List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

I watched Kelly being interviewed after the game, he is a very well spoken composed young man.

I walked away with the feeling he probably stays at GWS but he didn't say anything, not one thing except what you would want if you were the club or his manager.

Hard to see the same young bloke talking it up behind the scenes, now his manager on the other hand is paid to do just that.
Did you see his press conference though? He had ample opportunity to say "yeah, I want to stay, it's only a matter of time and I'll sign" or words to that effect, which is what you'd expect someone who has very intention of staying to say, but he apparently didn't say anything like that, so I think it's still very much up in the air for him.

Which is why it could be crucial to our chances that we play really well this week, to make him feel like , "yeah, this is a club that's really going places still, and if I leave GWS I won't necessarily be leaving behind my chances of imminent premiership success beyond this year", if he's going to making his mind up really soon.
I expect with jones you will get pretty much what his brother brings, there's a lot to like but silky skills isn't part of the package. He was pick 15? Maybe a player swap, I don't see the swans being keen.

Hopper is interesting, I keep hearing about how he is a gun maybe the injury is the reason why he has been a bit down on form. They have some young guns who are used as bit players at present it's hard to get a form line on them.
Yeah Jones doesn't kick it as well as you'd like, but it's hard to get someone who's a complete package, so you get what you pay for.

Hopper was clearly preferred to Steele at GWS last year (despite being younger and in the system one less year), which tells us how good he is, because we've seen how well Steels's gone this year, once given an opportunity in the guts every week (despite having missed so much preseason and having played just 30 games). So if you got Hopper and he was back to full fitness and form, I reckon you'd be getting a ripper.

Lol no they didn't.

That was some random Perth based radio host / wannabe journo.

I mean, I take whatever anyone says with a grain of salt until it 'actually' happens. But it's interesting to know where they get their supposed info from.
No mate. Im not talking about that. David schwarz ran with it last week and generally knows his stuff. The point I was making was don't get too excited

Steele had a contested possession rate of 57% and 49% in the U18 Champs and TAC cup. He's had games this year with 12, 13 and 17 contested possessions. He absolutely has the contested ball winning ability we need.

Ross was never bad at winning the contested ball. He had a CP% of 57 and 41 in the U18 Champs and TAC cup.
Yes and true to form are showing it at afl level.

I just can't believe how many low possession Hbf we draft that will supposedly become great mids.

I remember watching Billy's longer in the championships and thinking this kid is stick thin but I think he will make it. Interestingly he didn't take a lot of marks, which is another junior skill that seems to flow on.

No mate. Im not talking about that. David schwarz ran with it last week and generally knows his stuff. The point I was making was don't get too excited

Well there goes that then. Way to pop the kids ballon dude.

SEN say a lot of things.
They have a lot of air time to fill.

Like how the womans day has a lot of pages to fill.
So they fill them with complete garbage from 'sources'.

i've noticed that SEN claims a lot of shit these days. theyre horrible

the way they were defending mark robinson has just about done be in with them

i've noticed that SEN claims a lot of shit these days. theyre horrible

the way they were defending mark robinson has just about done be in with them
That's a plus one from me, indefensible from mark Robinson.

I always thought the guy was a bit of a boof head, you know a few pots say and write a bit of crap but basically a harmless enough player in the football media.

The comments he made were sly, nasty and showed such insensitivity I won't ever look at him the same way.

He apologised because he had to and he and his mates have spun it to the best of their abilities but that was the real robo on show, can't take that back.

What is the sister station?
Classic Rock Radio, 1377 on the AM band (which used to be 3MP), or on digital radio/online. Been going about 6 or 8 months now I'd say.

Just wall to wall rock awesomeness from the 60's to the early 90's, with very few ads or news type breaks and generally no-one DJ-ing.

Classic Rock Radio, 1377 on the AM band (which used to be 3MP). Been going about 6 or 8 months now I'd say.

Just wall to wall rock awesomeness from the 60's to the early 90's, with very few ads and generally no-one DJing.
Did not know that thanks

How many contested possessions do you expect someone who's been almost exclusively playing wing or HBF/BP to be getting though? Look at Joey's CP numbers since he went to the HBF and compare them to 2010 or so when he was playing much more on the ball. They're polar opposites.

Chances are Jones has only played one AFL game on the ball and in it he had 13 CP's and 6 clearances. Our guys would also know how he goes if played on the ball in the NEAFL.

Either way, he'd probably still be good value even if he only ever played wing or HBF, if we got him and say a bit of change for our pick 10ish. We could really do with someone else with his sort of explosiveness (and hardness) no matter whether he's playing inside or out.

Our guys haven't proposed trading for him, we made it up on this forum.

What makes you think you'd get a contracted young player for pick 10ish, what are you going to pay him to lure him? So how can you claim he'd be good value? Not many of the best gun players in the AFL are still under the Radar after four years.

Did not know that thanks
I love it, it's like Gold 104.3, but with much less ads and talk and I'd say harder rock (originally they were officially just 60's to 80's classic rock, but now they're starting to squeeze in harder early 90's stuff as well, like occasional Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Chili Peppers, Metallica and so-on).

I'm hearing lots of stuff that I already know and love, but also plenty of songs I'd never heard before from the 60's to 80's that I'm now really into.

Our guys haven't proposed trading for him, we made it up on this forum.

What makes you think you'd get a contracted young player for pick 10ish, what are you going to pay him to lure him? So how can you claim he'd be good value? Not many of the best gun players in the AFL are still under the Radar after four years.
Made what up, are you talking about Jones? It's been said in the media that we're one of the clubs into him.

He's also not contracted, hence the strong interest from multiple clubs being reported!

Pick 10ish ought to be plenty. It's more than they got for the far more proven Tom Mitchell.

Made what up, are you talking about Jones? It's been said in the media that we're one of the clubs into him.

He's also not contracted, hence the strong interest from multiple clubs being reported!

Pick 10ish ought to be plenty. It's more than they got for the far more proven Tom Mitchell.

Pick 10 would be massive overs imo.

Also as far as pay goes, syd have (rightly) prioritised the likes of heeney, mills, buddy, tippett etc ahead of guys like jones.

They will only be able to offer him 'ok' money and limited midfield time.

Like with steele, we can offer him much bigger bucks and opportunity to be a big banana full time midfielder.

He's a good 'plan b' target for us, but i get the feeling he's the 'plan A' target for a few clubs...

My gut says he'd be more likely to move to a club who wants him as a preference, rather than us who want him as a consolation prize.

(Ps sydney took unders for titch, pick 10 is slight overs for jones but I'd be happy for us to pay it if jones has a strong back half of this year)

Pick 10 would be massive overs imo.
Yeah I think it would be closer to overs than unders myself.

He's good, but you're still largely paying for what you hope he might become, even though he's been in the system for 4 years now.

He's probably a safer bet than most you'd draft with a pick like 10 or so though and he's ready-to-go and possibly to really blossom, so I'd be fine with us giving up that pick for him, especially if we happened to get someone like Kelly as well.

Ummm no. Just no

We have basically the worst midfield in the comp. We might be marginally better this year to last, but we are still horrible in our ability to win clearances. And in the last 2 weeks we were just beaten up by two of the other bottom 4 clubs in this area.

Who averages 2 more clearances a game than anyone else in the comp?

Who averages more that 3.5 clearances than Dusty and almost 5 more than Fyfe and Kelly per week?

Well that would be Rockliff.

Fixes our biggest issue at half the $$ and no cost at the draft. Yes we need more polish, but our issue is actually getting the thing in the first place

2017 so far

View attachment 378303

But on the plus side we are bottom four as compared to last year where we were bottom 2. 2016 below

View attachment 378304
You might want to read my 3 or 4 posts after the one you quoted. Over all clearances don't really show the whole picture. We have won 7 out of 10 clearance counts this year including all of the last 5.