Preview 2023 Rd 24 Carlton vs GWS Sunday August 27 6:10PM @ Marvel Stadium

Final Team is in ...

IN: Cerra, Fogarty, McGovern, Walsh, C. Durdin
OUT: Cripps (soreness), Docherty (soreness), E.Curnow, Marchbank, Pittonet, Motlop (illness)

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringAlex Cincotta
Half-backs:Adam SaadMitch McGovernNic Newman
Centreline:Blake AcresSam WalshOllie Hollands
Half-forwards:Jack MartinHarry McKayDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraGeorge Hewett
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Corey Durdin
Emergencies:Ed CurnowMarc PittonetCaleb Marchbank

*Update 26th August

Great ins, best 22 players back…
Doc resting 👍
Crippa should/hopefully rest too…
Cunners maybe rest/sub…
Fogarty back in…
Some unlucky players to miss…
Probably the best overall mix of speed & run our midfield and flanks have had this year…
Strong Emergencies bench 👍

Will be a cracking game GWS can play & produce a quick quality brand of footy…

Blues will be too strong, home final up for grabs 👍

Of the IC, i'm leaning towards - Pitto for sure, i think Fish and Cincotta will probably play, and one of Cunners or Fogarty(whichever one we think can do a better job stopping the run of either Whitfield or Ashe). With the other to be sub.

Hollands incredibly stiff and i hate me for not selecting him lol. Hope he is actually in.
Reckon Hollands plays and we rest Cripps, but then he goes out when Doc comes back for the finals.

Pitto, Cunners, Fish to play, then one of Marchy or Cincotta.
Cinc took some big hits last week.

Some clubs have moved away from them and collect their own data now with emphasis on their own metrics. At least that's what I was being told pre covid ~18 and 19 seasons. I would assume most clubs are. I know one club reached out to a small data science firm to build their own models. mate was pretty unhappy when the pies went with another mob. Probably would've been a fun project.
We've got a data science guy on the board. His company does a fair bit for us. Used to be more involved until Cook came on board stopped shenanigans.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

With regards to Cripps, maybe his ribs are a lot better now? Has anyone had rib cartilage bruising before? I think that's the rumour anyway? How long does that take to heal to the point it's not so painful and one can play with it relatively normally?

I’d comfortably say that if our ladder position currently CANT change before sundays game we’ll rest Cripps.

With regards to Cripps, maybe his ribs are a lot better now? Has anyone had rib cartilage bruising before? I think that's the rumour anyway? How long does that take to heal to the point it's not so painful and one can play with it relatively normally?
Ages, bruised ribs suck, takes weeks & hurts like hell. Breathing ain’t much fun & a knock produces some real special shooting pains.

Reckon Hollands plays and we rest Cripps, but then he goes out when Doc comes back for the finals.

Pitto, Cunners, Fish to play, then one of Marchy or Cincotta.
Cinc took some big hits last week.

All gonna be intriguing for sure. Wouldn't be shocked if Crippa is a late out either. But being named lends more weight to him actually playing than not. So i'll surmise he is in. He really only played in name only last week. As you no doubt know, he was hurt against Melbourne. Virtually rested up even though was on the field last week. 8 day break this week, then 12 day break next week.

Them …

In: Ryan Angwin, Nick Haynes, Matt Flynn, Toby McMullin

Out: -

Squad

FB: Jack Buckley, Sam Taylor, Connor Idun
HB: Lachie Ash, Harry Himmelberg, Lachie Whitfield
C: Josh Kelly, Tom Green, Isaac Cumming
HF: Toby Bedford, Jake Riccardi, Brent Daniels
FF: Daniel Lloyd, Jesse Hogan, Toby Greene
RR: Kieren Briggs, Callan Ward, Stephen Coniglio

Interchange (from) Ryan Angwin, Harry Perryman, Lachlan Keeffe, Callum Brown, Toby McMullin, Nick Haynes, Josh Fahey, Matt Flynn
That's also a strong side.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Team is solid, happy Doc isn’t playing with a niggle & if Crippa even wakes up sore hope he takes the extra time to be primed for the 1st final.
Stoked Dow has been named on the ground & genuinely excited to see him, Cerra & Walsh cause havoc. GWS have a seriously talented line up, this will be a great dress rehearsal.

The great mystery of the universe. Patrick Cripps needs rest but Carlton’s BF doesn’t actually know why he needs rest or what injury he has.

Rib cartilage can be very difficult to treat. I had it many years ago and it only went away after I had a cortisone.