Resource 2019 Draft Watch (we have picks 6 24 25 39 46)

Who will we take with our first pick (#6) in the 2019 draft?

Thoughts on whether he would be there for us at 37 Mutineer ??
Don't reckon he goes that late, he's almost the complete midfield package, good size, good speed, elite endurance, elite hands in side the contest, loves to tackle, goal kicking mid, thrives on the contested stuff......only weakness currently is his field kicking consistency which he's worked very hard on improving and is really starting to get the rewards for his hard work with a noticeable improvement, no problems with penetration just the accuracy and certainly no problems with his goal kicking. Looks to have a lot of upside given he's come from an elite basketball background [Australian Junior Rep] and has only taken his football to the serious level this season.

Thanks mate ... have had a bit of a look at him , certainly more than passes the eye test as an elite athlete and agree with your write up .
Can definitely see the basketball background with his clean hands around the contest and whilst his field kicking needs some work his technique is not broken and his decision making is sound . Really like his upside as i am sure Hamish will . Cheers

Outside of Rowell/Anderson, Ash seems to be the one for mine. Good size, solid, yet outside leaning midfielder/half-back who is natural run and carry/line breaker with good foot skills.

Sounds like there's a few good key backs on offer in the 20-40 range. Would love for Gould to slide to 23 but from what I've seen of him, I think he's more likely to push up into the top 10. Fitness will be an issue for some, but doesn't bother me too much at this stage.
Will Day is the one SA lad I'm most keen on, another that looks to have huge upside body development wise, also another that has really only got serious about his footy in recent times coming from an elite baseball background. Played mainly across half back at the Championships but I could see him playing almost anywhere on the ground with his talent base and aerial ability. Think he will surprise some how high he eventually goes similar to Sam Sturt last year who also came out of nowhere late in the season.

Seems to be sliding a fair way according to phantom drafts, potentially available at 28 or even 37!
If you watch Taheny closely there are certainly some red flags there with him, his body language when things aren't going right is very stark and obvious and his efforts off the contest and when he hasn't got the ball would worry recruiters I think. When he's on he's certainly good to watch but when he's not his efforts leave a bit to be desired at times. Talent isn't the problem that's for sure but work ethic could be.

Gippsland Power Forward Fraser Phillips is a similar player talent wise but has a much better work ethic that is also worth a look. Father Garry played a few games for the Cats but not enough games to make him a father/son.

Speaking of mature aged recruits, can anyone tell me if Dom Barry from Norwood would be worth an AFL lifeline with a later pick?

Will only be 21 in March, and from the finals I saw this year his best looks pretty damn exciting and damaging up front.

Admittedly my knowledge of him this season was exclusively that finals series, so not sure if that was a just a purple patch, or a true reflection of his form.

EDIT: My mistake, 25 years old, not 21!

Watch him most weeks, and his best is very good, but drifts in and out of games too much. Also has been at a couple of different clubs in the AFL and hasn’t been able to make an impact.

Would love Tom Green and we probably bid on him but that's where it will stop. A pure contested animal, big long arms for ultimate hardball extraction, gets his arms up quick with big shoulders to dish out quick hands time and time again. And spreads like a demon.

Pick 4 for mine is a tricky one, best available at that level is where we should go....Rowell goes 1 Anderson goes 2...unsure what Melbourne would do with 3 knowing their record but at 4 would be very pleased with Ash or Young...elite ball users.

Would love Tom Green and we probably bid on him but that's where it will stop. A pure contested animal, big long arms for ultimate hardball extraction, gets his arms up quick with big shoulders to dish out quick hands time and time again. And spreads like a demon.

Pick 4 for mine is a tricky one, best available at that level is where we should go....Rowell goes 1 Anderson goes 2...unsure what Melbourne would do with 3 knowing their record but at 4 would be very pleased with Ash or Young...elite ball users.
Interesting article last week on the Giants website re Green, their picks status and the draft.

If you watch Taheny closely there are certainly some red flags there with him, his body language when things aren't going right is very stark and obvious and his efforts off the contest and when he hasn't got the ball would worry recruiters I think. When he's on he's certainly good to watch but when he's not his efforts leave a bit to be desired at times. Talent isn't the problem that's for sure but work ethic could be.

Gippsland Power Forward Fraser Phillips is a similar player talent wise but has a much better work ethic that is also worth a look. Father Garry played a few games for the Cats but not enough games to make him a father/son.

Absolutely Red Flags .....if you can't one grab at junior level ....there's no chance at AFL level

What are the rules with signing previously listed and delisted AFL players like Partington - aren't they free agents for life? So couldn't someone sign them, like, now?

Nah he has to go into the draft, could either pick up there or as a rookie

Only club I would be speaking to would be freo for 7 and 10
A bid for Henry early would ruin those picks, so maybe a 4 and 23 could do it, but we'd have to threaten to bid otherwise I don't see him going till after their picks.

Geelong seem desperate for Flanders but I dont like the thought of shifting back to 14 and 16 even if they throw another 1st next year in.

Gws only come to us if Melboune falls through, 6 and their 2020 first is probably the most appealing of all deals.

Reckon Port will be on the phone too they liketo sell the farm. 12 18 and their 1st next year could be excellent in the long run.

Reid says we have received a lot of phone calls about pick 4 and he sounds excited about sliding it.

Can't see us keeping it.

He has been floating this since way before the draft. I can't see why on earth he bothered to cooperate with SOS last year, leading us all to rejoice and deathwatch Carlton all year, if all he was going to do was bend over and slide it down into mediocrity! Can't we handle a high pick? Is Ogilvie only capable of getting gold from low picks?

Clearly that was with either Anderson and/or Rowell in mind [Anderson I favour] and one would have hardly expected the Demons to fail so miserably.....GCS or Carlton looked a lock for the wooden spoon. How was Reid expected to know the AFL would step in and give the GCS the priority pick?

Both he and Hamish would have been aware Tom Green was going to go high at that stage and that GWS were likely to match any bid. After those 3 it will be down to club recruiters personal preferences in what order they have the next dozen or so players and I'd think they'd vary significantly.

At present what club can offer enough to sway Reid/Hamish to downgrade and what do they offer up that's the big question? It will have to be significant that's for sure. I don't think there's too many players in the 1st round that project as mediocre...

Nah he has to go into the draft, could either pick up there or as a rookie
Sure.

Any links for that?

Here's a link that says that Free Agency for life came in for previously delisted players this year (such as CEY).

Surely Partington can be signed like Newnes. Or can no free agents be signed now?

Pick 6 is mediocrity?