2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
ScrappyDo - Reid (1st selection)
Tommy W - Armstrong (Whitlock mid teens)

Nah mate, I used to think they were widely held rankings too but those rankings are journalist group think, Barrels and the illuminati told me so.

There’s only a couple of journos who actually go to CL or National Champs games.

The rest just rehash what they get from others & throw their own spin on it. Those with some club contacts also mix in some of the club gossip that they hear/are fed.

It’ll be interesting to compare the actual order to what guys like Jasper & the HS knuckleheads have put out.

Alright plebs... post who you don't want ... even if they are likely to be taken before our 1st pick .... the pick has to be a player in or around the expected Top 15 ... no need for an explanation just put your balls on the chopping block

Just copy the list that the previous poster posted .... hit reply add your pick and post .... we can keep the list for posterity and ridicule purposes

And fk it ... I will do Akaifu's & Gringo's as well ... given their pet hates are well known

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
I don't want Trainor.

Based on everything I've read about the evenness of this draft, I think trading down from 8 makes it MORE likely that we'll get two guns. I think it's actually the safe, smart option this year.

I'm comfortable either way. There is decent arguments for both. You could get cute and trade down thinking a player will be there and get sharked.

100 billion %
Imagine turning two top 10 picks into one and trading out of the very draft every other club is busting their balls to trade into. We would be ridiculed for decades and rightly so, it makes the Billings selection look astute.

It is possibly the worst suggestion in this entire thread, regardless of where North finish next year.

You are buying potential over output still. It's a fair point. He's another that is certainly no guarantee to be a star but has some exceptional athletic gifts. Bonar was a kid who'd been one of the best under 16 players in the country but unable to show much for two years. He was a much more of an unknown gamble.
Had some disturbing holes in his game which were pointed out at the time, people were fixated on his size and athleticism. Tauru can really play football imo, low possession counts are less of a worry in some rolls, the guys not playing midfield.

If I recall correctly gringo you were on the Bonar bandwagon, once burnt twice shy is fair enough. Our professional recruiters often get things badly wrong so we’re hardly going to nail every pick on here. It’s bigfooty, everyone has an opinion and we get to watch these kids play and maybe 5 years down the track we’ll see who got lucky.

I’m like a kid in a candy store, I’d need double the picks Richmond have and then some to pick all the kids I like. I don’t envy our guys because half of us will be melting for sure 🤣🤣.

Had some disturbing holes in his game which were pointed out at the time, people were fixated on his size and athleticism. Tauru can really play football imo, low possession counts are less of a worry in some rolls, the guys not playing midfield.

If I recall correctly gringo you were on the Bonar bandwagon, once burnt twice shy is fair enough. Our professional recruiters often get things badly wrong so we’re hardly going to nail every pick on here. It’s bigfooty, everyone has an opinion and we get to watch these kids play and maybe 5 years down the track we’ll see who got lucky.

I’m like a kid in a candy store, I’d need double the picks Richmond have and then some to pick all the kids I like. I don’t envy our guys because half of us will be melting for sure 🤣🤣.

I can't clearly remember but Bonar was a real could be anything rather than a finished article. He was a gun in his under 16 year. I got seduced by the bargain bin again. His lack of exposure made him very attractive. FOS has a bit of that this year. He did his best work last year.

I think I wanted Clark with our first pick but thought the second swing gave us a lottery ticket. In the end it worked out about there same anyway.

We got nothing out of Coff either. Bonar probably a bit unlucky to go to the wrong clubs. I reckon he's the type that at the right club probably could have been maximised. Footy is a pretty cruel game. Same with Stephenson. He was one of the stars of his draft early on and ended up at the wrong club to maximise his career.

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Well thats got the top 10 covered....😂 Im also not a fan of Armstrong and Harry Boyd is an absolute spud.

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga

My worthless 2 cents is Jagga. Will lose some of that zip when he bulks up to play inside at AFL level. Limited hurt factor with disposals. No clear second position. Finished year 12, so wasn't juggling school like the others. Matt Crouch mk2

My guess is he will be the Dow, Hately, Stephens, Phillips etc of this draft

My top 9 in terms of ceiling (excluding Ashcroft) with the play I believe they can become.

1) Tauru -> Unicorn/could be anything
2) Smilie -> Cripps
3) Fos -> Heeney
4) Reid -> Sheezel/Daicos
5) Draper -> Connor Rozzee
6) Allan -> Jack Crisp (but better)
7) Lalor -> Cam Rayner
8) Jagga -> Butters
9) Langford -> Jordan Dawson

I’ve done this measure based on their projection should they all reach their potential as AFL players. Should that happen, they’ll all have incredible careers.

The big variable for me is if Langford can improve his first 5m, I think he moves from Jordan Dawson to Bont level of impact (not necessarily playing style)

Who Don't You Want

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allan
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru
austinnn - Trainor

Do Not Want:

Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru
austinnn - Trainor
SteeleSaints - Armstrong & Harry Boyd

Imagine turning two top 10 picks into one and trading out of the very draft every other club is busting their balls to trade into. We would be ridiculed for decades and rightly so, it makes the Billings selection look astute.

It is possibly the worst suggestion in this entire thread, regardless of where North finish next year.
Struggling to understand where you stand. Get off the fence 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Who Don't You Want
Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru
austinnn - Trainor
SteeleSaints - Armstrong
Dard Ball Get - Rubbertits Armstrong

Who Don't You Want
Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru
austinnn - Trainor
SteeleSaints - Armstrong
Crying 😂😂

If you kids can't play nice I'll turn this thread around and there'll be no draft for anyone.
Apologies if anyone's actual draft discussion got removed in the tidy up.

season 7 simpsons GIF
yeah cut it out you clowns,takes me precious time finding where i was up to after a night on the piss when a heap of posts get removed

If I see a Saints jumper getting presented to Harry Armstrong on night one of the draft, then I am going to grab a bucket of sand, put it in the microwave, eat it with teaspoon and wash it down with an asphalt milkshake.

Who Don't You Want
Sarcoidevo - Armstrong
Akaifu - Reid
Gringo - Lalor
Maximus_12 - Jagga
Molten Gang - Reid
Joffaboy - Allen
Dude in swamp - Allan
Enclosed_Animal - Jagga
Stavro4 - P7 Armstrong
Pebblesofsand - Tauru
austinnn - Trainor
SteeleSaints - Armstrong
Broski - 'Lance', 'Neil', 'Louis' Armstrong

2024 Draft Thread.