Ultimate Glory 2023 Trade speculation and Shinbeggars discussion

FFS - the actual football season hasn’t even started and they’re already running a podcast focusing on changing a teams list already.

Haven’t these blokes got anything else to do with their lives?
Judging by this thread there are a lot of people who don’t have anything else to do with their lives

We can’t really criticise the media for focussing on something too early when we are focussing on that very same thing

Judging by this thread there are a lot of people who don’t have anything else to do with their lives

We can’t really criticise the media for focussing on something too early when we are focussing on that very same thing
Well we can, though I understand your point.

They’re full time football media professionals. You’d think they’d have enough in the current environment to occupy themselves.

Anyhow if people want to listen to it that’s their choice .

Well we can, though I understand your point.

They’re full time football media professionals. You’d think they’d have enough in the current environment to occupy themselves.

Anyhow if people want to listen to it that’s their choice .

player movement news all year round out rates normal in season media.

I have a dream..

I dream that one day, a hypothetical trade thread will be filled with posts about players from other clubs we want to bring into the club, and not just about trading our whipping boys for whatever random picks we can muster.

I have a dream..

I dream that one day, a hypothetical trade thread will be filled with posts about players from other clubs we want to bring into the club, and not just about trading our whipping boys for whatever random picks we can muster.
Maybe we can trade those posters.

I have a dream..

Todd Marshall from Port, please.

HF: Moore.....Lewis.......Wingard
FF: XXXX......Marshall.....Breust

= Flag.

#bringhimhome
(I have no idea where he's actually from...)

Thread will(has now had) be getting a clean up when I get a minute.

It’s not the list management thread where you argue the merits or leadership of a listed player, nor is it a place to come up with ways to trade out a player you don’t rate.

As Eldo so eloquently put earlier in the thread, it would be good if people thought of ways to get players into the club, rather than just potting their personal whipping boy.

Thread will be getting a clean up when I get a minute.

It’s not the list management thread where you argue the merits or leadership of a listed player, nor is it a place to come up with ways to trade out a player you don’t rate.

As Eldo so eloquently put earlier in the thread, it would be good if people thought of ways to get players into the club, rather than just potting their personal whipping boy.
Mate you could’ve done the clean up before I read all that shite 😉

4 way fanciful trade will think about 2 extra legs in coming days
Hawks get Riley Thilthorpe, Eagles r2 and suns r1/r3
Eagles get DGB and Brockman
Crows get eagles r1 pick
Suns get eagles r2, hawks r2 tied to dogs and hawks f1 / suns f1 swap

We get 2 round 1 single digit picks plus thilthorpe plus McCabe lose players we can cover and rise in 2024 to offset some of pick swap with suns.

Crows get eagles r1 pick

We get 2 round 1 single digit picks plus thilthorpe plus McCabe lose players we can cover and rise in 2024 to offset some of pick swap with suns.
Crows making off like bandits in that trade

Crows get eagles r1 pick

Give a man an inch….

Give a man and inch….
Well, you did start this thread. You have given a platform for all the crazies out there - flat-earthers, sovereign citizens, conspiracy theorists, time travellers .....

Crows get eagles r1 pick

I think Eagles R2 is listed twice. Do they have two?

I would like for us to at least look at the following guys, in terms of what I think their priority is to this team and the ability to get them:

1. Harry Himmelberg (FA) - 2nd or 3rd tall forward, glue guy, assist / score involvement first player and potential swingman, perfect fit with Lewis
2. Jade Gresham (FA) - mid/fwd, game breaker type of player, perfect forward flank combo with Moore but with some question marks on his body
3. Xavier Duursma (Trade) - versatile, flexible midfielder who is under-performing and at odds with Hinkley, very gettable and wouldn't cost much
4. Darcy Parish (FA) - inside midfielder, good option as a mature body if our midfield doesn't click this season but question marks over his versatility

These are only players that I'm aware of us having interest in, not random names taken out of a hat. Parish is the player I'd be least excited about getting across to the club because I think we're at a point where we don't want to be messing too much with the core of the team. This midfield is young and promising, they need time together to understand each other and gel, the last thing they need is a ball dominant inside mid to be shoe-horned in. That said, if the midfield shows that they're desperately missing a clearance player he'd be a good target.

Early days, plenty can change.

I would like for us to at least look at the following guys, in terms of what I think their priority is to this team and the ability to get them:

1. Harry Himmelberg (FA) - 2nd or 3rd tall forward, glue guy, assist / score involvement first player and potential swingman, perfect fit with Lewis
2. Jade Gresham (FA) - mid/fwd, game breaker type of player, perfect forward flank combo with Moore but with some question marks on his body
3. Xavier Duursma (Trade) - versatile, flexible midfielder who is under-performing and at odds with Hinkley, very gettable and wouldn't cost much
4. Darcy Parish (FA) - inside midfielder, good option as a mature body if our midfield doesn't click this season but question marks over his versatility

These are only players that I'm aware of us having interest in, not random names taken out of a hat. Parish is the player I'd be least excited about getting across to the club because I think we're at a point where we don't want to be messing too much with the core of the team. This midfield is young and promising, they need time together to understand each other and gel, the last thing they need is a ball dominant inside mid to be shoe-horned in. That said, if the midfield shows that they're desperately missing a clearance player he'd be a good target.

Duursma would be a good pick up. Getting him and his younger brother would be epic. I understand the hype around Harley Reid (and deserving) but I think Zane Duursma is the pick of the lot. His kicking, ability to kick goals and his overhead game is next level elite.

Internet has him signed on until 2024.

I'd love to get him in, just not sure on the very gettable and wouldn't cost much bit.

Internet has him signed on until 2024.

I'd love to get him in, just not sure on the very gettable and wouldn't cost much bit.
In contract trades are pretty regular these days. He's not performing where he should be at Port, missing a fair bit of footy and has pretty well documented problems with Hinkley. Hinkley staying on is the bit I'm not sure on, but if he does I reckon Duursma would be sold off for a mid / late second rounder which you'd do in a heart beat.

100%, you'd jump on him for a 2nd!