Resource 2020 Draft Watch (picks 1, 9, 20, 30, 45, 50, 60, 74) - updated R17 15/9/20

Do you think that Adelaide has future premiership quality KPP's already in place?
Still have Butts and Worrell untried at AFL level as KPD's. Though Worrell may be better suited to other roles.

Really need another KPF this draft to start developing.

We'll be close to bottom of the ladder again next year, and there seems to be a promising crop of mids coming through next year. There is still a couple of untried mids from last years draft taken in the second round

Still have Butts and Worrell untried at AFL level as KPD's. Though Worrell may be better suited to other roles.

Really need another KPF this draft to start developing.

We'll be close to bottom of the ladder again next year, and there seems to be a promising crop of mids coming through next year. There is still a couple of untried mids from last years draft taken in the second round

So, they're just speculative, yes? I would agree.

This is my point mate, a club on a deep rebuild would want to have high confidence in it's future KPP stocks if it's going to go out and prefer midfielders this early in the piece, because if they get it wrong, it can stuff the club up for 10 years.

Do you think that Adelaide has future premiership quality KPP's already in place?
Not at this stage ......probably need another 2-3 quality KPP , and a Ruckman

Fogarty
Himmelberg
McAsey ....are the only one's you could say will be a chance, allowing for injury, that's not nearly enough

This is my point mate, a club on a deep rebuild would want to have high confidence in it's future KPP stocks if it's going to go out and prefer midfielders this early in the piece, because if they get it wrong, it can stuff the club up for 10 years.
Or we take the best midfielder at #1 ......and get a KPP with later picks, where you should draft for need

All or KPP in the past have come from pick 12 and into the 2nd rounds

Going forward our KPF's seem to any of Fogarty and then either of Frampton or Himmelberg playing KPF and chop out in the ruck. I think the jury is still out on whether they'll make it long term.

Fogarty should. The other 2?

ATM I'm still leaning towards Thilthorpe over McDonald as he's probably going to be a little more versatile. And dependent on Baldwins prognosis, take him with our second round pick if he was still available.

I'd also inclined to keep at least 1 of the Crouch's (preferably Brad, though maybe even both), while the current mids are still developing. Sloane looks cooked and may have reinvent himself in the off-season.

Not at this stage ......probably need another 2-3 quality KPP , and a Ruckman

:thumbsu:

Get them in first, set up the bookends for 12-15 years, and then adding midfield depth is regulation stuff. Get the side up & going with a view to playing finals again in 4 years time, because realistically that's what you're looking at. Once the rise starts to get buzzing you are then in a position to lure back players who may want to return to an emerging side, such as Lukosious & Rankine.

If you want to see a list that has stuffed up its rebuild and cost themselves at least 5 years, then look no further than Fremantle. Their rebuild priorities have been shithouse.

Hawthorn are also just about to fall off a cliff & Geelong won't be far behind them.

ATM I'm still leaning towards Thilthorpe over McDonald as he's probably going to be a little more versatile.

IMO, that is a no brainer. :thumbsu:

Not confident.
Worrell shoes potential but Nick's won't play him.
Himmelberg shown something last couple of weeks and good below knees but needs to hit the gym and become stronger and a bit more mobile.
McAsey may not be a keeper. Good mark but his lack of pace as a forward worries me. May end up a defender but i would be surprised if he is here in 2 years. Poor pick by Hamish.
Fogarty. Jury out on him. Needs to get fitter but its been 2 years now and no change. Not sure what is going on with him or whether he is happy at the club. His lack of pace and turning circle not great. Not a good contested mark. Concerned.
Gollant. 191cm. Very skinny. Not a KPP but looks a great mark and will be a really good player in time.
Butts. Only seen bits of him but needs to add size. Disposal only ok. Jury out on him imo.
Doedee. Gun. Very good interceptor. Can play midfield and maybe pinch hit up forward. Body only concern.
I feel we desperately need a forward that can mark. McDonald looks this player.
Gollant and McDonald would be really promising. Worrell as your third tall forward or could go back back with Doedee. Only concern with Worrell is will he stick around?

:thumbsu:

Get them in first, set up the bookends for 12-15 years, and then adding midfield depth is regulation stuff. Get the side up & going with a view to playimg finals again in 4 years time, because realistically that's what you're looking at. Once the rise starts to get buzzing you are then in a position to lure back players who may want to return to an emerging side, such as Lukosious & Rankine.

If you want to see a list that has stuffed up its rebuild and cost themselves at least 5 years, then look no further than Fremantle. Their rebuild priorities have been shithouse.
That's always been my philosophy as well ......watching Terry Wallace stuff up his rebuild by selecting mids cemented that

However Buddy Franklin was no lock as a superstar at #5 .........and many of the talls taken at the top of drafts have failed ....McCartin, Boyd, Patton, Weitering .....in fact how many #1 picks have proven to be Hall of Famers ??
So at #1, take the player with that "X" factor and with the greatest upside as skeletal player ......not a flanker, or as Raynor looks like staying, a small forward

That's always been my philosophy as well ......watching Terry Wallace stuff up his rebuild by selecting mids cemented that

However Buddy Franklin was no lock as a superstar at #5 .........and many of the talls taken at the top of drafts have failed ....McCartin, Boyd, Patton, Weitering .....in fact how many #1 picks have proven to be Hall of Famers ??
So at #1, take the player with that "X" factor and with the greatest upside as skeletal player ......not a flanker, or as Raynor looks like staying, a small forward

I reckon the early Adelaide administration knew what it was doing when they locked away Rehn, Robran & Smart very early in their initial build.;) :thumbsu:

6-7 years later, flags. This is the reality of the situation that Crows fans have to embrace, and I know it's not easy as the club has stayed very competitive for a long time.

Very few of the initial round 1 1991 side made it's way to the premiership dais.

I reckon the early Adelaide administration knew what it was doing when they locked away Rehn, Robran & Smart very early in their initial build.;) :thumbsu:

6-7 years later, flags. This is the reality of the situation that Crows fans have to embrace, and I know it's not easy as the club has stayed very competitive for a long time.

Very few of the initial round 1 1991 side made it's way to the premiership dais.
2 More bouts of heavy pruning over the next 2 Drafts will complete the structural build ....that'll make 3 years heavily at the Draft

In a rebuild what we're putting into place is the skeleton .....the KPP's, Midfield, and Rucks ......the flankers the skin on the skeleton, and done during normal drafting year on year

2 More bouts of heavy pruning over the next 2 Drafts will complete the structural build ....that'll make 3 years heavily at the Draft

In a rebuild what we're putting into place is the skeleton .....the KPP's, Midfield, and Rucks ......the flankers the skin on the skeleton, and done during normal drafting year on year

Yep, and fans had better steel themselves for some hard initial miles before the fruit starts to bear, and when it does, it will be even sweeter for the hard miles put in to the journey.

You will get to see who is fair dinkum & staunch now.

Stick by them, because although it initially appears to be counter-intuitive, your club is actually taking the right path now.

I haven't see the posts - has FAITH acknowledged the irony of him dismissing Lukosius on the exact night Luko absolutely tears it up with 800+m gained?

It feels like remarkably bad timing to go back to those dumb 2018 opinions that most of us had forgotten.
Anyone can get the footy kick it 50m directly to the opposition.
I'll respect him when he lays a few tackles and doesn't prance around like a ballerina.
#bruisefreefooty

so... i take it you can’t then... is it just the “vibe” you get?... or is this coming from the same section of your brain that blurted out “the two draftees, Hollands and Phillips, are already better than Brad Crouch“ the other day?..

I tried to put it in simpleton terms for you.
If you can't see how Thilthorpe is different to McDonald, I can't hp you I'm afraid.

I would bid on JUH at 1, take Hollands at 2, bid on Campbell hoping Sydney match. Trade pick with Freo for pick swap and next year 1st. On current ladder Roos and hawks would have the next pick. This would allow crows to get Thilthorpe and add another pick for next year.

Due to the compromised draft, crows should be able to get a good mid with giants pick if they finish out of the 8.

Everyone is tradeable for the right price. This is the right time to accumulate talent on the list even it’s sitting near bottom next year. 2022 should be the crows target to show significant improvement and start pushing for the 8.

Helps when your in a dominant team.
Dominant? They have won their games by 10, 21 and 6 points and this is also a side that hasn’t played in a final for years.

I would bid on JUH at 1, take Hollands at 2, bid on Campbell hoping Sydney match. Trade pick with Freo for pick swap and next year 1st. On current ladder Roos and hawks would have the next pick. This would allow crows to get Thilthorpe and add another pick for next year.

Due to the compromised draft, crows should be able to get a good mid with giants pick if they finish out of the 8.

Everyone is tradeable for the right price. This is the right time to accumulate talent on the list even it’s sitting near bottom next year. 2022 should be the crows target to show significant improvement and start pushing for the 8.
There's no chance we will be pushing for the top 8 in 2022. We need to be accumulatung key position spine that will be carrying us forward for the next 10 to 12 years. Then it will take 2 to 3 drafts to top up our mids, ruck, hopefully trade some flankers and trade in a gun small. Will take 5 years minimum before we are pushing for the 8. It's time we are realistic and honest where we're at. We are currently 2 years behind the worst teams in the league. There is no quick fix. The club has been run into the ground and the people that created this mess haven't even left yet.

I tried to put it in simpleton terms for you.
If you can't see how Thilthorpe is different to McDonald, I can't hp you I'm afraid.
If EH keeps developing, I'd favour McDonald simply because I don't think Fog is a certainty to develop. EH as KPF/second ruck and McDonald as pure forward sounds like a good forward spine to me and better balanced.

Yeah I’m warming to that. I was hot on Thilthorpe a month ago, but EH throwing us a bone puts a bit of a spanner in that.