2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

I think Travaglia will thrive in the right AFL environment, kid can run all day and a great kick which RTB would love and I think his reading of the play is outstanding. Not seen much talked about him on here maybe due to the want for pure mids, but i would not be upset if we picked him at 8.
giphy.gif
I think he has some great attributes. Being a great kick isn’t one of them. He is average to serviceable and often chooses the easy long down the line options. He could be a lockdown defender at worst or a less contested Zac Jones as a mid. Ball use isn’t good enough for an attacking halfback at afl level.

The key to the draft is who takes a risk or needs Tarau?

North at 2 is a reach and I feel too expensive.

Crows Blues and Dee's have their sights elsewhere.

Rich at 6 probably not as there are 2 good midfielder available and they need known knowns. More likely they take Hotton at 11 as their risk move.

Ade and North swap for junk picks really yeah nah big nah for me.

So we are next cab off the rank at 7. I would do our Ffrdp and 7 for 2 and their f2rdp. North I am sure could do a deal with Tigers for a swap for say their 20 for our Ffrdp.

We win North get Tarau at 7 and another pick in the first round which is what they want. Tiges swap a pick into next year which is just good list management.

We get the mid we want rather than last available and then if someone like GWS wants our pick 8 we can move back and maybe get Reid Trainor or both if we don't want the certainty of a Reid Allen or Travaglia Lindsay at 8.

Think Saints need to take the Trainee Receptionist with them into the bunker as the phones will be running hot in the first hour or so of draft night

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
North won’t risk Tauru drifting that low

Am I missing something with North, are their mids really that stacked?

LDU and Wardlaw, 100% centre square specialists.

Sheezel can play anywhere.

McKercher is still unproven.

Thomas is gone.

I don't see why they'd have any issue grabbing another mid, especially a balanced one. Probably don't need another clearance beast unless LDU is gone.

I think Travaglia will thrive in the right AFL environment, kid can run all day and a great kick which RTB would love and I think his reading of the play is outstanding. Not seen much talked about him on here maybe due to the want for pure mids, but i would not be upset if we picked him at 8.
giphy.gif
another reason i hope we split 8,no worse than the giants 15/16,so many very good players after our pick 7,lets have 2 or even 3 more

more pieces in place for when tassie ties up the draft/s,for when zorko and neale and danger and stewart and bont and trealor and sideass and pendles and toby coniglio and jelly are all picking up their pensions

I think he has some great attributes. Being a great kick isn’t one of them. He is average to serviceable and often chooses the easy long down the line options. He could be a lockdown defender at worst or a less contested Zac Jones as a mid. Ball use isn’t good enough for an attacking halfback at afl level.
I guess we see if completely different, I wouldn't say he takes the easy option at all generally he does the right option which isn't always flashy. Very composed with the ball and I think comparisons to Will Day are warranted.
Some see Ducks others see Rabbits.
the-rabbit-is-right-handed-the-duck-disagrees-do-you-see-a-v0-9fhrejwlln1a1.png

Callaghan is fast, Langford is not. Big difference.

He might have tested better, but he hardly plays much quicker than Langford. Langford's speed is not an issue when playing, if anything he looks like a really strong runner. I would take Langford over Callaghan every day... his attack on the ball is much stronger, his ability to get the ball out is better, his kicking under pressure is better and Langford is a real competitor. Callaghan goes missing when the heat is on, he is a classy outside mid but not a warrior.

I see Callaghan as a predominantly inside mid forced to the wing due to GWS depth.

If he played for us, I'd expect him to start in the centre square.

It's interesting and nerve wracking being right on the cusp of this draft, the pundits are all over the place for us.

The Age is predicting O’Sullivan :hearteyes: and Travaglia
The Hun is predicting Smith :cool: and Travaglia
Zero Hanger is predicting Smillie :thumbsupv1: and Travaglia (starting to sense a theme here)
SEN is predicting Allan and Armstrong

I see Callaghan as a predominantly inside mid forced to the wing due to GWS depth.

There is a reason for that, is he is not as good as getting first hands to the ball as Green, Ward & Coniglio. That might improve but at present he projects as an outside mid.

It's interesting and nerve wracking being right on the cusp of this draft, the pundits are all over the place for us.

The Age is predicting O’Sullivan :hearteyes: and Travaglia
The Hun is predicting Smith :cool: and Travaglia
Zero Hanger is predicting Smillie :thumbsupv1: and Travaglia (starting to sense a theme here)
SEN is predicting Allan and Armstrong
I honestly doubt Armstrong would be taken by us that early…the others have some merit

Thomas is gone.

I don't see why they'd have any issue grabbing another mid, especially a balanced one. Probably don't need another clearance beast unless LDU is gone.
You excluded Tom Powell and Jy Simpkin. Norf also believe Will Phillips will turn things around

But I agree, I feel they will be ok with taking FOS as a TT replacement

I've been against splitting pick 8, but I'd very happy with getting Reid with 8 so if we could pick him up with pick 15 instead and have another crack I'd be pumped. Obviously risky move, but Langford, Reid and Trainor would be an awesome haul IMO.
I just keep looking at Melbourne at 9. Just take Reid at 8 and not let another gun mid be taken behind our pick. If we are keen on players later in the draft trade back in with the F1.

I really like the synergy of the playing styles between Langford/Reid. Two high IQ players with serious talent. Makes for a strong midfield going forward.

Callaghan will probably cost us an arm and a leg, he’s their 4th most used mid at centre bounces not including Briggs.

The more I think about it, the more the Langford move makes sense. He’s the complete package, he knows where the ball is, knows how to win it, and is a decent decision maker/ user. Not to mention, we’re taking his Stingrays mate in Peckett.

Thomas is gone.

McKercher will be a gun.

Honestly take Callaghan every day of the week. I love Langford but you take the established talent every time.

2024 Draft Thread.