List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

I’m glad that we’re looking for a second key defender if that’s true. I saw a lot of “in finals those free kicks wouldn’t be paid” after the Carlton game but sorry I’m not taking that chance. Rearrange the backline however you like if we got one. And let’s not forget we’re a Dougal Howard injury away from being in all sorts in defence which we saw last year.

Enter James "ManChild" Van Es hahaha

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Common mate. All the young guys at Adelaide have gone past him and all our kids are more worthy of spots in our midfield. Just taking a mid spot off one of our young guns. No way.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

I think they made the conscious decision to leave him out to play kids and that's why they are where they are. They let his brother go first. Hawks did the same with Mitchell. He's too good for sitting out of footy.He's been the better of the two brothers, AA player of the year award winner etc.

I’ll pass.

I’d rather develop our own mids to grow with Pou Windy Owens etc.

I’ll pass.

I’d rather develop our own mids to grow with Pou Windy Owens etc.

None are pure mids apart from Windhager. I imagine Owens is going to be more mid-forward/utility like Phillipou. Crouch would give you midfield depth while they develop. He'd be pretty handy insurance. We are light on for depth in the mids.

Whitfield anyone ?

Is he a FA? He's a gun at his best. Probably allows you to put Sinclair on ball more. How many games is he averaging in the last few years? he always seems injured.

Not free agent, but on a massive contract!!!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

he's averaging about 18 games a year, not sure why I think he's always injured. I always rated his disposal and it obviously isn't as good as I imagined it either. He's 29 next year, it feels like he should be 26.

● Ranked 6th in Turnovers Per Game ● Ranked 7th in Rebound 50s Per Game ● Ranked 19th in Clangers Per Game ● Ranked 7th in Total Rebound 50s ● Ranked 19th in Total Turnovers

If we just want a free hit top up mid Matt Crouch make sense. Play him until a the kids are ready and a FA who wouldn't be on huge money. He'd have a similar impact to Mitchell at Collingwood IMO. Otherwise I rate Rhys Mathieson as the best player outside a best 22 at the moment. I reckon he'd be a great Ross Lyon project.

James Jordan is young and on the free agents list. I thought he looked alright in the only game I remember seeing him in.

I'd rather a discounted Crouch than Harmes by a long way.

Schoenberg from Adelaide I like. Was going to have a breakout 2022 but then lost his spot.
Deven Robertson from BL would do well in our system.
Fiorini (RFA) keeps getting Will Brodie'd at GC, Jeremy Sharp also too good for VFL.
Miles Bergman would be * in Borat voice * "very nice.
Dylan Stephens, Hayden McLean, Joel Amartey, Hugo Hall-Kahan all OOC at Sydney.

There's decent young options OOC

If they come cheap no worries. But what talented player is going to be traded for say a pick 18? if they are so talented, the price tag is huge and the expectation is a guarenteed place in the side then yeah it’s gonna disrupt the team. We need to start developing a system of bringing in draft picks, getting the best out of them and keep that flowing every year. Then if our talented players want to leave we can maximise our trade value for them.
Teams like geelong are great at this.
Traded for the value of about 18?

On our list, that was the cost of someone like Howad, Higgins or Steele

For other teams in recent years:
Jordan Dawson, Jordan Clarke, Ed Langdon, Brodie Grundy, Tanner Bruhn

Plenty of talent traded for about that value

Schoenberg from Adelaide I like. Was going to have a breakout 2022 but then lost his spot.
Fiorini (RFA) keeps getting Will Brodie'd at GC, Jeremy Sharp also too good for VFL.

Add my boy Flanders to the GC list too. They waste some talent.

So why would we play him over any of our young kids? There is absolutely no need for him at St.Kilda.

Crazy to think our team may get significantly better when King, Coffield, Billings, Jones, Webster are all fit and in form.

Wildcards are Hayes, Keeler, Dmac, Highmore, Connolley.

Plenty of options now the injury list is easing!

On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app
It is crazy to think our team would be better with Jones. Because it wouldn't be.

Back onto the Bing vs the draft discussion

I never pay attention to the draft and the inner workings but how does having 2 2024 FS prospects factor in (if they make it), I was just looking into who could be in the pipeline and see Everett and Peckett are 2024. Do we have to maintain our bid currency or is this an opportunity to have our cake and eat it too.

Back onto the Bing vs the draft discussion

I never pay attention to the draft and the inner workings but how does having 2 2024 FS prospects factor in (if they make it), I was just looking into who could be in the pipeline and see Everett and Peckett are 2024. Do we have to maintain our bid currency or is this an opportunity to have our cake and eat it too.
At this stage neither will cost much, if anything. Doesn’t preclude us from going for Bing at all.

I think he was suggesting that we give up first round picks and make up the cost of the FS with points from later picks so double dipping like the Dogs did with Treloar and JUH.

I’ve been on Fiorini as a depth piece for years.

Former junior teammate of Gresh.

I think he was suggesting that we give up first round picks and make up the cost of the FS with points from later picks so double dipping like the Dogs did with Treloar and JUH.
Neither will go overly high though so it wouldn't make sense giving up a first round pick for the sake of it when we will most likely get to use it in the draft anyway

Just trying to explain the logic not the merit.