2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Bo Allan is an excellent prospect with huge potential upside!
If we drop back from 8, I’d be all for him.

191cm and growing; can play as an inside mid or as a medium defender. Genuine pace.

Was trusted enough by Peel to be picked for their WAFL Senior GF side, and got 11 touches and made 6 tackles.

Need some whispers

I think the only whispers we will hear this year is when Twomey releases his phantom. There are just so many picks in play it would be impossible to rule out anything yet. The last things clubs in our position need is to be leaking who we are interested in, unless its to spook another club to go a certain way.

Very different players.

Same with Henry and Reid, very different players. As Saint Mike said, he's footy IQ is off the charts and it's something we need more of

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
If you wanna go off similar players then go no further than your man Hunter Clark so either way we don't need him

I meant to imply that they play a similar role - both can play half forward and inside mid and both are good users of the ball. Pou has the better physical profile while Reid has the better skills, but in the end they play the same role. Henry and Reid are a bit more different but I think Reid will play a similar role early in his career that is similar to what Henry plays now - high half forward with stints in the middle

Reid is a very good player, but drafting him means we're booking a trade for one of these similar types going forward because they can't play in the same team despite their different nuances

We can't just blindly draft mids. We need mids that complement our current crop. We already have contested ball winners such as Windy, Pou, Clark. That's exactly what Reid is and we already have 3 of them

We need genuine clearance winners - hence Smillie and Langford interest - and we need burst from midfield/good ball users - hence Lindsay/Travaglia interest

So many scenarios that could play out.

Could see Richmond getting #2 and taking two of Smith/Draper/FOS

Blues or Tigers could take Draper and give the Crows something to think about at 4. Do they look to trade back and pick up someone like Trav later on?

How far to North drop if they are locked in on Tauru? Could the Dees snipe him at #5?

How many teams could look to move back up or in? Sydney, Richmond and GWS all with multiple picks. Essendon have supposedly let teams know they are keen to get back in, once the Kako bid is confirmed.

Trying to predict who we land at 7+8 (assuming we keep both) is nigh on impossible so, right now, I'll say we get Smillie & Langford after the Tiges, North and Adelaide do some pick swapping to land who they like.

1 - RICH - Smith
2 - RICH - Draper
3 - CARL - FOS
4 - NM - Tauru
5 - Melb - Lalor
6 - Adel - Travaglia
7 - STK - Smillie
8 - STK - Langford

Exactly. Richmond may or may not fancy a pick swap. It doesn't change anything in terms of our selections, they'll still have 2 picks before us, no more, no less.

I'd be ready surprised if any of the Roos, Blues, Crows or Demons trade out of the top 6 - why would you?

If the Roos don't manage to convince the Tigers to swap places, they will have to ask us. Dees could swap 5 and 9 for 2 but are unlikely to be so generous do will have to get another lower pick by trading with someone for a future pick. Swapping with the Crows makes no sense as it is still a reach for Tauru at 4 and zadekaide would need to find another pick first too. Swapping 2 for Carlton's 3 is pointless.

We don't have the picks either though.

If the Crows Dees or ourselves can swap a future first for a late first rounder this year them North will jump on that.

Of course they could pick just a mid at 2, but would you with their list?

The trouble North has is that they only have picks 2 & 62. Nothing else.

Trading back from pick 2 means they have no draft currency to provide a pick back unless they use a future first. This limits their bargaining power.

Tigers won’t offer them 6 & 10 for 2. Maybe 6 & 18 at best. But maybe not. Throw a blanket over the first 6 picks. Pros and cons with all of them.

GWS has picks 15 & 16, but that is unlikely to cut it as a serious option for pick 2. Maybe they would consider 15 & 16 & 21. But maybe not.

That leaves the Saints. It may be that pick 8 & F1, or 8 & 32 & F2, is the best offer North will get for pick 2. And that’s is assuming we want to do that. Leaving us with picks 2 & 7 & later picks.

North desperately needs tall players. Desperately. They erred by not trading in an extra early pick during the recent trade period. They should have been prepared to use a player as collateral to get that pick. Giving something to get something back.

Now they are stuck. Reaching for a tall at pick 2. Drafting best available and missing out altogether. Or trading-down with limited bargaining power.

I would suggest the latter is probably their best option.

Blues or Tigers could take Draper and give the Crows something to think about at 4. Do they look to trade back and pick up someone like Trav later on?

How far to North drop if they are locked in on Tauru? Could the Dees snipe him at #5?

How many teams could look to move back up or in? Sydney, Richmond and GWS all with multiple picks. Essendon have supposedly let teams know they are keen to get back in, once the Kako bid is confirmed.

Trying to predict who we land at 7+8 (assuming we keep both) is nigh on impossible so, right now, I'll say we get Smillie & Langford after the Tiges, North and Adelaide do some pick swapping to land who they like.

1 - RICH - Smith
2 - RICH - Draper
3 - CARL - FOS
4 - NM - Tauru
5 - Melb - Lalor
6 - Adel - Travaglia
7 - STK - Smillie
8 - STK - Langford
Adelaide ain’t going travaglia with those two on the board sorry

If you wanna go off similar players then go no further than your man Hunter Clark so either way we don't need him

I meant to imply that they play a similar role - both can play half forward and inside mid and both are good users of the ball. Pou has the better physical profile while Reid has the better skills, but in the end they play the same role. Henry and Reid are a bit more different but I think Reid will play a similar role early in his career that is similar to what Henry plays now - high half forward with stints in the middle

Reid is a very good player, but drafting him means we're booking a trade for one of these similar types going forward because they can't play in the same team despite their different nuances

We can't just blindly draft mids. We need mids that complement our current crop. We already have contested ball winners such as Windy, Pou, Clark. That's exactly what Reid is and we already have 3 of them

We need genuine clearance winners - hence Smillie and Langford interest - and we need burst from midfield/good ball users - hence Lindsay/Travaglia interest
We need to draft best available and if Reid is there we should pull the trigger. You worry about the other stuff later. What Reid will provide us instantly is a high footy IQ with slick skills and eye for goal.

We all view and watch football differently but I can't see many similarities between he and Clark. Maybe except for the long hair. And let's be honest, if we draft Reid and he becomes a better player then Clark, isn't that a good thing that we are improving our list and team?

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

We need to put out the rumours that we think tauru and Armstrong are clear top choice and we will definitely take them at 7&8 so Melbourne and north better jump to it

Brother I reckon we'd actually be a solid chance to take Tauru at 8 if only one of the top mids was available, would be a pretty believable rumour. Has had his tyres pumped up heaps in the last month from lots of media sources.

1 - RICH - Smith
2 - RICH - Draper
3 - CARL - FOS
4 - NM - Tauru
5 - Melb - Lalor
6 - Adel - Travaglia
7 - STK - Smillie
8 - STK - Langford

Would we draft both Langford and Smilie if they were there at 7 & 8?

Herald Sun Draft Preview​

ST KILDA

Current Draft Picks: 7, 8, 32, 47

After receiving pick eight as compensation for departed defender Josh Battle, St Kilda has a golden opportunity to add two top-end talents to add to a list which is bereft of A-graders.

The Saints are largely at the mercy of those before them and can sit back and see who is slides to pick seven.

Will bullocking 195cm midfielder Josh Smillie be the one that is available from the top group?

His height and inside ball-winning would give the Saints an immediate boost, as would goalkicking midfielder Harvey Langford.

St Kilda coach Ross Lyon has been intent on adding running power and Tobie Travaglia – who finished second in the 2km time trial at the drat combine – can be used in a variety of roles and would complement Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera nicely off a back flank to start his career.

If the Saints look for talls at either pick, interceptors Alix Tauru and Luke Trainor or key forward Harry Armstrong present as the leading candidates.

St Kilda also has decisions to make on three talents tied to the club in 194cm stopper Adrian Cole, medium defender Lennox Hofmann — both NGA prospects — and 187cm midfielder-forward Elwood Peckett, son of 252-game Saint Justin.

Cole has spoken to at least a handful of clubs and appears the most likely to attract a bid, but it may come after St Kilda’s third selection at 32.

Peckett and Hofmann both tested at the state combine, but the latter had an impressive finish to the season and could also attract a bid in the back-half of the draft.

If they slide to the rookie draft they can add them as a Category B rookie.

Herald Sun Draft Preview​

ST KILDA

Current Draft Picks: 7, 8, 32, 47

After receiving pick eight as compensation for departed defender Josh Battle, St Kilda has a golden opportunity to add two top-end talents to add to a list which is bereft of A-graders.

The Saints are largely at the mercy of those before them and can sit back and see who is slides to pick seven.

Will bullocking 195cm midfielder Josh Smillie be the one that is available from the top group?

His height and inside ball-winning would give the Saints an immediate boost, as would goalkicking midfielder Harvey Langford.

St Kilda coach Ross Lyon has been intent on adding running power and Tobie Travaglia – who finished second in the 2km time trial at the drat combine – can be used in a variety of roles and would complement Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera nicely off a back flank to start his career.

If the Saints look for talls at either pick, interceptors Alix Tauru and Luke Trainor or key forward Harry Armstrong present as the leading candidates.

St Kilda also has decisions to make on three talents tied to the club in 194cm stopper Adrian Cole, medium defender Lennox Hofmann — both NGA prospects — and 187cm midfielder-forward Elwood Peckett, son of 252-game Saint Justin.

Cole has spoken to at least a handful of clubs and appears the most likely to attract a bid, but it may come after St Kilda’s third selection at 32.

Peckett and Hofmann both tested at the state combine, but the latter had an impressive finish to the season and could also attract a bid in the back-half of the draft.

If they slide to the rookie draft they can add them as a Category B rookie.
Can we add them as cat b’s. I thought you were limited to two?

2024 Draft Thread.