List Mgmt. 2020 List Management, Free Agency & Trade thread

This is Part 1

The thread is continued in part 2:

How would everyone feel about Jaidyn Stephenson? Before anyone goes berserk I am not suggesting we should do it, just purely asking the question. We are targeting speed, he is struggling at Collingwood, obviously has a connnection with J-Lo. Two years ago he had some of the highest potential in the comp. Again, just asking the question, I realise how putrid he has been tonight and most of the season.

How would everyone feel about Jaidyn Stephenson? Before anyone goes berserk I am not suggesting we should do it, just purely asking the question. We are targeting outside run, he is struggling at Collingwood, obviously has a connnection with J-Lo. Two years ago he had some of the highest potential in the comp. Again, just asking the question, I realise how putrid he has been tonight and most of the season.
I would take him although not sure he helps with outside run since he has played exclusively forward so far.

How would everyone feel about Jaidyn Stephenson? Before anyone goes berserk I am not suggesting we should do it, just purely asking the question. We are targeting outside run, he is struggling at Collingwood, obviously has a connnection with J-Lo. Two years ago he had some of the highest potential in the comp. Again, just asking the question, I realise how putrid he has been tonight and most of the season.
No thanks

I cringed when people spoke about his high potential. His ceiling wasn't as high as others even when he was playing well. Very good start to his career early, but potential wasn't as high as Cerra or Coffield.

You wouldn't give up much without seeing him play another season, for confirmation to where his career is.

I’ve said it before, if we are going to target an outside runner from the Pies, I’d look closely at Tom Phillips. Massive engine, gets plenty of it & is a natural wingman who has been pushed out of the midfield so they can play Daicos there.
Played forward this year & from what I’ve read did well, but didn’t enjoy it. I reckon he would be best 22 here, some don’t.

I cringed when people spoke about his high potential. His ceiling wasn't as high as others even when he was plaging well. Very good start to his career early, but potential wasn't as high as Cerra or Coffield.

You wouldn't give up much without seeing him play another season, for confirmation to where his career is.
He allegedly has something off-field and/or is playing unfit due to illness in preseason.

He can play, kicked 2 (or 3?) in the first quarter of a grand final.

How much is he gonna cost he turned down 4 years at 750k for crying out loud.
Actually Ben Browns manager turned down a 3 year deal at $750,000 a year.

Funny how footy works. In that 2012-15 period, we went after every tall forward known to man from Travis Cloke and buddy Franklin to Jack Watts and John Butcher.

Yet in our 2016-2020 rebuild, we get guys like Lobb and Hogan. Matt Taberner is and was slowly developing and is in his prime years.

It's a weird situation isn't it?

Still..... Amazing Freo has kpf and kpd depth

He allegedly has something off-field and/or is playing unfit due to illness in preseason.

He can play, kicked 2 (or 3?) in the first quarter of a grand final.

Also has a known heart condition that needs to be managed. Never thought he was worth the risk after Pitt, still don’t think he’s worth it

So they thought Darcy might need someone to also play ruck who isn't Taberner
Do we need to play a 2nd ruck? Yep, absolutely. Darcy needs that support.

So how did Match Committee decide to fit a second ruck in the team? By not finding a spot for Hogan. Out of all the options they had for playing a 2nd ruck, they decided the best option was to not pick Hogan and have Lobb wander around the forward line instead.

That is a reasonable gauge for saying our current MC don't rank him as high as many would like them to.

Do we need to play a 2nd ruck? Yep, absolutely. Darcy needs that support.

So how did Match Committee decide to fit a second ruck in the team? By not finding a spot for Hogan. Out of all the options they had for playing a 2nd ruck, they decided the best option was to not pick Hogan and have Lobb wander around the forward line instead.

That is a reasonable gauge for saying our current MC don't rank him as high as many would like them to.
When the season started proper, he wasn’t playing due to mental illness & a bad foot. Lobb & Tabs were the obvious 2 up forward, which Lobb has said he preferred, so their hands were tied, plus Sturt was also an option then.

It then became about Hogan building fitness & trust of the coaching team & match committee. Hogan then had to earn his selection, which I don’t think many can complain about, much like Dixon who wasn’t gifted games.

How would everyone feel about Jaidyn Stephenson? Before anyone goes berserk I am not suggesting we should do it, just purely asking the question. We are targeting speed, he is struggling at Collingwood, obviously has a connnection with J-Lo. Two years ago he had some of the highest potential in the comp. Again, just asking the question, I realise how putrid he has been tonight and most of the season.
I know you said not to, but....

....I'm going berserk.

How much is he gonna cost he turned down 4 years at 750k for crying out loud.
That a was precovid and before north were rebuilding. I would say $400k for four years would do it. Pick 28 and North contributing another $100k per year to get his salary off their books.

JUST to reiterate 60+ goals for three years prior to 2020. Pav was our last forward to that.

When the season started proper, he wasn’t playing due to mental illness & a bad foot. Lobb & Tabs were the obvious 2 up forward, which Lobb has said he preferred, so their hands were tied, plus Sturt was also an option then.

It then became about Hogan building fitness & trust of the coaching team & match committee. Hogan then had to earn his selection, which I don’t think many can complain about, much like Dixon who wasn’t gifted games.
Sure. I don't have a problem with him earning his spot. I think it was the right thing for the club to do. But the mere fact he had to earn his spot back shows he isn't ranked as the #1 KPF at the club (which he was when he was recruited) and he isn't a lock for B22. That seems to be something that a lot of people just want to gloss over. Fyfe, Walters, Ryan, Mundy, Tabs, Lobb, Brayshaw, Cerra, etc don't have to spend time earning their spot. Hogan does. He isn't considered to be some messiah by the Match Committee.

The evidence of team selection is that he is down the depth chart. There are other key forward options which the MC has preferred over the season.

Hogan may come good of course and end up winning the Norm Smith in our first flag. Or he may only have 22 games left in his career.

How many people thought Bennell, McCarthy, or Matera were going to turn it around?

No.

Darcy was in the best 22 under 22.

Lobb can play forward and ruck, not easy to do.
Yeah I have given Lobb heaps of **** lately but the fact is blokes that don't embarrass themselves playing ruck/forward are rare. He isn't worth what he is getting paid but he is still better than most at it and surely has to improve on 2020 next year.

Darcy is 2.5 years younger than Rowan Marshall, noted next biggest think in rucking and was giving him a bath until Long's cheap shot. I know he doesn't look it a lot of the time but I reckon he is genuine quality.

Yeah I have given Lobb heaps of **** lately but the fact is blokes that don't embarrass themselves playing ruck/forward are rare. He isn't worth what he is getting paid but he is still better than most at it and surely has to improve on 2020 next year.

Darcy is 2.5 years younger than Rowan Marshall, noted next biggest think in rucking and was giving him a bath until Long's cheap shot. I know he doesn't look it a lot of the time but I reckon he is genuine quality.
Would be insane to trade Darcy out. After spending 4 years preparing him to be an elite AFL ruck for the next decade. Seriously how is this even an idea?!

I was struck by the quality of the players sitting in the stands for Geelong as they walked off after the game. Not many clubs would have these guys outside their best 22:
Jordan Clark
Ratugolea (though he’s admittedly more potential than proven)
Quinton Narkle
Jack Steven

Then there is a couple of first round picks from last year in Cooper Stephens and de Koning, that we haven’t seen yet. Plus their 3 first round picks this season. Cockatoo is looking dodgy but role players like Tommy Atkins and Brad Close would get regular games at a lot of clubs.
We have a bit to go yet before our list is ready to challenge, but on the right track.

I’ve been a supporter of Darcy and scared he wouldn’t come on but there was a lot to be excited about this year. The thing about Darcy is he doesn’t actually get beaten much, he draws in a lot of games and wins the odd couple. English on the other hand plays the odd blinder as basically a roaming CHF and gets absolutely pantsed just as much.

Add in that Darcy seems to be a very handy mark around the ground already where he clunks his fair share and you’ve got everything you need in a ruckman for another 10 years. Wins or draws ruck battles, clunks some get out marks around the ground.

I’ve been a supporter of Darcy and scared he wouldn’t come on but there was a lot to be excited about this year. The thing about Darcy is he doesn’t actually get beaten much, he draws in a lot of games and wins the odd couple. English on the other hand plays the odd blinder as basically a roaming CHF and gets absolutely pantsed just as much.

Add in that Darcy seems to be a very handy mark around the ground already where he clunks his fair share and you’ve got everything you need in a ruckman for another 10 years. Wins or draws ruck battles, clunks some get out marks around the ground.
Exactly right. I remember during the year - Xavier Ellis said we should make Tim English the highest paid player in the game for the next decade by bringing him home to WA in a massive trade deal. What a horrible idea.
I also noticed Darcy getting a taste for hitting the scoreboard late in the season. Another nice sign of good development. The Big Hodor will be an annual AA squad regular within 3 years, mark my words.

The last part of this season was immense for Sean. We had wins v Collingwood & Melbourne who at the time we’re the 2 best ruckman going & he certainly competed strongly in those games to help with the result.

There were no more niggles that took him off the ground for large periods or even miss games & he looked more assured around the ball & with the ball. As you say he started to mark around the ground & he is physical, something that English is definitely not.

Darcy will not allow opposition ruckman to push him under the ball for a disposal or a snap on goal, English was embarrassing with that last week.

Another pre season of fitness & work with Sandi, he’s going to improve again.

Even Kicks the odd snap over his shoulder the big fella
He's a lock 👍