List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 1

I agree with it all mate but I will say that the board does get notified depending on the enormity of the situation. All nods of captaincy at the Saints are ratified by the board and although we haven't had a massive signing like this in quite a while, I'd assume if Fyfe had a contract laid out to him by the Saints it would not just be a playing contract type of offer but an all encompassing media/life after footy deal (godfather offer) that I think would need to be ratified by the board at some stage. He'd become one of the main faces of our football club.

Like I've said all along I highly doubt he will move but things change in footy and if this has any credence to it then I think it's worth having a discussion about.

ratified is the key word here. its too early for that to happen, all we have is an offer which is why i listed the above people. of course a contract that big would need to be signed off by the board

i highly doubt the leak came from a saints board member... fyfe is down on form, freo win 3 in a row then lose on the weekend, approaching the mid way mark of the season
A mate of mine txted me about this 20 mins ago.....I thought "here we go " with the rumour mill....then saw it was a headline on the Hun.....then jumped on here...it's a frenzy...

He then txted me saying a DJ in Perth started the rumour....also that Michael Gudinski was in Perth on the weekend....maybe being a little mischievous.......he's no longer on the board...

My 2 cents worth anyway.....like all these things...I'll believe it when the club officially announces something.....

Remember 2 years ago when Richo all of a sudden was talking a lot about Rory Sloan and how he'd love him at the Saints(I wished)

Until it's official...I don't even blink.

ratified is the key word here. its too early for that to happen, all we have is an offer which is why i listed the above people. of course a contract that big would need to be signed off by the board
I think you're definitely on the money in that his management is trying to get Freo to cave. It makes more sense than us leaking something to a WA news outlet.

We need Freo to finish lower than Hawks on the ladder.
If that happens we'll get him as a free agent.
If Freo finish higher they'll want to trade and take Hawthorns pick off our hands.

If its close, it wouldn't be the difference if they got pick 3 or pick 5.
If they decide they wan't two picks it will be a pain in the arse, because then we have to pay the pick they would have got for nothing from the AFL as well as another.
Maybe we could do a handshake deal that if they don't match , we give them 2 first round picks and Wright and Minchington for Weller.

Tbh 1.5mil per season is way too much.
Just say he gets injured again we're as good as ****ed

id rather go for kelly (1mil per season) and pick up a beast from the draft (darcy fogarty)

A mate of mine txted me about this 20 mins ago.....I thought "here we go " with the rumour mill....then saw it was a headline on the Hun.....then jumped on here...it's a frenzy...

He then txted me saying a DJ in Perth started the rumour....also that Michael Gudinski was in Perth on the weekend....maybe being a little mischievous.......he's no longer on the board...

My 2 cents worth anyway.....like all these things...I'll believe it when the club officially announces something.....

Remember 2 years ago when Richo all of a sudden was talking a lot about Rory Sloan and how he'd love him at the Saints(I wished)

Until it's official...I don't even blink.
yep, sloane would have been great - should've offered $1m a year. Dusty in 2013 couldn't find a buyer - another one lost. Both well over the $1m mark now.

If its legit. It's very disappointing that it was leaked. Not only disapointing but it could backfire. Its Kangarooesque.
Plus the figure? 1.5? Fmd.
Are you serious? It's Nat ****ing Fyfe! Throw the chequebook at him. Besides, we have a ton left in the cap, who else are we going to use it on???

IMO it would be massively front loaded and be 1M per year after 2 years.
With the hold nugget from Essendon of Jakes wage for a year we're in a strong position to absorb the financial early pain.

K4CQ7Zz.jpg

We need Freo to finish lower than Hawks on the ladder.
If that happens we'll get him as a free agent.
If Freo finish higher they'll want to trade and take Hawthorns pick off our hands.

I'm not so sure, if he wants to go they can't make him stay. he's a free agent and the only reason Geelong wanted to pay for Danger with draft picks is they were under paying him on industry rates. Just because the Pies payed 2 first rounders to get Treloar and then Aish in the same deal doesn't make every good player worth 2 first rounders. Just because Geelong under paid doesn't make every FA worth a trade deal. We have set an extremely high salary, Freo won't want to pay a guy to stay 1.5 million a year.

Why are offering such a high amount, without seeing how his leg holds up for the year? You'd think you want something more concrete in the back half of the year.

IMO it would be massively front loaded and be 1M per year after 2 years.
With the hold nugget from Essendon of Jakes wage for a year we're in a strong position to absorb the financial early pain.
Can we have a seperate thread for all Nathan Fyfe posts and merge all today's ones in it? I reckon it's worthy... a solid "Operation get Nathan Fyfe" thread. :cool:

I'm not so sure, if he wants to go they can't make him stay. he's a free agent and the only reason Geelong wanted to pay for Danger with draft picks is they were under paying him on industry rates. Just because the Pies payed 2 first rounders to get Treloar and then Aish in the same deal doesn't make every good player worth 2 first rounders. Just because Geelong under paid doesn't make every FA worth a trade deal. We have set an extremely high salary, Freo won't want to pay a guy to stay 1.5 million a year.
You are very ignorant if you think freo will just let him walk as a FA. Top 3 player in the comp, and is a 'restricted' free agent who will net far more via a trade than the any compensation we might get.

I also call bullshit. This same thing happened last year with us where lachie neale was a sure thing to be going to adelaide and how did that work out in the end. Fyfe is captain of our club and has always stated freo is where he wants to be. So dont go getting too excited over anything fitzy has to say on a radio show.

i highly doubt the leak came from a saints board member... fyfe is down on form, freo win 3 in a row then lose on the weekend, approaching the mid way mark of the season

i'd say some dockers supporting media types are trying to shake the apple out of the tree
I wish had blokes 'down on form' who were still getting numbers like these....

IMG_5659.jpg

Only bad game he's had was 2 nights ago