List Mgmt. 2021 NAB National AFL Draft

I see Dibs Dib here all the time is he an academy player for us? What position does he play?
Yes academy.
This year has played all range of positions. Started at half back in nab league early on, played as a small forward in our vfl team. Then once nab league resumed, he mixed his time between half back and midfield. In the vic metro trial game they played him at centre bounces. Did very well as a mid, but at afl level would be too small for that role.

Yes academy.
This year has played all range of positions. Started at half back in nab league early on, played as a small forward in our vfl team. Then once nab league resumed, he mixed his time between half back and midfield. In the vic metro trial game they played him at centre bounces. Did very well as a mid, but at afl level would be too small for that role.

I reckon he might be a great midfield rotation.

Reminds me a bit of Dion Prestia when he plays in there, particularly with his clearance work and burst of pace.

Yes academy.

Thanks Jen,

Late pick?

Interesting to see that Horne-Francis isn’t playing in the upcoming state rep games.

Especially since he’s the captain.
he isn't? Odd, given that no more sanfl finals for him. Does he think he is too good to play with those his own age now? lol

Already proven he's clearly the #1 kid of his age group, North probably told him to rest up for the preseason.
Or maybe he made up his own mind.

So yes, he’s ready to go No.1 …

The only minor problem is he has no idea because he hasn’t actually spoken to North Melbourne.

“No, I haven’t actually spoken to North yet, which I think most people think is a little weird. But I think we will get there soon,” he told the Herald Sun.”

Or maybe he made up his own mind.

So yes, he’s ready to go No.1 …

The only minor problem is he has no idea because he hasn’t actually spoken to North Melbourne.

“No, I haven’t actually spoken to North yet, which I think most people think is a little weird. But I think we will get there soon,” he told the Herald Sun.”

Truly bizarre. Maybe North are going to trade it away 😂

So many things a cynical person could say Jen…

I see what you’re getting at!

In regards to a Daicos bid at pick 3

However we’re 7 weeks from draft night and although SOS and Rendell only need to be hearing it from 2 clubs (one that SOS has a connection with) that news is to good for us to get excited about yet. I will say though that our trade period moves should provide a fair indication of when we think a bid will come.

I see what you’re getting at!

In regards to a Daicos bid at pick 3

However we’re 7 weeks from draft night and although SOS and Rendell only need to be hearing it from 2 clubs (one that SOS has a connection with) that news is to good for us to get excited about yet. I will say though that our trade period moves should provide a fair indication of when we think a bid will come.

Imo it’s pretty obvious they’ll have trades lined up regardless. Just in case.

The interesting part for me is if the bid doesn’t come early (1 or 2), whether we want to trade back in regardless.

Knightmare

Just rewatched the VM v VC game from earlier in the year.I’d love to know your thoughts on on these two guys:

•Paul Curtis (Western Jets/Vic Metro, 183cm, 73kg)

•Ben De Bolfo (Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 188.9cm, 86kg)

They both really impressed me.

Curtis with his creativeness and elusiveness up forward. Ben De Bolfo with his intercept game and precise kicking.

They both got invited to the national draft combine, so they must be relatively highly rated by the clubs. Even though no one is talking about them on Big Footy.

Imo it’s pretty obvious they’ll have trades lined up regardless. Just in case.

The interesting part for me is if the bid doesn’t come early (1 or 2), whether we want to trade back in regardless.

Knightmare

Just rewatched the VM v VC game from earlier in the year.I’d love to know your thoughts on on these two guys:

•Paul Curtis (Western Jets/Vic Metro, 183cm, 73kg)

•Ben De Bolfo (Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 188.9cm, 86kg)

They both really impressed me.

Curtis with his creativeness and elusiveness up forward. Ben De Bolfo with his intercept game and precise kicking.

They both got invited to the national draft combine, so they must be relatively highly rated by the clubs. Even though no one is talking about them on Big Footy.

My feel based on what’s now coming out is that we’ll carry our current deficit into the draft. Then as you pointed out we’ll have trades lined up depending on different scenarios. If a bid comes at 1 we move say a future 3rd for GC’s, if a bid comes at 2 we move a future 4th for Brisbane’s etc.

I did like Curtis that day. He had some tricks! I’m curious about Rentsch and whether he played because I don’t remember him being out there? Good size and he’s just taken out the NAB league B&F like Callow I think there’ll be a knock on his ability to improve at the top level.

Also Pie 4 Life what’s the knock on Trudgeon? Pace? Size? Skill? Those tackle numbers are insane at that level and I dare say the best ever recorded?

Quick draft related question that may have already been answered previously. Say we don't get the required picks for Daicos this year, and thus go into deficit for 2022, that means our first round pick is compromised. What would happen if we traded it? Would subsequent picks be effected instead?

This may be of interest re rookies.

CLUBS are set to retain the same list sizes for 2022 while rookies in their third season will be allowed to spend a fourth 'replacement year' on the list after the AFL passed a rule change ahead of the off-season.

Under AFL rules players had not been allowed to spend more than three straight years on the rookie list. However, clubs had been lobbying the League to give extra time to rookies who had been disrupted in their development by the past two AFL seasons by COVID-19.

It saw the AFL confirm to clubs on Wednesday that any player in their third season as a Category A or B rookie will be eligible to spend another season as a rookie in 2022 as a 'replacement' year.

The players will not be required to be delisted and go through the draft process to be re-selected, with the move giving extra time to players brought from international regions or other sports who have had less time to develop at lower levels due to the impact of the pandemic.

Also this thread has videos of U19 Championships Australia wide that may be of interest.

This thread for Phantom Drafts discussions

he isn't? Odd, given that no more sanfl finals for him. Does he think he is too good to play with those his own age now? lol

Want to have his last game as a Ripper before the Draft

My feel based on what’s now coming out is that we’ll carry our current deficit into the draft. Then as you pointed out we’ll have trades lined up depending on different scenarios. If a bid comes at 1 we move say a future 3rd for GC’s, if a bid comes at 2 we move a future 4th for Brisbane’s etc.
I find it quaint to refer to our deficit before a bid has even been received. We can’t carry in a debt we don’t have!

I’m curious about Rentsch and whether he played because I don’t remember him being out there? Good size and he’s just taken out the NAB league B&F like Callow I think there’ll be a knock on his ability to improve at the top level.

Yeah, Rentsch played.

In my opinion he probably has even less scope than Callow though. But like Callow, he is probably worth the risk if it is very late ND or as a rookie. Particularly given our current lack of key position options and our likely lack of access to the top options.

Personally I quite like Patrick Voss as a key back option. Plays with a real physicality even though he’s small for a key back. Not too dissimilar to a player like Steven May.

But he is a Gws academy/zone player so they could match any bid.

1bae9ba826256806b6bfd8c825491857.jpg

List Mgmt. 2021 NAB National AFL Draft