Analysis 2016 List Management Discussion

Looking at our list we really need our young guys to come on quickly before Kreuzer, Murphy, Gibbs and Tuohy retire. We will loose Jamison, Rowe, Walker, Thomas and Simpson. Here is my view of our young guys.

The 15 new players

Silvagni- If leave out who his family is then it doesn't look good, a late pick, a undersized forward but did look OK in his NAB game won't see a lot of AFL footy in 2016 could develop into a solid 3rd tall like a Breust or a Darling.

McKay- he's got strong hands and good pace but looks more like a Tippett type than a buddy.

Kerridge- looked like an average player a the crows but after his pre season form he looks like a great partner for Cripps in the middle and looks like he could be a goal kicker

Lamb- it make or break! Looked like a young superstar at the swans but looked average at GWS.

Sumner- massive talent, great skills and speed, if he can get his body right he will be a star. I'm looking forward to watching him running down the wing and kicking goals.

Plowman- another on that needs to get his body right. Could be a key defender but would be better as a loose man in defence with his decision making, pace and skills will be a massive weapon

Weitering- superstar and leader (just like Murphy, Gibbs and Kreuzer was at the same age)

Cuningham- I was in sure about him when we drafted him, then heard great reports over the pre season and thought I was wrong then watching him play in the NAB he looks lost. I was really hoping for Collins, Partington or Mathieson

Curnow- if he has the same work ethic as his brother he will be Fyfe type of midfielder ans a superstar.

Phillips- will never be a superstar but is strong, hard at it and give 100%. He will be our No. 1 ruck at some stage and that will free Kreuzer up to play forward, wing or midfielder.

Gorringe- What is this guy? A forward? A ruckman? A defender? A really tall midfielder?

Gallucci- will be handy. Need him in our starting 22 ASAP. Chases, tackles and kicks goals

Wright- adds leadership and a older body but is only a stop gap

Glass- McCasker- needs time to develop. Has all the skills and talent to be an A grade defender

Korcheck- At 23yo time is not on his side. But he is a competitive beast.

The other young guys-

Buckley- love this guy so hoping he plays 22 games this year.

Cripps- superstar

Boekhorst- ready for a break out year.

Docherty- the best trade since Judd. Will be a captain one day.

Viojo-rainbow- I'm disappointed we didn't get to see him in the NAB. Needs to play afl footy this year, had good number at vfl level

Jaksch- needs to be settled into one position. With Plowman and Weitering added to our list IMO it should be forward would like to see him play 15-20 games at FF.

Tutt- In an interview Judd said he will be a star and I'm not going to argue with the great man

Whiley- make or break year but signs looked good in the NAB

Smith- work rate is a question but has all the talent and skills to make it

Foster- developing tall needs time but will be 50/50 to make it

Dick- way down the peaking order but works hard

Graham- 2016 looks to be his year

Byrne- could be the next big Irish star has skills and pace

For me our biggest needs is a superstar tall forward, another gun mid or 2 and a classy small forward.
What about Sheehan - he isn't old is he?
I really rate Sheehan and hope he can get his body right and play 15+ games this year. Appears to have good skills by foot and we need more capable footballers with those skills in our 22.

And still can't nounce the ball properly..We need more pure footballers, less project players like him and the big yank..

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

And still can't nounce the ball properly..We need more pure footballers, less project players like him and the big yank..

Mate, he hasn't fluffed a bounce yet. You've really got it in for him!

That bounce in his debut game was funny to watch. I don't have it in for him. I just don't think we can have too many players on our list who realistically have little to no chance of being part of our resurgence. Byrne is a ripper and younger, can't wait to watch him grow.

He will be 26 later this year. His game awareness will need more time, time I feel he doesn't have due to his age as mentioned. That's not a critisism or his fault. The game also continues to get quicker as well. Injury has robbed him of valuable time he could not afford to lose...will it resurface?
I thought we could adjust the ratio of rookies and senior listed players as well..

So this is what I think we do at the end of the year.
This is the strategy I'd be advocating.

Assuming we win fewer games than last year (which of course might not transpire), lobby hard around July for the priority pick, but to be before the second round not the first. If we finish last, and for the time being ignoring any possible extra picks other clubs might have due to comp or future trading, then this means we go to the draft with picks 1, 19 and 20.

Trade Gibbs for pick, say 12.

Trade Casboult for, say pick 21.

Then SOS package a combo of Everitt, our 3rd rounder and 20 for 15 and a later third rounder (worse than ours).

So we go to the draft with : 1, 12, 15, 19, 21 and then some later picks.

Hard to say bye to BG but I just don't think he will be part of our next premiership side.
And I think Everitt simply needs to be traded if we can get a pick, and I worry Cas is simply not up to it.

Early days and could very well change my views on above moving forwards but this is just an early guess.
Half decent key position players at our club should not be traded under any circumstances at present . If a club has a strong spine with depth in key positions OK but we don't and haven't for years which has been a huge problem so we shouldn't be giving them away . Gibbs maybe or any other midfielder but key position bad move I feel .

He will be 26 later this year. His game awareness will need more time, time I feel he doesn't have due to his age as mentioned. That's not a critisism or his fault. The game also continues to get quicker as well. Injury has robbed him of valuable time he could not afford to lose...will it resurface?
I thought we could adjust the ratio of rookies and senior listed players as well..

I'm not sure someone as good as he was in Gaelic football is really lacking game sense. This is evident in the clip I put up with intercept marks/smothers and long kicks to targets. Experience is lacking, sure, but I think by the end of the year we will know whether or not he has got what it takes since he should be relatively injury free now and playing.

It's a different game to ours with a different set of rules...Saturation over a long period is the best tutor imho..
His long kicking is good, but in all honesty those are the easier kicks to pull off as they allow you to kick through the ball. The shorter kicks between 10-30 meters are trickier as weighting the ball goes and those are the kicks most used in football today as teams try and hold possesion while they work the ball forward.
He might work out, but the odds are firmly stacked against him...
Besides with 2E a bonofide player & Byrne looking the goods, 2 out of three ain't bad right?

It's a different game to ours with a different set of rules...Saturation over a long period is the best tutor imho..
His long kicking is good, but in all honesty those are the easier kicks to pull off as they allow you to kick through the ball. The shorter kicks between 10-30 meters are trickier as weighting the ball goes and those are the kicks most used in football today as teams try and hold possesion while they work the ball forward.
He might work out, but the odds are firmly stacked against him...
Besides with 2E a bonofide player & Byrne looking the goods, 2 out of three ain't bad right?

Sheehan plays in defence so chipping the ball around is not something to encourage. However, just because he barely kicks the ball short, doesn't mean he doesn't know how to weight the ball. He is quite adept at weighting the ball over 40m and 50m. He is definitely holding something back so it's not just a matter of banging it on the boot as much as he can. He is almost always targeting somebody.

I think you need to be extra careful in defense as that is where turnovers impact the scorboard the most. Shorter kicking affords you a higher strike rate of retaining possession you would think..
As the old saying goes, work the ball out of defense.

I think you need to be extra careful in defense as that is where turnovers impact the scorboard the most. Shorter kicking affords you a higher strike rate of retaining possession you would think..

Wrong, wrong and wrong.

Does that not depend on where and how you get the ball and the options available to you?

Tell me what he should have done in these situations?

So you believe defenders should try and kick as long as possible out of defense to a contest? Sounds very 80's football to me.

Defence is rebound.

Zones and structures are based on rebound.

What a number of people misunderstand is more scores come from turnovers than clearances.
Yes, yes & yes.

Opposition teams have thrived on us struggling to bring the ball out of defence in the past & the same applies on the odd occasions when we have stopped our opponent's rebound. We saw examples of this against Sydney last week, on the half a dozen or so occasions when our zone was set up right & Sydney were unable to run the ball from defence.

Clearances is such a misleading stat nowadays. It is the possession after the clearance which is most important. The quick kick or handball from a clearance will hurt you more often than not. This is why it is important for the likes of Cripps to have good users on the outside to receive, or be able to burst from a contest in the way Judd used to at his peak & then have an effective disposal.

So you believe defenders should try and kick as long as possible out of defense to a contest? Sounds very 80's football to me.

Not really, don't think I made a call of that sorts.

Your suggestion of extra caution and short kicks seems 80's enough.

Game has changed a lot since then.

Would seem to me that defenders that can kick 60m over a press, to the advantage of a teammate, even if one on one, are worth their weight in gold in today's football. It's not like Sheehan has had plenty of time and just willy nilly booted the ball as far as he can. He has generally got a target in mind and given them every chance.