Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsEd Curnow
Half-forwards:Jack MartinZac FisherJack Silvagni
Forwards:Corey DurdinCharlie CurnowHarry McKay
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraMatthew Kennedy
Interchange:Ollie HollandsJesse MotlopMatthew Owies
Adam Saad
Emergencies:Josh HoneyLochie O'BrienMarc Pittonet
Lachie Plowman

I feel this will fall the same way it did last year. Geelong will look the better for the first half but we hang on and have a good patch here and there to stay in it. 2nd half Geelong will put the foot down and we'll succumb to a 5 goal loss, as their cohesive team play and skills will outdo us.

The only way we can win this is a complete collective 22 all playing close to their best and not relying on a handful to do the job.
Yeah, but shuddup.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Durdin is a big in, Hewett a big out.

Something about the team makeup does not look right.

7 Defenders, 4 onballers, 2 wings, 8 forwards, 1 ruckman.

We are forward heavy and onballer thin. Also thin for wingmen considering one is a first year player.

Coach clearly has no interest in Dow, not even as an emergency. Personally I would be looking to see whether he can be that forward mid we crave. Kills it in this role in the seconds. Yeah I get it, it's been tried before blah blah blah. But that was when he was an immature teenager in a bottom side, things are different now. May be the role he and our team needs.

No Carroll, have to ask why we aren't pushing him more? Quicker and better user than Ed Curnow.

No Pittonet again, not good.

Honey, I would have had him in. Our slow as treacle unaggressive forward line could do with what he brings.

O'Brien, I would definitely have gone with three wingmen with only 4 onballers selected and a clear lack of pace in the side. I get the feeling he will be a late in, has to be with that make up, no way we go in with 8 forwards, 4 onballers and 2 wings, one being a second gamer and expect things to go ok.

Don't mind the look of our backline, think it matches up on them and still has enough quality.

Don't like the look of our midfield, I think it's going to get thumped. No Hewett or Walsh an aging Ed Curnow. It's really really slow and shallow. Hollands and Acres on the wing is ok but can't be asking the world of a second gamer. DeKoning is not the best ruckman and again on his own, can't help but feel we get belted in the ruck and around the contests.

Our forward line wasn't much good last week, opposition defenders spent a lot of time running past our forwards who were unable to create contests and apply pressure. Goals were hard to come by. We were asked to win ugly and the calls went unanswered by our forwards. Durdin adds a lot. Fisher needs to do more when the ball is in dispute or opposition hands, Martin and Owies were dreadfully underwhelming. Silvagni offers nothing up forward the moment he has to go into the ruck.

Not sure whether they are ready but O'Brien, Honey and Pittonet who are emergencies would definitely play in my 22.

The players we need to step up to win games like this, Kemp, Dow, Honey, Carroll etc are in the reserves. This is the problem. Our injuries are to players we are unable to replace. Fast/enduring outside runners. Williams, Walsh, Marchbank and Boyd.

We might be lucky enough to catch Geelong underdone and out of form, if we play well we are always a chance. But I feel we are going to be asking a lot from too few. We are up against it, we need some of our more background types to step up and perform. Hopefully Geelong don't exploit our lack of pace like Richmond did.

I listen to his interviews, he's not said any such thing.

Discuss the club by all means, but frankly if you're going to post that sort of rubbish, there are other places for you to do so.

Ross is a terrific coach. He was #1 on my list but you're rewriting history by suggesting the club botched anything on that front.

We invited him to take part in the selection process, as any well run club would. He declined as is his right.

Only reason it will be laughed at is because you've just made up some absolute crap. And it deserves any laugh it may get.
He mentions this long journey on multiple occasions. Even towards the end of last season with a flag to play for he says this is the start of a long journey. Wtf is that? It’s the end of the season and there’s a flag to play for, the head coach is talking long journeys and learning. Strange thing to say for a team in a premiership window. Ross Lyon has taken worse sides to grand finals.

You don’t need a process to decide who the best candidate is when you have a multiple grand final coach available. Insulting to even request such a thing. The Saints did whatever it took to get the best man for the job.

Durdin worries me from a fitness point of view. Wouldn't half surprise me to see him subbed out at some point.

Which makes me hope we don't pick a second ruck now.
Slow entries from the back half are more the issue. Our smaller forwards having to push further up the ground to provide options going forward - which is one of the main reasons why Vossy has been screaming for players with more two way run to provide those links. Of course having Williams, Boyd, Cunners, Walsh and Cotters sitting on the sidelines right now doesn't really help the cause.

Quicker entry from the back half would mean that players like Durdin and Motlop shouldn't have to venture too far beyond the 50m arc. Right now, with the slow entry into our forward half, opposition defences are getting numbers back, making it virtually impossible for our small forwards to be effective.

I’m quietly confident about tonight’s game. The boys have a point to prove and what better way to do it than against the raining premiers. The ground will be slippery which will even up the contest, albeit take away our twin tower forward advantage, but that could also play in our favour by bringing our mosquito fleet right into the contest. If our midfield can get on top and get the ball into our forward line I think we could do some real damage in and under.
Go Blues.

That Cats midfield is missing Selwood & Duncan from last time.

Last week only 3 Cats got above 20 disposals.

Reckon we’re a decent show……if all the ifs go our way.👍

Hawkins has kicked 2, 0, 2, 0 in his last four matches against Carlton.

He averages over 2.5 goals a match against the rest of the league in that timeframe and rarely goes goalless.

We still have to deal with Cameron, but Weiters has historically given us a massive headstart by doing an awesome job on Hawkins.

Coin flip.

Geelong are missing a few, but have had an uncanny knack for pulling a win from absolute nowhere over the past ten or so years. We should be winning this game, because if we are to be fair dinkum we should be beating an undermanned Geelong.

I don't ****ing know man.

I was optimistic last week, I have a sinking feeling this week.

Footy is well and truly back.

I'm with you. For all of Tom Stewart being out we need to get our KPF opportunities and with Hewett out I'm nervous that we will struggle to get the ball going forward of centre which will basically nullify their loss.

I want Cerra to prove himself an A grader tonight. I've been a little disappointed with his performances in navy so far. He has the ability.

We played as well as most did against them last year and they were just an absolute class above. I don't think they are this year but our two big mid losses just hurt.

Coin flip.

Geelong are missing a few, but have had an uncanny knack for pulling a win from absolute nowhere over the past ten or so years. We should be winning this game, because if we are to be fair dinkum we should be beating an undermanned Geelong.

I don't ******* know man.
17 players tonight from a Grand final team that was a long way in front of all teams except Collingwood who came close. They were quite good for three quarters last week until the Pies go over them, expect Collingwood to be a lock for top 4 this year.

Hawkins has kicked 2, 0, 2, 0 in his last four matches against Carlton.

He averages over 2.5 goals a match against the rest of the league in that timeframe and rarely goes goalless.

We still have to deal with Cameron, but Weiters has historically given us a massive headstart by doing an awesome job on Hawkins.
He was moving at walking pace last week

Martin has to be out at this point, hopefully for O'Brien. Weather shouldn't be a factor.

I'm not the biggest fan but I'm not dropping him after one game that he clearly went in underdone. The run would have helped him. If he plays similarly tonight then he's on shaky ground.

I had him on my watch list and I'm keeping him there for now.

It was a mistake to play him last week. It'd be a mistake to drop him now.

Was a bit painful to see that after highlighting how good Collingwood's ball movement was...always looking for corridor and attacking options, running in waves and generating fast ball movement.

We on the other hand were very slow and risk adverse...while our small/medium forwards definitely need to lift I gotta say it would be hard for them to perform the way we play. Those type of forwards thrive on quick ball movement and open play and we rarely do that. Also, our game plan involves some of them to push up the ground to cover defensively and I don't think our smalls have the running power to push up and down the ground at speed all game. I have no doubt they'd look a lot better playing in a team like Collingwood.

Don't think anyone can say Collingwood isn't entertaining to watch and they showed last year they are pretty clutch whereas we are anti-clutch.

Having said that, we should have beaten Collingwood with it all on the line for both teams in rd 23 last year, so our game plan is quite solid. Rd 22 vs Melb too we should have won. Poor decision making and execution at the death was what cost us in those games, not our game style.

We beat Collingwood by over 50 in contested ball and still lost that game. That’s an AFL record actually. Tells you the game plan is inferior actually.

Tells you that there was something wrong AFTER winning the ball...and we all know what that was and is...

In the last quarter, we had 7 shots (and the ball taken off Cripps by the umps) and they had 6.
I don't think it was the gameplan that had them kicking 5.1 and us kicking 0.6.

I was very confident prior to the Hewett out, now I still think we should win but some doubts have crept in.

Selection, sure its odd replacing an inside mid with a forward pocket, but we are too heavy on inside mids anyway and Fish will play through the guts.. It then becomes a choice of if you prefer Fish v Dow, 4 goals and BOG by Dow in a mickey mouse practice match doesn't erase how bad he was when given a chance last year so would rather go with Fish.

I was very confident prior to the Hewett out, now I still think we should win but some doubts have crept in.

Selection, sure its odd replacing an inside mid with a forward pocket, but we are too heavy on inside mids anyway and Fish will play through the guts.. It then becomes a choice of if you prefer Fish v Dow, 4 goals and BOG by Dow in a mickey mouse practice match doesn't erase how bad he was when given a chance last year so would rather go with Fish.

I'd be very surprised if Fish played in the guts more than once or twice due to bench rotations...

I hope this is last chance for Jack Martin, perhaps need to excuse the fact he didnt play any o the warmup games. but if he doesnt have a significant impact tonight we need to put a line through him and move on.

I'm not the biggest fan but I'm not dropping him after one game that he clearly went in underdone. The run would have helped him. If he plays similarly tonight then he's on shaky ground.

I had him on my watch list and I'm keeping him there for now.

It was a mistake to play him last week. It'd be a mistake to drop him now.

I think Martin is injured (calf) and a likely withdrawal.

I suspect it has been our plan for a couple of days, and we would then probably play Plowman, with Docherty going into midfield. He trained there for much of the offseason and it was how we lined up at the end of last year when Walsh + Hewitt were out in the last couple of games, so makes sense again.