List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Harry Himmelberg doesn't give us much in the way of rucking though. I think we might want a ruck forward. His brother might come cheap.
If we keep playing like this and the young kids keep performing it will change what sort of player we chase

I just want to keep taking our 1st rnd pick to the draft

Can’t see how you’d fit him into the salary cap. He’s not gonna leave for peanuts.
Got any more Stockers or Caminiti's you can give us for free. Mighty nice of you.

How's you SC? Gresham is looking for the payday as a DFA.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
SC will be fine with Mcgovern, Dow and Martin OOC along with a dozen others. Accommodating a player looking for a pay day isn't something we'd be in the market for though, we'd be after some cheaper role players looking to hopefully play finals and take us to the next level. Depends on what Gresham is after really.

Think Marshall is much better when he does 90% of the rucking

True. If we get another forward we probably need one that can chop out a bit at least. Hammer looks like he's a decent Himmelberg type.

Think Marshall is much better when he does 90% of the rucking
Agree, I don't even know about needing a ruck forward. We already have Hayes and Keeler, although injured.
Let's have a look at them first. Also have Moose as a back up development ruck. I say go to the draft and get
mids.

SC will be fine with Mcgovern, Dow and Martin OOC along with a dozen others. Accommodating a player looking for a pay day isn't something we'd be in the market for though, we'd be after some cheaper role players looking to hopefully play finals and take us to the next level. Depends on what Gresham is after really.

Stocker and Caminiti would have fitted that perfectly.
Role players don't take you to the next level by the way.

Agree, I don't even know about needing a ruck forward. We already have Hayes and Keeler, although injured.
Let's have a look at them first. Also have Moose as a back up development ruck. I say go to the draft and get
mids.
100% Develop Moose- Caminiti - Hayes - Keeler & Campbell

Gresham isn't a cheaper role player. He's a genuine match winner that will kick goals as a forward and win clearances as a mid.

I doubt Dow and Martin would be on heaps. Most of Martin's pay day was in his first year from memory.

It's no secret Cripps, McKay, Curnow, Walsh and Williams are all on big money. I agree I think role players will be Carltons target.

Stocker and Caminiti would have fitted that perfectly.
Role players don't take you to the next level by the way.

Stocker was a lazy fat campaigner with a smoking hot rich girlfriend while he was with us. He needed a kick up the ass. Nobody ever doubted his ability to play but it wasn't going to be at Carlton. Good for the kid for putting some work in over the pre season to get fitter.

Caminiti we were planning on picking up but couldn't offer him a spot on our AFL list as we already have a good group of tall forwards. Good player from the looks of it and good work by the Saints for swooping in to nab him before we could.

And when you have gun players on every line but still carrying blokes like Obrien, Martin, Silvagni etc I'd have to disagree. Players like Acres, Hewett etc are on low coin but are clear upgrades on players we had without being match winning superstars.

Gresham isn't a cheaper role player. He's a genuine match winner that will kick goals as a forward and win clearances as a mid.

I doubt Dow and Martin would be on heaps. Most of Martin's pay day was in his first year from memory.

It's no secret Cripps, McKay, Curnow, Walsh and Williams are all on big money. I agree I think role players will be Carltons target.
Their fullback would be on decent coin as well.

You’d have in your side no doubt. I was keen to chase him when he was getting played out of position.

Need to be smart with the salary cap though. I don’t think he’s the type of player that puts us into premiership contention and if we spend our money bringing players like that it probably won’t leave a lot of room to bring in the genuine match winners we need.

I don’t think importing match winners is as high a priority as it once was… especially the way that Scud, Mitch & Windy are tracking.

Another ball wining mid who’s in his prime could be our version of Dion Prestia. Parish is a bit more outside than Bert Couch too although is hard at the inside pill too.

I agree that we need to be cautious with how we spend our TPP now. Especially if the Suns miss the finals again & a reunion takes another step closer with the King Twins.

I meant as a wage. Essendon will pay him well and we'd have to outbid them. The midfield looks okay with what we have and Bytel, Windy, Hotton and Chito types in development. It wouldn't be my highest priority. I'd rather keep Gresham, you basically be swapping them and Gresh has heap more line breaking and X factor, Parish more polish. To me he isn't that much more outstanding than anything we have.

I wouldn’t be surprised if Scott decides a 2nd 1st round pick is more attractive than locking in Parish on a big, long term deal.

Reckon he’ll be predictable AF & go to Geelong if he leave’s anyway.

All in on Ginnivan.
sub-buzz-20355-1479754896-19.png

The boys mentioned have at least 3-4 years of good footy ahead of them though, once we have a full allotment of players back you’re going to be seeing the likes of Zak Jones, Jack Billings running around at Sandy, I don’t see any of Amon or Wingard as an improvement on Jones or Billings, same same for me, we want top end talent either via trade/FA or draft knocking blokes out of the side not bloody Karl Amon or Chad Wingard, two blokes who run one way and not the other

At least someone like a Dow is young, under the Ross regime maybe it could bring the best out of him, the other guys are known commodities

If nas and gresham go- the likes of billings and zac jones arent going to be running around at sandy.

You have missed my point entirely.

I said if nas and/or gresh leave; we'd be idiots not to be looking at bringing in experienced ready to fire (in finals) guys into the best 22, not 18 year old draftees.

I also said- forget the names amon and wingard.
They are just examples because i think they would come for virtually free trade wise, and would be gettable I reckon.

The main point is that just like we did with dempster and schnider- the hawks did with lake and dew, like the tigers did with prestia, like the cats did with smith etc etc etc etc.... it can make a massive difference to your flag hopes if you bring in ready to fire experienced players

I wouldn’t be surprised if Scott decides a 2nd 1st round pick is more attractive than locking in Parish on a big, long term deal.

Reckon he’ll be predictable AF & go to Geelong if he leave’s anyway.

Agree Geel is the obvious destination but wonder if Brad has pondered how it would look if Darcy thrived under Chris. Dons supporters wouldn't be happy.

How did you and your Family enjoy Saturday night Sunny ?
Mate, I was singing on the train home.
Old dude embarrassing vibes, and loving it.
The only downside, if you can call it that, is that I scored the barmaid bitch from Hell when I was ordering some glasses of champagne (cheap Members version of bubbles) after the game.
But even she could not spoil my excitement.
You??

Mate, I was singing on the train home.
Old dude embarrassing vibes, and loving it.
The only downside, if you can call it that, is that I scored the barmaid bitch from Hell when I was ordering some glasses of champagne (cheap Members version of bubbles) after the game.
But even she could not spoil my excitement.
You??

Had the wife and 2 girls with me as usual, dinner before hand and a couple drinks
Just loved the whole night the club did a great job and so happy for all involved
It was very special night and with it being Essendon made it that little bit more special