List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread II

Of course

Imagine if Pickering had've come out and been lukewarm on radio about his client getting sacked from North. All of a sudden Jade is looking for new representation. Pickering is not an unintelligent bloke and knows which way the wind is blowing - of course he's going to get on the front foot and tell you his bloke is hard done by and disgusted and all this

Let's have a look at Jades coaching CV.

Richmond 2007-2009: Richmond finished 16th, 9th, 15th
Brisbane 2010-2011: Brisbane finished 13th, 15th
Melbourne 2012-2019 : Melbourne finished 16th, 17th, 17th, 13th, 11th, 9th, 5th, 17th
North 2020: North finished 17th

In 14 seasons where he has been involved coaching at a club, they have made the finals once.

My take on this is why was he appointed in the first place?

I detect ZERO quality defensive development in the period after he left these clubs, so there's no great residual effect either, and regardless of Jade spending all those years at Melbourne, they still had to fork over big to bring in Lever & May before they could fix their defensive issues.

Let's have a look at Jades coaching CV.

Richmond 2007-2009: Richmond finished 16th, 9th, 15th
Brisbane 2010-2011: Brisbane finished 13th, 15th
Melbourne 2012-2019 : Melbourne finished 16th, 17th, 17th, 13th, 11th, 9th, 5th, 17th
North 2020: North finished 17th

In 14 seasons where he has been involved coaching at a club, they have made the finals once.

My take on this is why was he appointed in the first place?

It was a question raised by a number of people (I can't claim to be one of them) at the time. He seems to be a nice guy, respected, but ultimately with a very poor CV. How many blokes are currently employed in the industry with a record like that over such a long period?

You're right, the question shouldn't be "why was he given the flick?" , it should be "why on earth was he appointed, and to a 3 year contract, in the first place?"

It was a question raised by a number of people (I can't claim to be one of them) at the time.

You're right, the question shouldn't be "why was he given the flick?" , it should be "why on earth was he appointed, and to a 3 year contract, in the first place?"

Let's just entertain the idea that this question grew louder throughout 2020 with the people who matter the most.;)

Admin ****ed up.

Pretty scathing.

"It was pretty disgusting"
"Running around like cowboys"
"Understand there are things they are working through. "
"Jade will get some sort of payout."
Disgusting bit was about North.
Thought the cowboys part was more of a dig at the AFL for getting rid of the full term pay outs for assistant coaches.

It was a question raised by a number of people (I can't claim to be one of them) at the time. He seems to be a nice guy, respected, but ultimately with a very poor CV. How many blokes are currently employed in the industry with a record like that over such a long period?

Yep. If you're sacking a guy 1 year into a 3 year contract that is on the club, not Jade.

Key forwards are generally worth a bit more than wingman.

Not to mention we ended up sending 11 to port anyway. The pick swaps attached are moot when your talking picks around the top 10

The point being you offer a contract that gets the player to nominate you and you trade the minimum you need to get the deal across the line - they're not necessarily linked and nor should they be. Ben is uncontracted and clearly on the outer, I wouldn't be offering a first rounder either no matter how big my contract offer was.

No. But is the late 1st rounder or 2nd rounder going to be if we take a pick?

Constable has shown he can play footy, and would play next year in our best 22. I prefer him towing the caravan over LDU and Jy

I reckon the late 1st rounder or 2nd rounder has better potential.

No. But is the late 1st rounder or 2nd rounder going to be if we take a pick? He is a safer bet than that.

Constable has shown he can play footy, and would play next year in our best 22. I prefer him towing the caravan over LDU and Jy

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Now that's a sentence that could be read two ways.

How old is Jed? 25. Surely if he plays it right he gets a solid 3-year deal now and rolls into a very good 2 to 3-year deal coming out of that.

26 turning 27 in Feb 2021.

It's his prime time now, and I agree that 3 years is a fair contract. Hell, I'd give him 4 years if money became a sticking point, he'd still be playing a full season at 30 then.

I reckon the late 1st rounder or 2nd rounder has better potential.

Constable could be behind Selwood, Dangerfield, and Guthrie for an inside mid role at the Cats for now but still be best 22 for us and have heaps of upside. That call is why we pay Brady the big bucks. Well big bucks by North standards.

26 turning 27 in Feb 2021.

It's his prime time now, and I agree that 3 years is a fair contract. Hell, I'd give him 4 years if money became a sticking point, he'd still be playing a full season at 30 then.

Fair call then. If he is still flying at 30 he has a chance for another 2-year deal but he is a player that has a lot of collision impact so I think clubs will be wary of that taking a toll.