the team from last week are AA for obvious reasons and then Mills and Macca coming in.

Personally I think Mills and Macca are an upgrade on Laider and Marsh but both need to be 100% fit. Laidler and Marsh have done nothing wrong to be dropped but Mills is class personified and Macca despite the shit he cops on here is a very experienced player that can still play at the top level and contribute all over the field.

Rather him out there than a first year dude for this one....next year not so much.
You not worried by Maccas lack of pace?

Yes kid who escapes war as refugee, lives in appalling conditions in Kenyan refugee camp, dad then tragically dies and is brought up by a mother in a welcoming country, trying to overcome another setback before the biggest challenge of his sporting life might beat the drug using, lout son of a dirty, scratching grub father story and bob's knee

Libber is a disgusting person, hate his type. Couldn't even string two words together last night, even at the age of 50.

The guy was despised at every club he has worked at.

You not worried by Maccas lack of pace?

Nah not really.

Mitchell is too slow as well but would we swap him?

We don't need to play Macca on Johanasson or anyone like that.

Play him offensively on the wing and as the spare back.

He is a 250+ gamer that reads the play and still one of our better kicks on his day. let him get the ball and deliver it into our attacking half or fwd 50. Dogs then have an issue they need to solve.

BUT he needs to be 100% fit.

We cannot take 3 risks into the game. I think that is the real dilemma. The coaches have to work out an order of importance as such and go from there.

Order of importance for mine is

AA - simply for the height, composure with ball and synergy he provides down back. Probably the most unlikely but at least his knee is "easy" to assess. It is stable or not. Can't really fudge it.

Mills - In our top 10 players easily. He plays if right and there is no extra danger to the hammy. ****ing kid is better than Heeney and I am happy to own that.

Macca - Should be fine and clearly best 22 in our club. He still is the captain. He can still play both ends and guts.

having said that more than happy to keep Laidler and Marsh in the team in any event but they are the 2 to go no question about it.

Nah not really.

Mitchell is too slow as well but would we swap him?

We don't need to play Macca on Johanasson or anyone like that.

Play him offensively on the wing and as the spare back.

He is a 250+ gamer that reads the play and still one of our better kicks on his day. let him get the ball and deliver it into our attacking half or fwd 50. Dogs then have an issue they need to solve.

BUT he needs to be 100% fit.

We cannot take 3 risks into the game. I think that is the real dilemma. The coaches have to work out an order of importance as such and go from there.

Order of importance for mine is

AA - simply for the height, composure with ball and synergy he provides down back. Probably the most unlikely but at least his knee is "easy" to assess. It is stable or not. Can't really fudge it.

Mills - In our top 10 players easily. He plays if right and there is no extra danger to the hammy. ******* kid is better than Heeney and I am happy to own that.

Macca - Should be fine and clearly best 22 in our club. He still is the captain. He can still play both ends and guts.

having said that more than happy to keep Laidler and Marsh in the team in any event but they are the 2 to go no question about it.
Agree but his leg speed has dropped considerably this year. His on field "coaching" is a major plus structurally. In horse we trust.

http://www.theroar.com.au/2016/09/27/cola-academy-picks-propel-sydney-another-grand-final/

The more of this dribble i read, the more i hope we are absolutely ruthless on Saturday. I want us to pick up cinderellas stiletto and plunge its sharp heel straight through bambis heart and twist HARD!

The Roar is perhaps my most hated website. It's full of self-important blowhards trying to glorify their ill-informed rants as journalism. It's like the Twitter of sport without the reprieve of a 140 character limit. Do yourself a favour and stay as far away from it as possible.

Its just like listening to a bunch of blokes chat about footy in some regional pub. The majority of all their opinions and facts come from listening to the hot breakfast or other footy MMM shows and SEN and reading the herald.

Shitmond supporter, no big surprise there. Had a chuckle in the end, its so incredibly biased it's shameful. Riddled with inaccuracies and lies, hus article reads like a biased, bitter old man, whose only joy in life in the misery of others.

He's a campaigner though.

Its the worst parts of BigFooty meets the worst parts of Twitter

I've only had good experiences when discussing with folk on the Sydney board in the past.
Is there another thread on this board here where that is happening?
Because this obviously isn't the correct thread.
What's happing with Jong , rough , suckling
Will they play in your opinion ?

And who for ?