List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA

At the start of the season he was willing to sign for 2 years on a moderate deal of around $300k but we said no, thinking we were being smart arses.
He then got good during the season and we upped to $500k over 4 years but it was still not enough.
Our own fault for dicking around a guy out of contract

More likely that he was offered $300k x 2 and knocked it back. Why would the club not take that deal, it's below league average in terms of salary for a best 25 player, a top ten pick, and a popular part of the playing group.

What would someone like Banfield be on? 2 years at $200k??

...we know Georgiades is the same height as Mundy, right? He isn't a tall forward.

Isn't Pav shorter than Mundy?

Modra and Ablett senior are about 189cm??

There's too much focus on the tape measure, Zach Clarke was tall but he sucked.

Love the stance the club is taking, and trust that there's a plan in place to replace losses. We've got some immense talent coming through and I'd be spewing if we lose some because we blinked with Colin Young.

Looking ahead, Amiss is clearly B22 forward now and can easily operate in a fwd line with Tabs and Lobb for a year. We won't get anything like value for Lobb so use the year to further develop Treacy, but if Lobb goes then just get games into Treacy. Can also rest Darcy fwd more (likes a goal) and also have (hopefully a fully fit) Fyfe to rotate through there.

Assuming Jackson is in, he can play ruck, mid and fwd. I saw a stat that he was #1 for contested marks i50 at some point last season (could be wrong here); get his kicking even half decent and we're on to a winner.

Acres is slightly underrated here. His best is extremely good, and he was pivotal in some big wins last year. He's a big body who really showed up defensively last year. That being said I think we have the players to cover, and may trade some defensive cover for offensive potency in this case.

End result our B22 will be superior come March '23, but our depth won't be as good. Injuries will impact more so will need to continue our good run there.

I think we're looking cherry ripe for 2024.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lots of people seeing this the wrong way round. The large number of trade requests, with the exception of Lobb, are indicative of a great list. Acres, Logue, and Tucker can see the writing on the wall, Freo have great youth and they could all easily find their way outside best 22, as Tucker has done this season.

It's easy to stick the boot in and cry disloyalty, but a bit of empathy for their situation is needed.

In the long run this is likely to make Freo even stronger. All of these guys are at peak value now, and their departure provides future talent, ALA turning Weller into Brayshaw and Hill into Serong. In this instance we're turning Logue into Jackson, which is unquestionably a massive improvement given Jackson goes directly into the position Logue was playing in the second half of this season, plus he's four years younger.

I'll be happy for Logue to be playing the position he wants to play guaranteed. I feel for him as he knows he's giving up personal success so that he can make the best career from the limited time he has.

All the best Griffen, I'm gonna miss you mate.

Great post and I think you're right.

But losing guys in their mid 20's and replacing them with Amiss, Johnson, Erasmus, etc makes it harder to win a flag in 2023, and probably in 2024 too.

After a day where a graduate in my team got offered 50% increase on her salary from a competitor (that it then sounds like we will choose to match), I think we need to consider how salary benchmarks are changing and it's effect on our perception. Sure, Logue as an athletic utility player (as opposed to being a key defender) going onto $700K per annum might seem a bit, but we then are hearing talk of Jackson coming into the team at that kind of salary (maybe 900K?), also as almost as a 200cm version of the same kind of player. Maybe these are the new norm values for this kind of player?

I agree with others that perhaps the implicit question is that if this is what athletic utilities are going for, what is the price that Serong should be priced at? How critical / replaceable is Serong? Or is the athleticism the key part of the money that clubs are buying, rather than the exposed performance? If the latter is the case, then perhaps we should be downgrading our expectations with respect to what theses players should be expected to provide?

Logue could be a boomerang situation anyway. Hard slogs at North while we win flags could see him come back once his contract is up on the cheap and we have a spot for him.
Get massive vibes on this too. Genuinely believe he loves the club but simply got too good an offer. Reckon he's shed more than a few tears over this to be honest.

If Tabs was fit, Logue goes out. Fyfe fit, Logue out.

Amiss, Lobb, Tabs much better forwards in 2023.

And he’s depth defender in 2023. The “problem” is our first choice defenders of Pearce, Cox, Ryan are really good. Logue is also a really good defender but we can do without him.

If Griff leaves and Cox or Pearce go down we're back to playing Luke Ryan as an under sized key defender. If they both get injured Chapman's our CHB.

I think the thing people need to understand before judging Griff too harshly is that he isn’t best 22 in 2023.

I think it’s reasonable to expect best 22 players to take (small) unders to keep a list intact, but you won’t get 24 year olds who are depth to take big pay cuts. Its just not realistic.

You find a spot in your 23 for hard working role players that are popular in the playing group. Griffin Logue, Bailey Banfield, Tendai Mzungu, Matt deBoer, etc.

If Logue goes to North Melbourne in the PSD I'm gonna microwave my Old Bull Young Buck Stubbie Holder 🤬

What are the rules for players having another job?

Lets say our offer to Logue is $500k and NM are offering $700k. Could a sponsor be found, not a sponsor that's linked to FFC in Woodside etc but lets say Coca-Cola. Could Coca-Cola be the sponsor of the Old Bull Young Buck Podcast for $300,000pa split between Logue and Mundy? Or would that breach some rules?

I feel like I’m a decent judge of character.

I was a member of the hate Acres fan club with Yeti as President.

Always said Lobb is a merc.

And Logue well, he’s a helluva man-child athlete. Can’t blame him for taking 200k extra.

Good riddance to all of them.

arnold schwarzenegger predator GIF

But it makes sense with Acres contract though. 350k over 3 is really not a lot. And is a weird place to draw the line imo.
Not really for mine, he's always been injury prone and yes he was very good this year but it's still only around half a season in how many? 3 years guaranteed is too long and he could easily go back to his old mediocre form and/or get injured. Seriously by far the majority of the time he was here he was a whipping boy!

Logue could be a boomerang situation anyway. Hard slogs at North while we win flags could see him come back once his contract is up on the cheap and we have a spot for him.
I’m sure Colin strongly pushes this to players on the fence as they’re weighing up their decision to sign.

Yes, I know it’s his job is to get the best financial deal for his clients. I can understand it, but let’s not pretend he’s doing it out of the goodness of his heart rather than the nice juicy commission he’ll be getting as soon as his clients sign on the dotted line.

is it really in his clients’ best interest to leak contract shenanigans in public while the season is alive? How does that help players perform at their best and their team perform at their best as opposed to just putting them under enormous pressure? As an example - did a public testing the waters for someone like Liam Henry do him any favours as opposed to exploring trade options with other clubs in good faith privately?

Anyway, what’s done is done. I guess this is how it feels to be GWS or Gold Coast every year. It’s ****ing annoying that all the AFL sees us as good for is as a feeder for the VIC clubs because we’re a “footy state” and fans will keep showing up even if we’re at the bottom for a few years and have never reached ultimate success. It’s so hard not to be incredibly bitter about it all, to be honest.

Get massive vibes on this too. Genuinely believe he loves the club but simply got too good an offer. Reckon he's shed more than a few tears over this to be honest.

Let's be honest, this is all Mundy's fault. If he hadn't retired Old Bull, Young Buck would have gone on another year. But instead, now Mundy's gone and you can't have a Young Buck with no Old Bull.

Thanks, Mundy. Ya tosser.

In all seriousness, when the news broke that Griff required a trade, I was like:
I Dont Care Shrug GIF by Puss In Boots

But after thinking about it I was more like

But then, I really thought about it and it really hit me and I was like

Good luck to ya Griff. I hope you're the best defender in a team that gets pumped every game for the next 3 years. Have fun with your new mates.

Griff was a fringe B22 for most of the year and if Tabs was fit for the whole year (which is as common as finding a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow) or Tracey or Sturt take another step in their development, he would have been on the bench. I think the biggest risk is that Moose goes down and we could have used Griff to step in. It leaves a hole in our depth more than our B22. Plus, we had several guys with less than 20 games on our list during finals. Get a good draft pick, keep up the development and we'll be fine. We're on a 4-6 year run and some of those kids who get picked up will come good for us during that time.

I can’t say I’m thrilled with the quasi exodus. At the end of the day Lobb (who will surely go), Logue and Acres are all best 22, bigger bodied, experienced players. Each has played a big part in a number of wins this year. It clearly sets us back and Jackson and b-grade fillers like Corbett and Sharp will help but don’t fill the gap.

You can equivocate all you want but that to me is poor list management, no matter how you slice it. Maybe I’m just being negative but it’s not a great situation

I can’t say I’m thrilled with the quasi exodus. At the end of the day Lobb (who will surely go), Logue and Acres are all best 22, bigger bodied, experienced players. Each has played a big part in a number of wins this year. It clearly sets us back and Jackson and b-grade fillers like Corbett and Sharp will help but don’t fill the gap.

You can equivocate all you want but that to me is poor list management, no matter how you slice it. Maybe I’m just being negative but it’s not a great situation
Add to that losing a hundred gamer in Tucker. He doesn’t set the world on fire but he’s solid and good depth. Hey ho, let’s see what the kids can do I guess

He was walking out of cockburn with the biggest grin on his face. Couldn't even look upset for the camera
No offence mate, but you need to grow up. Logue clearly loved the club, but ultimately has decided to go to another club. That doesn't mean he never cared, doesn't mean he wasn't emotional about this at all. You're making out like he's thrilled about leaving

This is exactly why players can never tell the truth throughout the season about leaving at the end of the season, the fans are too immature to hear the truth