List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA

Logue is probs listening to his uncle Vlahov, who is telling him to take the money. I don’t buy the crap that Garlick is saying that Fyfe will be like a new recruit either. He was pretty substandard this year when he got on the park
He'd played no footy and had 4 operations in the previous 10 months before playing again. I'll judge him again once he's had a full pre-season.

Garlic just said on 6pr at this stage of our club/list we’ll probably bring more through free agency and trade as opposed to the draft.

Was pretty coy with asked about Corbett and Sharp..but obvious that we’re talking to them.
But who are the decent remaining free agents? Surely not Gunston or Franklin?

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

And I imagine this a large part of why the club is digging their heels in.

Signing a large front-loaded contract and then demanding to be traded once you've cashed in the big early years would piss the club off no end. We've effectively already paid him in advance for these years that he's trying to default on.
There should be a clause in those contracts that the balance of the time remaining (I.e. the portion paid in advance to make up the last year, for example) should be refunded to the club or paid as a financial obligation by whoever is picking him up as part of the trade, surely?

My predictions:

Logue is going to develop into a very good key defender at North (as he would have with us but he can't get the opportunity with players ahead of him). He's not a failed pick, we're just fortunate to have two extremely good KPD's right now. People judging him on his forward stint are being short sighted.

Acres is going to revert to being bog average at Carlton and their fans will turn on him in no time.

Logues position is defence but third in line there. Not the greatest forward, neither is Jackson but would push Logue back out of the 22.

Stoked Logue didn’t accept the apparent first lowball offer.
He wouldn’t have had a clue North would be offering him 600k a season by the end of the year. He should be giggling! Well played.
All the best. And cheers for making a point of seeing the clubs compensated

After listening to Garlic, I do get the feeling we are genuinely chasing Sharp to replace Acres...

...which I wouldn't bloody mind whatsoever frankly. I remember liking the look of him in his draft year. The guy can play, and I reckon he might do okay here.
I think a lot of people are going to be dissappointed when they realise that not all fringe gold coast players end up like will brodie. Some of them are fringe because they're really just not that good enough

He'd played no footy and had 4 operations in the previous 10 months before playing again. I'll judge him again once he's had a full pre-season.
And even with all of those interruptions Fyfe still averaged (per game) more:
  • marks inside 50
  • score involvements
  • goals
  • tackles inside 50
  • possessions
  • metres gained

Than Logue from way less game time per game.

It's almost like, even with with all those injuries, Fyfe is just a simply a better offensive footballer than Logue.

There is a bit of an unknown factor because we have Viney in charge of the football department now and all recruiting is going through him now so we don't really know how he operates.

You do lose a bit of bargaining power against the spooner because you can't really bend them over, but it is very rare for a high value player to go into the PSD due to a failed trade. I think GWS let Hately go into the PSD because they wouldn't have used the pick the Crows offered them in a trade.

There is the potential we do not come to terms with Freo in a trade and if we seem unreasonable he might consider Richmond who were also interested in him or choose to stay, there is a higher probability of players re-signing during a failed trade attempt than ending up in the PSD, the vast majority of players do not want to go out that way.

I think he would have stayed if he was in the best 18 as a defender at Freo.

I mean, he passed Richmond up to come to us as well, he obviously cares a lot about having some stability in that defensive role.
Maybe playing forward for us made him realise his weakness, i.e. his marking is terrible so he took the coin and the easy option where he can just spoil the ball as a defender.

Ball will be in the backline a lot next year he better learn to do more than spoil. I will laugh relentlessly when JHF requests a trade next year

Going to need to put some serious development time into our forwards next season. Hope to see Treacy and Sturt R1 but doubt it would happen. Need to trade Lobb while he still has currency. Old mate won't be replicating his form this year if he is forced to stay at the club.

So two B22 are asking to be traded out as we don't have a spare $150k a year? Surely there's more to it. Maybe the Young/Chapman/Frederick contracts were more than we realise.
Not a business man are you? We put our best offer forward for what we thought the players are worth, they said no and we walked simple.
Interesting. Wonder if their canvassing the group regarding interest in Jordan DeGoey. Would the team fracture?

In: Jackson, DeGoey

Out: Logue, Acres, Tucker
Club has a no dickhead policy
Going to need to put some serious development time into our forwards next season. Hope to see Treacy and Sturt R1 but doubt it would happen. Need to trade Lobb while he still has currency. Old mate won't be replicating his form this year if he is forced to stay at the club.
Put some incentives in his contract and watch him perform.

Trade him NOW for a second or trade him NEXT YEAR for a third. Really not much difference in value.

Looking at our contract status list, the guys who are either currently out of contract, on the way out the door, or else already gone, are Mundy, Logue, Acres, Blakely, Crowden, Sebit & Western.

For me personally out of that list of uncontacted players, I'd like to retain Western, Sebit and Crowden in particular, as IMO all these guys can football, they just haven't had much of a shot at it yet. (I'd like to keep Mundy too, but alas it's not to be).

Blakely checked out mentally a while ago I feel, his contract status just hadn't caught up with him till now (a shame frankly... he had talent. Won't be hugely missed however).

Griff out, and Jackson in, I personally would see as a net plus. I love Griff and will miss him, but Jackson has the far higher ceiling. (Found this AFL article very interesting on his potential role: Forward thinking: Dockers eye unique midfield role for Jackson)

Acres out and Sharp(?) in, I personally would see as a break-even at worst - still personally reckon Sharp has a lot to offer. If not Sharp, then maybe go to the draft. Acres did good this year, but we have Aish, Noddy, Liam, Jackson, Johnson, Hughes and Worner as potential back-up wing options for next year... We'd still cope pretty well out of that lot.

Tucker gone... Eh... I'll wait to hear something more definite there. It all currently seems a bit "suck-it-and-see contract-speculation" to my mind. Not fussed hugely if he goes, happy for him to stay if there's no interest... He's still contracted if push comes to shove, so no biggie.

Mundy is a huge loss, but hopefully he's coaching here next year or the year after. Plenty of talent in Ras and Johnson that will hopefully fill part of that void in coming years.

Way I see it, we definitely lose three good players and one average one this year, but should break even at worst in terms of replacements, and still have one or two spots free for draft pics.

To be brutally honest, to my mind, given the talent Freo currently has, the talent we may gain in exchange, and our track record of pulling really great draft pics out of our rectums, losing Logue and Acres to other teams is not such the big deal it felt like just a few hours ago.

He will be if he wants a decent contract at the end of it.