Preview 2018 1st Semi Final: Hawthorn v Melbourne, 14 September 2018, 7.50pm @ MCG

It's about building momentum and peaking at the right time, friend.

Five wins from the last 6 matches, including victories over West Coast in Perth, and both GWS and Geelong at the 'G gives rise to optimism.

But like all matches, it will be won in the midfield. We have the second best contested ball differential since they've been keeping records for that stat in 1999. First and third in that category both won flags in their respective years.

If Hawthorn can get the better of Gawn, Oliver, Viney, Brayshaw, Harmes, vandenBerg, Petracca, Tyson, Neal-Bullen, and Jones then good luck to you.
Wank wank.
Oliver is a champ, Ill give you that. Brayshaw-yes please. McEvoy is every bit as influential as Gawn.
But then.....Viney has been missing most of the year and the rest of that list are B grade spuds at best.

Ummm...surely we should be worrying about how to beat Melbourne, not Richmond?

I’m a sure ‘we’, as in the club, are as opposed to ‘we’ BF posters who are doing who the hell knows what half the time.

A thread on playing strategies would be interesting, however. A bit of thinking around the merit of contrasting styles, etc. Old school kick-it-forward v control-by-foot v run-and-gun v rolling-scrum and the Roos-flood.

Clarko assembled a team of kicking superstars and out-finessed the competition for a good couple years. Plus he had some old-fashioned hard heads that weren’t afraid of a little shirtfronting just to make sure the opposition didn’t get too uppity. Is that still a valid game style? Has near universal elite fitness and endurance made the pressured scrum too effective for control to still be a viable playing style? What level of midfield power would be required to outskill a rambling high-pressure team like Richmond? Is pursuing that strategy a proper goal for the club?

Anyways, would make for an interesting thread.

2016 was a one off year, dogs built momentum and it all fell into place, Richmond were a genuine top 4 side last year and that has been proven this year, just media hype and AFL story telling trying to hype up the Dees, truth being if they happen to got over us they will be belted in Perh by a full strength WCE.

We match up very well against them , midfields are even , McEvoy will play well against Gawn, they are shakey in the backline , our Fwds will trouble them, they play chaotic footy but without the structure of Richmond, it was mentioned in an earlier thread but they play on emotion both positive and negative which is true, wouldn't bother listening to media this week it will be unbearable, full of ex players who have seen us dominate the competition for decades, it won't have any impact on the result.

Go Hawks

We need to do something different regarding Richmond that's for sure, we have played them 3 times in the last 13 months and the games have all been well and truly over by 3 quarter time.

Yes. First time in a long time I've seen a Hawthorn team genuinely bullied by an opposition. Bullied both mentally and physically. I get the feeling that when Hawthorn come up against Richmond they mentally approach they game as thought hey are going to swat us away like a annoying younger brother. This is not the hawthorn I know. Clarkson needs to put his mate back in his place.

Five wins from the last 6 matches, including victories over West Coast in Perth, and both GWS and Geelong at the 'G gives rise to optimism.

But like all matches, it will be won in the midfield. We have the second best contested ball differential since they've been keeping records for that stat in 1999. First and third in that category both won flags in their respective years.

If Hawthorn can get the better of Gawn, Oliver, Viney, Brayshaw, Harmes, vandenBerg, Petracca, Tyson, Neal-Bullen, and Jones then good luck to you.
Great, you've made your point.

Now unless you have anything further to add than continually making that same point, kindly jog on.

I'm hoping Dee's played their Grand Final against Cats last Friday night and we will really give them a run for their money on Friday night.

Also, I'm trying to decide whether I go to the game. Every Hawks game I've been to this year, Hawks have lost. What to do?
Go Hawks!

I'm hoping Dee's played their Grand Final against Cats last Friday night and we will really give them a run for their money on Friday night.

Also, I'm trying to decide whether I go to the game. Every Hawks game I've been to this year, Hawks have lost. What to do?
Go Hawks!
Take one for the team and stay home!

Go Hawks!

book tickets to the pies game :thumbsu: ;)

Go Hawks!
You need to go to more games

I walked away from the game last Thursday night feeling deflated...
  • We played our worst game of the year - we tracked at just over 50% efficiency
  • Tigers nearly doubled our inside 50 count
  • Breust, Silk, Gunston & Smith had ZERO impact
And we only lost by 5 goals to the best team of the comp.

Not exactly end of the world stuff, if Silk & Breust had kicked those 2 sitters in the 1st half we'd have gone into half time just 2 points down considering how we were being outplayed & never looked the part.

Only win for the night was being just under .05 on the breathtest on the way home :drunk:

I just hope we play Miles, Nash, Morrison, Worpel and co.

Youngsters need a second, or first chance for Miles, at finals pressure. I believe Morrison, Worps and Nash would be greatly improved. Without Strats, not sure of the make up of our structure, but we can push the dees, and even stay in the race for a third final.

Write off Burgoyne at your peril.

You know nothing about footy if you’re judging him on one final.

He’s just as likely to rip you to shreds this week. He lives for big finals.

I'd never actually write off Burgoyne, like i said, he is a deadset champion, and been one of my favourite non-dees players for years. You're right that he is probably more likely to tear us to shreds than put up a similar performance to last week, but i was only making comment on his most recent game (and possibly a little bit of hope for next week).

Similarly, I'd never write off Hawthorn as a whole, far too many accomplished players for that, and the fact that Gunston and a couple of other guns played poorly last week makes me even more nervous about how well they will likely play this week.

I don't understand sorry.

'Play that style?'

You mean run 30% LESS?
I think you are onto something but not what you think you are exactly. They don't have a large weekly disparity in total distance covered compared to their opponent, it's usually fairly close, sometimes less, sometimes more but no real pattern.

They have a couple of big runners in Lambert and Broad etc, they have a couple like Dusty who they limit to a certain part of the ground to maximise impact

They have a lot of fast smalls that are good at sprint efforts.

What I think they do is hold their structures very well, they don't over commit to contests, they don't sag their zones the wrong way but their game style invites the opponent to over commit, and their pressure around the contest makes it seem like there are more tigers there than there are, then when the ball comes out the Tigers have the out number on the outside a lot because they didn't get sucked in to the contest.

We had our forwards getting sucked up too far on Thursday, you could see Rough trying to call the guys back all night to where their Richmond opponents were.

They attack the ball fast, their repeat efforts are good and they have some really fast players forward of centre who stay out of the contest so they can break back to goal

I'd never actually write off Burgoyne, like i said, he is a deadset champion, and been one of my favourite non-dees players for years. You're right that he is probably more likely to tear us to shreds than put up a similar performance to last week, but i was only making comment on his most recent game (and possibly a little bit of hope for next week).

Similarly, I'd never write off Hawthorn as a whole, far too many accomplished players for that, and the fact that Gunston and a couple of other guns played poorly last week makes me even more nervous about how well they will likely play this week.

All good mate. Going to be a ripper.

Mate, we've heard all this bullshit before... Everytime we play finals we hear of a club on "the up", the media starts the circle jerk and the Hawks are facing world beaters, yet each time we beat them. Happened with Freo in the GF, happened with the Crows in the Prelim a few years back (which was the biggest media **** up of all time) and it happened with the Eagles on GF day in 15.

Frankly we don't give 2 rats about what you say here, you can promote your club as much as you like, facts remains you are one of the most embarrassingly pathetic and inept footy clubs since the comp when national, you have a culture of losing which doesn't change overnight. If you beat us then so be it, we will live, however if you dont (which I am confident you won't), it's back to the drawing board.

Now trot off lad.