List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

Draft Order:
Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

GR could you please put the whole post under a Spoiler tag? I get excited thinking it’s a new GR post only for it to be the sticky.

This is all kinds of *ed up, if the AFL were a fair dinkum organisation and the AFLPA even cared half of one iota then they would ensure that the player moved out would be guaranteed their current contract agreement.
So in this case Bowels would have gotten $850k $850k and if they wanted a further 2 years he gets paid a new sum for that new contract and it shouldn’t be allowed to be ZERO value or below the basic wage.

In essence what Bowels has done is agreed to get the same money $1.7m over 4 years OR working for free for the extra 2 years.

It’s a ******* rort that will keep the Big End of Town at the top of the ladder as they are just more attractive options than the lowlife clubs like we are viewed as.

I mean why the * would you want to take a pay cut of $425,000 a year which effectively what Bowels has done!

He is probably going to get the rest off the books.

It’s strange when fans still reference things like “two first rounders” as if all first rounders are made equal. Obviously… a first rounder can be anywhere from pick 1-18. The value disparity between 1 and 18 is astronomical. This Port poster claiming that we should take the deal because its “two first rounders”. MF’er we’re not taking two picks sitting around or outside 10 for the generational talent.
Exactly, I'm all for getting their future first and enjoying a good death ride next year, we'll be doing it anyway if ol' Judas McTraitorpants is playing for them!

But the reality is despite a pretty disappointing season for them this year, they made prelims the previous two years, so the value given of next year's first needs to reflect that potential. Sure they may finish lower and it works out better, but I see no reason why it us that should be taking on that risk, consider that part of any deal to be valued at around pick 16-18.

If we keep him, we can put him on the long term injury list “heart muscle” and get an exemption for another player…

Limp d*ck syndrome?

I reckon we’d shoot ourselves in the foot spreading that load for when Ldu, Mckay etc need big contracts
I really don't get this thinking. We have so much room in the salary cap. Why can some clubs have multiple interstate recruits on $900 thousand per year and still pay huge dollars for a player who isn't even best 22, yet we don't dare give a guy an extra $200 thousand in case we need to offer big contracts in the future? We have the money and the space, spend it! Or at least offer it and let it get rejected.

This is all kinds of *ed up, if the AFL were a fair dinkum organisation and the AFLPA even cared half of one iota then they would ensure that the player moved out would be guaranteed their current contract agreement.
So in this case Bowels would have gotten $850k $850k and if they wanted a further 2 years he gets paid a new sum for that new contract and it shouldn’t be allowed to be ZERO value or below the basic wage.

In essence what Bowels has done is agreed to get the same money $1.7m over 4 years OR working for free for the extra 2 years.

It’s a ******* rort that will keep the Big End of Town at the top of the ladder as they are just more attractive options than the lowlife clubs like we are viewed as.

I mean why the * would you want to take a pay cut of $425,000 a year which effectively what Bowels has done!

Geelong would have topped up the total figure, it won't just be stretching the existing amount over four.

Then they said they would all be playing early in the season. Good clubs have depth and competition for spots. Something we haven't had for a long time
So they went to Geelong to play when they rest their best 22? And just to get dropped for the finals if they have a healthy list? Bowes is already 25yr old isnt he? And gave up $800k in pay just to be a backup?

Something smells.

l cant wait to see if this deal falls through...JHF doesn't get there and they missed out on Jack Graham..:laughv1: and we get to keep him for another year...