List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

If Humphrey, Philippou or Tsatas are available at our pick I'd be more than happy to pick them up as that player u speak about but if they are gone I'm more than content with Hollands. He's hard working, reliable and fills a list need. LoB and Cottrell just haven't shown enough to say they are quality pieces yet...both still have significant flaws compared to Hollands and have far less upside as well as flexibility.

I actually think Philip is an interesting watch next year. I remember in the pre season this year he was absolutely dynamite. Playing more a wing/half forward role but he was tackling and kicking goals, looked the most damaging option of the bunch. Keen to see if he can find a spot next year if he has an injury free run.
l believe Tsatas has question marks on his ball use, not convinced on him at all.

If Philipou is gone, l rate Hewitt above Hollands & Tsatas.

Hi carlton supporters,

Pardon the intrusion.
I have you guys in the hawk's board mock draft.

May I ask how many picks you will take and a few of the most pressing list needs?

Thanks heaps,
Chop
Hey mate, we have 4 list spots open but only 3 picks inside the top 50. I reckon if we split pick 10 into two picks in the late teens we'll take 4 picks in the draft, but if we keep our current setup we'd take 3 in the draft plus an DFA/SSP recruit.

I think a lot of us on this board see us having similar list needs, but just not to the same extent or required at urgency. Personally I think the most pressing list needs are an outside mid, KPF, KPD and medium forward (in that order). :)

I really have a problem with posters embracing reaching for Busslinger or Hayes with our first and at the same time dismissing Jefferson.

We have considerably more defensive tall coverage than key forward coverage. I don’t particularly want to use our first on a key position player. We need more real run in the team and are likely to part company with a number of midfield depth players at the end of 2023, so mid for me. However, if we were to have the choice of Busslinger, Hayes or Jefferson, it would definitely be the forward. He performed admirably this year and has an excellent frame to build on, along with enough quality athletic traits. Will be “a player”.

We need key position depth at both ends, but not at the top end of the draft. Our pillars have 5-7 years of good footy left in them.
I've had a small look at the Youtube highlights of Keeler, Barnett, Foster and Lemmy (all similar types). Who do yourself, Arr0w and any other of our keen junior observers believe we should take if the opportunity presented?
Keeler looked big and cumbersome, only showed a very short example of Foster deep in the goalsquare, Lemmy looked great at ground level and Barnett crashed packs for big marks and rucked well.

Easy - Phillipou if available, otherwise trade pick 10 to GWS or Sydney - Simples :D
If Phillipou does make it to our pick, I'd still like to improve our draft hand in some way. I'd love a chance draft Allan somehow, and then Van Es with a later pick. I might even prefer two of Allan, Hewitt and Barnett (for example) over Philipou, if we traded down. I fear what might be left over by our second selection as it stands, particularly if we just followed some rigid notion of who would be 'best available'.

I've had a small look at the Youtube highlights of Keeler, Barnett, Foster and Lemmy (all similar types). Who do yourself, Arr0w and any other of our keen junior observers believe we should take if the opportunity presented?
Keeler looked big and cumbersome, only showed a very short example of Foster deep in the goalsquare, Lemmy looked great at ground level and Barnett crashed packs for big marks and rucked well.
I don't know about Lemmey, I just think he might fail the 'footy IQ/personality' test.

Hollands + Hotton (from GWS' picks), Van Es (traded to pick 35), Scully
Those players are good get, but I feel the trade is poor for CFC 11&30 for GWS 19&20, is too low - we are taking too much risks, both Hollands & Hotton could have gone by #19

Yeah, the points may be similar, but it’s a no from me. I would take 16&20 though

Yeah was situation based that trade. Usually if I was the list manager I would have tried to put a premium on 11. But with my earlier than planned play Phillpou been off the board, and looking at the gap from 11 to gws I wagered the 10 picks earlier 2nd would have a greater impact over taken 8 picks later 11.

So i wagered Holland's Hewett would fall in that scenario based on the open list needs of 13 to 16, worked out on the end. Was reluctant to trade a future first based on my board for 23 has KP players 15 to 25 so figured that maybe of use once we ascertain the durability of our own back up there. Was a good fun exercise. But tried to be realistic if it was me I would take Humphrey but I don't feel Carlton are into him personally. But when I did that trade I had Hewett/Holland's/Cowan and Hotton/George/Clarke pencilled in to finish it off. So feel them 2 combos still would be better than 11 and 29

Hope that explains my pomlogic

Keeler is the classic boom or bust type. His ceiling is peak Paddy Ryder, his basement is a weekend champion up the bush who doesn’t work during the week.

Barnett is ruck first, but certainly has the capability of playing key position at either end. Has the profile to be a star, but we really are not in the market for a ruck and would largely be wasted as a KPP.

Lemmey, I won’t write off, but doesn’t seem combative enough. If forced to judge, I would consider a Schache type, who could eventually play a role at the level, but unlikely to be a gun.

Foster is absolutely on my radar. Hasn’t had the press of others, but his performances in the carnival were admirable. Played more as a KPF at SANFL colts level. Got his chance in the first championships game when Barnett had Covid. Rather than push Keeler to a prime ruck role, Foster was asked to play number one ruck, a foreign role. He played admirably. Under sized, his leap allowed him to get the better of the ruck contest. Competitive, not dominant around the ground, he took a good share of grabs, and was not outdone. The fact that he is also prepared to get down and dirty at ground level with some very tenacious efforts was the sealer for me. In racing terms, he is a big, leggy early three year old, just growing in to his frame. May grow taller than the 197cm he is at the moment.

I am not saying Foster will be a superstar. I do suggest he can be a very valuable list piece. I am assessing that our list does not need another gun key forward at the top level. We need a bankable, combative young player to provide a target in the twos and develop in to an AFL quality back up. I see that with Foster. He does not have the hype of Lemmey or Scully out if the SA system, but consistently kicked multiple goals as a key forward target. The bonus that I see is his ability to ruck to a decent standard. Pitto is still our no.1 ruck, but we are all hoping TDK goes to that next level to usurp him in coming seasons. Having a player I see Foster becoming to assume a second ruck, third tall forward role would be a dream for mine. Let us say the Levi replacement many want to appear out of thin air. The best way to get that player is to develop him.

I mentioned Foster’s willingness to compete at ground level. He presents around the ground, and there is plenty to suggest he could become a defensive option as well. He perhaps doesn’t have the athleticism to be a star, but a genuine swingman who can ruck is a very valuable commodity.

Hollands + Hotton (from GWS' picks), Van Es (traded to pick 35), Scully
Cheers.

That’s a solid return. Would be interested to see the full draft printed out if anyone can be bothered or show me where.

I was going to bag Van Es, but had another look at his highlights first. There’s a lot to work with there.
Scully is a solid ruck/fwd project at that selection.

Hollands and Hotton are two ‘H’s but I’m still meh on both. Anyone print out the Top 20…….please.

Uneducated opinion of a couch surfer with his ipad. Keeler (Huge bust potential), Barnett (Best player of group. Would take from 15 and beyond), Foster (Pick 35-50), Lemmey (Could be anything - massive boom IMO. Arrow says there’s more to him though). In order - Barnett, Lemmey, Foster, Keeler. My 2 bob.

Cheers.

That’s a solid return. Would be interested to see the full draft printed out if anyone can be bothered or show me where.

I was going to bag Van Es, but had another look at his highlights first. There’s a lot to work with there.
Scully is a solid ruck/fwd project at that selection.

Hollands and Hotton are two ‘H’s but I’m still meh on both. Anyone print out the Top 20…….please.

1. Cadman
2. Ashcroft
3. Wardlaw
4. Sheezel
5. Phillipou
6. Tsatas
7. Mackenzie
8. Clark
9. Ginbey
10. Busslinger
11. Humphrey
12. Hewett
13. Hustwaite
14. Jefferson
15. Hayes
16. A Davey Jr
17. Fletcher
18. Konstanty
19. Keeler
20. Allan
21. Hollands
22. Hotton
23. Weddle
24. Cowan
25. Burgiel
26. Clarke
27. George
28. Barnett
29. Gruzewski
30. Szybkowski
31. Rowston
32. Michalanney
33. Gilbey
34. Harvey
35. Van Es
36. J Ryan
37. McCallum
38. Binns
39. Munkara
40. Jones
41. Long
42. Phillips
43. Gallagher
44. Hagan
45. D'Aloia
46. Scully
47. Magor
48. Lemmey
49. Gillbee
50. Drury
51. Vickery
52. Bond
53. Dowling
54. Teal
55. Sadler
56. Barkla
57. Little
58. Clohesy
59. Green
60. Broadbent
61. J Davey
62. Campbell-Farrell
63. Voss
64. PASS
65. PASS
66. PASS
67. Adams

Got a bit cold on Busslinger myself,for some reason I could see is taking Hotton at 10 (although I prefer Hollands, Phillpou or Humphrey if still available)

I have no inside mail or intel, just a gut feeling/hunch.

1. Cadman
2. Ashcroft
3. Wardlaw
4. Sheezel
5. Phillipou
6. Tsatas
7. Mackenzie
8. Clark
9. Ginbey
10. Busslinger
11. Humphrey
12. Hewett
13. Hustwaite
14. Jefferson
15. Hayes
16. A Davey Jr
17. Fletcher
18. Konstanty
19. Keeler
20. Allan
21. Hollands
22. Hotton
23. Weddle
24. Cowan
25. Burgiel
26. Clarke
27. George
28. Barnett
29. Gruzewski
30. Szybkowski
31. Rowston
32. Michalanney
33. Gilbey
34. Harvey
35. Van Es
36. J Ryan
37. McCallum
38. Binns
39. Munkara
40. Jones
41. Long
42. Phillips
43. Gallagher
44. Hagan
45. D'Aloia
46. Scully
47. Magor
48. Lemmey
49. Gillbee
50. Drury
51. Vickery
52. Bond
53. Dowling
54. Teal
55. Sadler
56. Barkla
57. Little
58. Clohesy
59. Green
60. Broadbent
61. J Davey
62. Campbell-Farrell
63. Voss
64. PASS
65. PASS
66. PASS
67. Adams

Thanks mate. 👍🏻

Got a bit cold on Busslinger myself,for some reason I could see is taking Hotton at 10 (although I prefer Hollands, Phillpou or Humphrey if still available)

I have no inside mail or intel, just a gut feeling/hunch.
Hotton would be a reach at 10, can only see us taking him if we spilt our pick for two later 1st rounders, we already have Motlop & Durdin as small forwards with significant upside.

Busslinger will be very good wherever he ends up most likely West Coast, but would not surprise if he goes earlier.

Yeah was situation based that trade. Usually if I was the list manager I would have tried to put a premium on 11. But with my earlier than planned play Phillpou been off the board, and looking at the gap from 11 to gws I wagered the 10 picks earlier 2nd would have a greater impact over taken 8 picks later 11.

So i wagered Holland's Hewett would fall in that scenario based on the open list needs of 13 to 16, worked out on the end. Was reluctant to trade a future first based on my board for 23 has KP players 15 to 25 so figured that maybe of use once we ascertain the durability of our own back up there. Was a good fun exercise. But tried to be realistic if it was me I would take Humphrey but I don't feel Carlton are into him personally. But when I did that trade I had Hewett/Holland's/Cowan and Hotton/George/Clarke pencilled in to finish it off. So feel them 2 combos still would be better than 11 and 29

Hope that explains my pomlogic
Thank you uncle pommy

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft