2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Everything I’m hearing out of the media in the past 24 hours is that there’s no certainty between Carlton, Adelaide & Melbournes picks.

There is a real possibility of a mid slider.

I think we’re locked to Tobie Travaglia and if anything changes in front of us it’ll be Tauru who we pass on.
If we take Travaglia and pass on Tauru I will be furious. We need elite star level players not just midfielders. He has the highest ceiling of anyone in the draft. Given our history if we pass on him he's just about guaranteed to become a superstar. We'd absolutely deserve to be stuck in mediocrity for another decade.

Pick 8. (St Kilda) – Harry Armstrong
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro – FWD, 195cm
Finding some help for Max King inside 50 will come no clearer than Armstrong, the contested marking forward who has proven clinical inside 50 in the back end of 2024.
Armstrong’s understanding of forward craft makes his decisions effective, and he capitalises on each opportunity, with a proven track record of great set shot kicking and standing up in big moments.
Pick 9. (St Kilda) – Tobie Travaglia
Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country – DEF, 187cm
Dash and dare, Travaglia has established himself as the best offensive connector out of the defensive 50, with his speed and competitiveness around the contest.
Travaglia’s intercepting makes him a threat both in the air and at ground level, often used well in offensive chains by hand and feet, and a productive two-way runner.

How easy is it to do a Mock Draft these days.

No consequences obviously, just have a stab at it with no knowledge of the fact.

Leads to discussion but apart from Twomey, it’s as much guesswork as predicting the ladder at the start of the season.

Travaglia (FRDP), Reid (FRDP), Armstrong (FRDP), Moraes (FRDP) & Dodson (second rouround)
that's not a bad haul, but isn't it Trav that GWS are all over?

Tauru, Reid, Armstrong, Dodson and Boxshall would be a really exciting group that's possible from this mock.

Trav, Hastie and Nas would be an amazing HB line in time.
I'm not so sold on Tauru like others. He shows potential but at 193cm he'd need to be something rare to justify selection over a mid.
Why do people keep mentioning 193 as if it is too small.
Curnow is 194, Steven May is 193, Sicily is 188, Waterman is 192, Fritsch is 188, Aliir is 194, Sam Collins is 194, Josh Battle is 194, Wilkie is 191

Despite facing the potential of not gaining access to the best kids in this draft - that sentence alone would get my hard drives searched - we will still have access to two (hopefully elite) prospects.

The draft is a lottery at the end of the day and while we assume the "big six" will all turn into stars, that can't be assumed.
The kids we select can have all the talent in the world but if we don't develop them properly, then good luck.

For the first time in probably 15 years, I have some level of belief that the club has created an environment to foster and develop elite talent. We have all been burnt in the past, but we need to have trust our recruiting team.

Lets not kid ourselves, Tauru and Travaglia won't fix our deficient midfield, and I wish we had access to the prospects above us, but we can't drain emotional energy on things we can't control.

As mentioned before, there is a small chance that Twomey gets the order wrong this year due to the evenness across the draft and the many clubs keeping cards close to their chest. We may even split our picks. Tonight will be must watch tv.

I am currently sitting at the desk of a job that I hate and typing a post on a niche footy forum about which cattle we get from the market tonight. Trust me - everything will be okay, and we will support each player who joins the RWB.

Yesterday, I explained to my partner that I spend my time reading a forum full of blokes who are upset about a nerd saying "you'll pick no mids and you'll be happy." She is currently finalising the divorce papers as I speak.

Anyway, look forward to Mike Sheehan and Mick Ablett telling us that every kid in this draft is a "ripper". Go Saints.

Tiges can take a risk with Tarau as their 3 pick. They control the direction of the draft.
At 1 and 6, they book end the mids with no risk. They can then afford to go risk reward with Tarau who could be anything or average and Hotton who most likely will be ordinary to elite depending on ACL recovery.

They also want to get into next year.

So if Tauru is there at our 7 Tiges will come hard, I feel as Melbourne or our 8 may grab him.

Is 10 and 20 for 7 and 32 a chance.
Is 10 20 and 23 for 7 ffrdp and 47 a possibility?

We take Trav at 8 who I am warming to Reid Allen or Lindsay at 10 and maybe Trainor and Oliver or a young ruck at 20 and 23.

If Tarau is gone at 5 or 6 take mid slider and Travaglia and be happy.

For the record I like Reid and would like to see him on our list somehow.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Why do people keep mentioning 193 as if it is too small.
Curnow is 194, Steven May is 193, Sicily is 188, Waterman is 192, Fritsch is 188, Aliir is 194, Sam Collins is 194, Josh Battle is 194, Wilkie is 191
Rooey was 193 too.

Add in the vertical leap & how well he reads the ball & the Viking is an aerial threat that we don't have in any area of the ground.

Feeling like a kid who snuck a peek of the Christmas presents before Chrissy day.
Two great players who no campaigner can spell correctly.

Welcome ToBeOrNotToBe Tranvilgina and Aelzixhandjob Taurine, two desperately needed racey blondes

To be fair Tauru's and Travaglia's parents couldn't spell Alex or Toby either. Either way I reserve the right to call them Axel Taurus and Townsville Travelodge.

Trav, Hastie and Nas would be an amazing HB line in time.
I'm not so sold on Tauru like others. He shows potential but at 193cm he'd need to be something rare to justify selection over a mid.
Like many, I’m praying for a top tier mid. But although Tauru is 193, he doesn’t even need a chance to run and leap, he just goes up. Plays taller than that. Hopefully he would put on size and then would be a massive handful. It’s also his trajectory that would be appealing.

2024 Draft Thread.