List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

You missed Scully...
In the right environment he could be a star, could be the steal of the draft and good value at pick 30 or 49...
Was responding to a question mate, but Scully certainly has the right to be in that conversation. I have not seen as much of Scully as the others. It was interesting that despite his early season dominance, he was viewed below Barnett, Keeler, Lemmey and Foster by SA selectors. I would group him with Lemmey with questions over contested mind set. He had limited rep opportunities and did very little when the gave him a game in front of Foster. Unlike others on here, I don’t put much stock in highlights videos. I form my opinions from watching full games at a good level. Even the NAB league stats and highlights can be misleading, with so many potential top tier players absent with private school commitments. For example, the Tasmanian team was prominent through the season and finals series yet only a few players from my original home state are getting press as possibly draftworthy. It is incongruous.

If we are including Scully on the list, why not Will Verrall another SA boy? The state’s carnival does not suggest an extraordinary showing by any of them, despite some good highlights by a number. Drafting is not a precise science and the ability to recognise potential over direct performance is paramount. Overager Jerome Lawrence could be in the key forward discussion, similarly Toby Murray, Olivier Northam, Jovian Petric, Skaife from WA and I am sure some other less obvious types.

Not too many standouts though, Cadman and Jefferson as key forwards seem in a class of their own. Keeler may come in to his own, shows elite potential despite a number of reported “go slows”. As above I rate Foster as a solid and versatile option who would suit our list which hopefully has Harry and Charlie healthy throughout their extended contracts. If we were in need of a frontline key forward, I would be spruiking Jefferson ad nauseum as we are unlikely to see this draft range again for a long time.

If we are able to snare, O.Hollands, B.Humphrey or R.Ginbey with p10,
I hope for H. Hustwaite, M.Michalanney or M.Gruzeewski, at p.29.

Tom Scully, 202/89kg or Will Verrall, 199/92kg, would be an astute selection at p.46, both have shown ability and potential.

If we are able to snare, O.Hollands, B.Humphrey or R.Ginbey with p10,
I hope for H. Hustwaite, M.Michalanney or M.Gruzeewski, at p.29.

Tom Scully, 202/89kg or Will Verrall, 199/92kg, would be an astute selection at p.46, both have shown ability and potential.
Not Will Verral please, imagine the nicknames and banter.

8cf36e4fd796593caf43f5c2cfd71230.gif

Some say Hollands is a reach at 11, some say Hotton is a reach, some say Hayes is a reach, some say Allen is a reach, some say George is a reach etc etc

None of them are reaches. Half a dozen perceived places in the group think is not a reach nor a slide.

I remember Cripps being a reach. I remember Zac Butters being a reach. I remember Andrew Brayshaw being a reach.

Whoever we pick, unless it's Josh Bootsma or someone called Finbar, it will just be a judgement call on a player within a range that will be proven right or wrong.

In the meantime, it's good entertainment for us all reading each others informed opinions.

And to participate in the merriment, i think Hewett is a reach at 11 personally.
You are reaching regarding reaching, if you ask me.

I have as much faith as Hewett making it than Hollands - probably moreso. One of the most naturally gifted players in this years pool.

Humphrey has the highest ceiling of all three, but I don’t think his floor is that low. For positional need he’d be my preferred option if available.

Phillipou I like but it’s hard to know exactly how his game translates to AFL. Could be another Setterfield or Kyle Langford. Great prospect overall though.

The wing is an area we need to build depth in, but that doesn’t necessarily mean we target a specialist wing if there are better overall players available - many of which also suit our needs.

It’s interesting to note how many of the consensus best wingers were taken with later picks. Amon, Seedsman, Langdon etc. We also have the option of bringing in a specialist wing with one of our later selections, and this is where Austin is really going to earn his stripes.

We have LOB on our list who was taken at roughly the same spot in the draft as our current pick. Sometimes choosing players for specific roles doesn’t always work out the way you think it will. He also came to the club with a god tier fitness albeit without Holland’s IQ. (But a much better kick)

I don’t think this is the draft you overthink player roles and assume their junior form will translate. Naturally there is some trade off between positional requirements and talent, but I’d be leaning towards getting the most talented in. To me that’s Humphrey, Hewett or Phillipou.
Hi mate - good response. 👍
I think a bit of the difference of opinion around Hollands is that you see him as a wingman? (Obviously, please correct me if I'm wrong)
I see him playing similar to Walsh or Merrett and projecting a bit like the latter.
Humphrey/Phillipou I see as tweeners and pretty risky - I'd be pretty happy with Hewett, his work over the footy would complement our existing group reasonably well.

Especially with #19, valuable asset for trading leading into the 1st pick of the 2nd night.
BTW with the bid on Ashcroft, will the current #18 be the 1st pick on the 2nd night?

Speculation..

Chris Cavanagh: “There's speculation GWS could trade pick 19, given it already holds picks 1, 15 & 18. It's understood that Carlton which currently holds 10 & 29 is on the hunt for another top-20 selection if it can find a seller which could be the Giants.”

Interesting - can you archive the entire article and share?

Hi mate - good response.
I think a bit of the difference of opinion around Hollands is that you see him as a wingman? (Obviously, please correct me if I'm wrong)
I see him playing similar to Walsh or Merrett and projecting a bit like the latter.
Humphrey/Phillipou I see as tweeners and pretty risky - I'd be pretty happy with Hewett, his work over the footy would complement our existing group reasonably well.

I would agree re hollands. Yes he could play wing but he doesn’t need to play as outside as someone like Amon. He could almost be a first receiver at times around stoppages.

My take on Hollands is that he is clean and and has good composure in close. But he is not a player who can stand up in a tackle with strength and get his arms free to offload. That is more a jyhe Clark. hollands shouldn’t be on the inside of a clearance. He only needs a little bit of space around the fringes.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Speculation..

Chris Cavanagh: “There's speculation GWS could trade pick 19, given it already holds picks 1, 15 & 18. It's understood that Carlton which currently holds 10 & 29 is on the hunt for another top-20 selection if it can find a seller which could be the Giants.”
We trade 10 for 18 and 19.

I would agree re hollands. Yes he could play wing but he doesn’t need to play as outside as someone like Amon. He could almost be a first receiver at times around stoppages.

My take on Hollands is that he is clean and and has good composure in close. But he is not a player who can stand up in a tackle with strength and get his arms free to offload. That is more a jyhe Clark. hollands shouldn’t be on the inside of a clearance. He only needs a little bit of space around the fringes.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Isn't that the player we need?

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft