We have , should be announced soonSo have we actually made the call on Welsh yet? What is the cut off date to make the decision?
I've been giving this a bit more thought. My previous answer was No. My new answer is ****ing HELL NO.I have been wondering re this. Time to call in the expert Vader
Can we go one over our total list size on the night (say pick 4, Welsh at 60 ish AND an additional pick we create thru using 2025 draft collateral? And then obviously need to immediately delist and pay someone out soon afterwards?
My gut feeling is no that’s not possible but defer to your potential knowledge re this.
Clearly if it’s NOT possible we may still look at delisting and paying someone out before the draft if we feel there is a reasonable prospect of taking an extra pick on the night.
Ben Camporeale was All-Australian and got the MVP award for SA at the U18 Champs. I reckon he'll prove a decent pickup for Carlton. I don't know much about Lucas but I did see he got BOG in one of the games for SA too.Welsh and the Camporeale twins, what a watch they will be in the next few years given their complete evacuation from top 40 discussions. I'm so hoping Welsh is an all time draft steal after all the drooling we did a couple of years back
He feels like Draper did this time last year. But a lot can happen over 12 months (good and bad, for him and for us).Any predictions on how Dyson Sharp will compare to the above 6 players named by Big Dub?
Way ahead , more in the JHF leagueAny predictions on how Dyson Sharp will compare to the above 6 players named by Big Dub?
He’s playing league a year earlier than Draper isn’t he?Way ahead , more in the JHF league
This years top boys are a shade down
So did James AishHe’s playing league a year earlier than Draper isn’t he?
Still it’s a good sign. Probably not too many duds have done it.So did James Aish
I suspect Lucas may have the better career as a more outside player i.e. winger with more versatility whereas not sure Ben is going to have enough impact as an AFL midfielder to have a long career unless he develops more versatility.Ben Camporeale was All-Australian and got the MVP award for SA at the U18 Champs. I reckon he'll prove a decent pickup for Carlton. I don't know much about Lucas but I did see he got BOG in one of the games for SA too.
Might be another factor in why they're (apparently) very strongly considering Draper at 3.
The fact they're out of the Top 40 discussions is another signal on just how strong this draft is IMO.
Sharp will be a hell of a player IMO, he already is.Still it’s a good sign. Probably not too many duds have done it.
Sharp when pitted up against his peers in the recent U17's Futures game was fairly average spending time in defence and the midfield.Way ahead , more in the JHF league
Kids can have average gamesSharp when pitted up against his peers in the recent U17's Futures game was fairly average spending time in defence and the midfield.
Them Academy boys Beau Addinsall and Zeke Uwland were far and away the most impressive, Addinsall especially had a ripper game?
Sid played 3 games in 2023 (av 14 disposals at 60% disposal efficiency and 2.3 clearances) v Sharp's 5 games this year (av 16.4 diosposals at 57% disposal efficiency and 4 clearances).He’s playing league a year earlier than Draper isn’t he?
Way ahead , more in the JHF
Not sure Dyson is in the same conversation at Jason. Doesn’t have his power out of traffic. Long way to go until draft.Way ahead , more in the JHF league
Bit strange calling a 15-16yo kid overrated, not sure how 'rated' one can be.Not sure Dyson is in the same conversation at Jason. Doesn’t have his power out of traffic. Long way to go until draft.
I said last year he was a bit overrated and nothing I’ve seen changes that. Good young footballer make no mistake but it’s still early days
Taranto isn't as quick as DraperA lot of people saying we can improve Draper's kicking skills. I'm not so sure, it's a skill that's ingrained from a young age in terms of technique. I get a few Taranto vibes about Sid.
I think he's more Dangerfield than Taranto. You can add composure to a kids game but you're right as far as technique goes.... you can tweak rather than remodel.A lot of people saying we can improve Draper's kicking skills. I'm not so sure, it's a skill that's ingrained from a young age in terms of technique. I get a few Taranto vibes about Sid.
Well if he wasn’t rated old mate I’m not he’d make the airwaves here ha hahaBit strange calling a 15-16yo kid overrated, not sure how 'rated' one can be.
The bigger question is how many games in 2025?
$100 says you're wrong. In?Doesn't matter who we get at pick 4, they will place the least games in 2025 out of the 4 mids taken.
I think Langford is terrific, his marking, endurance and long kicking make up for his lack of breakaway speed. But given we've spent 1st round picks on Dawson (as a trade) Curtin (if he's to be a mid) and Edwards, I just can't see us using another one on an oversized mid. Wouldn't make any sense - if we think Curtin and Edwards have a future, which you'd hope we do a year after we drafted them.If Langford was from SA and Draper was from VIC who would you take?