List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 3

Only two things our top 10 picks should be used on this year; Jelly or pick #1

If those fail take them to the draft and get the two best kids available

Grab the best FA available who wants a truck load of cash, or pour it into Moorabbin.

What ever is left over drop down to Rebel Sport and pickup a helmet to chuck on the scone of Mattress Guts

Can't believe it. Melbourne of all clubs has broken my resolve.

Feel so ******* flat about the club and where we're going.

Hope Billings and Steele win a flag in their career. Love both of them.

Jeez I reckon I'd done for the year
I'm as flat as I have been since the 2011 Elimination Final. The last few years we all know we've been a mediocre side and have expected a finish near the bottom. Last year we were all proud of the way we fought back in the second half of the year. This year, we all thought we'd make a big jump and take our game to a new level, and in some games we have. But that's the problem - it's only been some games. Still very inconsistent, the gap between our best and worst football is twice as big as it was last year. Thought the stars would align and we'd be able to give Riewoldt the send off he deserves, but instead we dish up one of the worst half's of football any side has produced all year and the margin is too much to come back from. Shithouse game of football.

I know we're still a young side, and I have patience so I can wait but we do need a big off season and start the year with a bang in 2018. Some positives to look forward to - Steele can have a full pre season, same as Billings who can have another and really elevate his game, Dunstan has been playing some really good footy in the last month, Paddy to come back, Carlisle will only get better (as good as he has already been) and hopefully one of Kelly or Whitfield will be here. I'd like to think we can eliminate some of the goal kicking demons from our game, if we do that we can really make a jump and go past sides like Richmond, Geelong, Port Adelaide and West Coast.

For the last two weeks though, let's just focus on what's important - sending off one of our best ever in great fashion with a couple of big wins to propel us into 2018.

thats st kilda for you mate. the feeling will pass. we'll smash norf on the weekend and everything will be right with the world
Win the one that means nothing now and fail to deliver when it was needed.
3 or 4 times this year we haven't been able to get it done when needed at the big moments, hopefully with another pre season and a few more games under belt this will turn around.

Win the one that means nothing now and fail to deliver when it was needed.
3 or 4 times this year we haven't been able to get it done when needed at the big moments, hopefully with another pre season and a few more games under belt this will turn around.

Maybe we just aren't good enough yet. I still say most of the people disappointed are the ones who overrated the list at the start of the year. I certainly didn't expect to beat the Demons yesterday but the way we started was hugely disappointing.

Can't believe it. Melbourne of all clubs has broken my resolve.

Feel so ******* flat about the club and where we're going.

Hope Billings and Steele win a flag in their career. Love both of them.

Jeez I reckon I'd done for the year
Here mate, hand them around. I filled my pockets already
IMG_5934.JPG

Heard on good authority that Carlton have put a huge Spanner in the works regarding Kelly.

3-4 months ago I wrote Kelly was done. But Carlton wont go away and have upped the offer considerably compared to us. Its a genuine 50/50 at this stage. He's leaving.
Is this coming from the same guy that said Dempster cracked the shits because he was dropped and not rested????
Not saying I'm not believing, we know that the blues are trying

Stevens and Dunstan have the same problem inconsistency it's not really important who ends up depth. They have more value to us then in a trade we need depth good teams have depth. I was extremely pleased we picked up Stevens because teams have injuries if he holds his spot ahead of others fantastic. I also think Stevens is a more flexible player then just an inside mid.

Steele, Stevens, Dunstan (since returning) and Ross is not our problem. Our problems are lack of a fast running half back, Bruce contested marking and goal kicking, lack of marking options out of defense, a fast pressure forward, Acres lack of consistency, Gresham needing to develop, Brown being as fast and agile as a battleship.
We don't have a long get out at present, longer is improving by the week but he must improve his marking.

You end up with Bruce for example being drawn down the ground to provide a target way too often.

It feeds into not having the run and carry elite kicking off half back, we can't get out as easily as the better sides.

We also kick very few cheap goals, same problem speed and foot skills.

I think people would be amazed what a difference a few targeted players could make to this team especially with a fit paddy.

I'm as flat as I have been since the 2011 Elimination Final. The last few years we all know we've been a mediocre side and have expected a finish near the bottom. Last year we were all proud of the way we fought back in the second half of the year. This year, we all thought we'd make a big jump and take our game to a new level, and in some games we have. But that's the problem - it's only been some games. Still very inconsistent, the gap between our best and worst football is twice as big as it was last year. Thought the stars would align and we'd be able to give Riewoldt the send off he deserves, but instead we dish up one of the worst half's of football any side has produced all year and the margin is too much to come back from. Shithouse game of football.

I know we're still a young side, and I have patience so I can wait but we do need a big off season and start the year with a bang in 2018. Some positives to look forward to - Steele can have a full pre season, same as Billings who can have another and really elevate his game, Dunstan has been playing some really good footy in the last month, Paddy to come back, Carlisle will only get better (as good as he has already been) and hopefully one of Kelly or Whitfield will be here. I'd like to think we can eliminate some of the goal kicking demons from our game, if we do that we can really make a jump and go past sides like Richmond, Geelong, Port Adelaide and West Coast.

For the last two weeks though, let's just focus on what's important - sending off one of our best ever in great fashion with a couple of big wins to propel us into 2018.
You make some good points, it seems unlike you to be so flat.

Put on the hockey song for a laught, there's a very funny sign at the start of the clip. Then get on an opposition site and annoy someone, that will cheer you up.

Yeah i agree this information is all coming from one of the players best mates same guy gave me Dempster cracked the shits information.
John2010362340 said:
Kelly is a done deal. Found out from the same person that told me Dempster was dropped not rested for the game against Sydney. Locked and loaded. Same as Steele last year agreed to terms. Don't know the terms just know he has agreed and will be at Saints.
:rolleyes:

You make some good points, it seems unlike you to be so flat.

Put on the hockey song for a laught, there's a very funny sign at the start of the clip. Then get on an opposition site and annoy someone, that will cheer you up.
I think the fact that I'm currently sick doesn't help haha. It's just really disappointing that we couldn't make it to September for Rooey, but it's not the end of the world. If you're not ready to play finals, you won't - it's pretty simple.

Think I might just go back and re-watch the Richmond and GWS games from this year, they'll be sure to have me in a good mood :D

I think the fact that I'm currently sick doesn't help haha. It's just really disappointing that we couldn't make it to September for Rooey, but it's not the end of the world. If you're not ready to play finals, you won't - it's pretty simple.

Think I might just go back and re-watch the Richmond and GWS games from this year, they'll be sure to have me in a good mood :D
Nothing wrong with being disappointed today mate, the club publicly had finals as their goal this year and they failed. Failure should disappoint us. I hope the club doesn't make excuses for themselves and work out how and why we failed and go about rectifying it in the off-season. Footy is a brutal business. It stands still for no one.

Sick too. Crook as a dog tbh all week off work
Prob why I was so ****ing dark yesterday
Was in a foul mood
Didn't expect to win a GF obviously but playing finals was the step we shouldve taken this year

If we don't land Kelly I'm going to have a massive melt
Dont offer him anything
Ask him what the **** he wants
Ffs

Unless you physically break into the war room at Seaford there is no way anyone is finding out if Kelly is a guaranteed done deal at this time of the year. It's like Area 51 over there. With that said if you begin to put the pieces together you can see the planets are aligning...

Looking forward to the next few months despite the poor performances on-field.

We don't have a long get out at present, longer is improving by the week but he must improve his marking.

You end up with Bruce for example being drawn down the ground to provide a target way too often.

It feeds into not having the run and carry elite kicking off half back, we can't get out as easily as the better sides.
We also kick very few cheap goals, same problem speed foot skills.

I think people would be amazed what a difference a few targeted players could make to this team especially with a fit paddy.

Finally someone on the same wave length.
Out of our team who can take a contested mark?
1.carlisle
2.Membrey
3.Bruce
4.roberton although he is mainly loose.

Thats it. So when we kick long to a contest if we dont use any of those 4 then chances are it gets rebounded from a contest or a ball up at best.

We are also too slow. This then leads to our next issue. Disposal efficiency. Being too slow we are consistently under pressure then our poor disposal gets worse.

We also kick very few cheap goals, same problem speed and foot skills.

Every time I see Membrey mark it up the ground I think who's gonna mark it in the forwardline.

Unless you physically break into the war room at Seaford there is no way anyone is finding out if Kelly is a guaranteed done deal at this time of the year. It's like Area 51 over there. With that said if you begin to put the pieces together you can see the planets are aligning...

giphy.gif

1.carlisle
2.Membrey
3.Bruce

Thats it. So when we kick long to a contest if we dont use any of those 4 then chances are it gets rebounded from a contest or a ball up at best.

We are also too slow. This then leads to our next issue. Disposal efficiency. Being too slow we are consistently under pressure then our poor disposal gets worse.

Contested marks isn't the issue. Most tall forwards take marks on the lead and very few contested marks. Unfortunately apart from Roo our talls aren't fast enough on the lead to mark it out in front. That is the real issue. I doubt our contested marking is much worse than most clubs.

Hmmm, like the saints laptops that got stolen at the end of 09 and then magically the Pies had our game plan and Luke Ball in 10?

1.carlisle
2.Membrey
3.Bruce

Weller, Steele, Billings, Acres

If we miss out on Kelly, and end up with picks 7 & 8. which option would you take?

A. Take 7 & 8 to the draft?

B. Trade them both for pick 1 or 2?

C. Trade one with Brisbane for picks 13 and 18, take other to draft.

D. " " " Richmond " " 15 & 16.

E. Both C & D giving us 4 1st round picks?

If we miss out on Kelly, and end up with picks 7 & 8. which option would you take?

A. Take 7 & 8 to the draft?

B. Trade them both for pick 1 or 2?

C. Trade one with Brisbane for picks 13 and 18, take other to draft.

D. " " " Richmond " " 15 & 16.

E. Both C & D giving us 4 1st round picks?

Would 7 and nexts years first get us higher up?
If not keep 7 and 8 and get best mids available.