2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Make Up Tutorial Social Media GIF by Peppa Pig

Everyone here trying to convince themselves that Travalgia and Tauru are our saviours.

No convincing required mate.

Our specialty is iconic duos- we are in safe hands.

Hall of Fame:

McCartin and Goddard

Coffield and Clark

Travalgia and Tauru

Season 3 Awe GIF by PBS

Ok I am lost with first part of that article.
What are we planning
Nothing just more guessing and some head scratching crap about teams who want to get back in like GC and Essendon. First question is what the hell would they have to get back into the 1st round with 🤔.

What's the bet we trigger Ashcroft, Lombard and Kako?

Well you'd hope another club has done the right thing and bid on Ashcroft well before us. The other two seem likely though.

If there's a player another club wants at one of our picks, they pay up and we'll consider it? There are a few with the capital to make a good enough offer if they choose to.
Isn't that getting them to trade into the top 10 ? The way it was worded made it sound like what happened with Essendon trading out 9 instead of it getting eaten by bidding on Academy / FS picks.

One thing I really enjoyed about this year was seeing our guys lower their eyes and hit targets. It was more noticeable than previous years. So hoping whoever we recruit has elite kicking and composure so we can continue on that path.
Lyon loves three things above all else in a player, pace, a tank and a reliable kick.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm no draft expert and defer to the knowledge of others on here with better understanding of the machinations of the draft. That said it's becoming pretty clear where we are headed tonight.

If the 6 premo mids are all gone we either pick Travaglia and Tauru, or take Travaglia and auction off the Tauru pick to the highest bidder.

If a team ahead of us takes Tauru we'll take the slider (probably Draper or Smillie) and take Travaglia.

Not rocket science I know but it seems like from a Saint's perspective all roads lead to Travaglia. Those on here who aren't enamoured with the idea (and I understand why) might just have to suck it up. For whatever reason it seems our brains trust are real fan boys.

But if a team ahead of us picks Travaglia ......

Isn't that getting them to trade into the top 10 ? The way it was worded made it sound like what happened with Essendon trading out 9 instead of it getting eaten by bidding on Academy / FS picks.

I think it's

SOS primed to: [trade out of the top 10] AND [make rivals match bids]

Not

'make rivals match bids & trade out of the top 10'

He is 187cm ..... even if you drafted him as a backline interceptor that ain't tall .... he is very skinny as well

Someone pointed out earlier that in reality at AFL level he likely becomes a defender who covers the smaller forwards ... he is not big enough for key position and I don't think he is tall enough for that true interceptor role

He won't become a mid because there will always be players that are better than him in that position

He would be our new Webster or at worst our new Paton

So do use a top 10 pick on that type of player?
How would you rate Sicily’s intercepting?

I see pre draft nerves have gotten to a few.

Remember who we select won't be able to be judged for a few years.
Sinclair
Wilkie both rookies
McCartin and Goddard, spine for a decade 🫣
NWM oh no we should have taken Hobbs.
Billings - Twomey said he could be the best player of that draft
King - a dead set generational player, yet to show this fully.
So there are hits and misses, some from a distance in rookies, some disappointments from high picks.

Wont stop me going full Chernobyl if Draper is on the board and we pass on him or Tauru is on the board and we take Travaglia and split 8, that is the nature of the mad footy nuffie.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Call this pure copium, but I've watched Ogilvie a couple of times today. He couldn't be more complimentary towards FOS, citing his injury and how it wasn't really fair against guys like Smith and Langford. Mentioned Sid too but was sort of dismissive of Sid, when compared to FOS. Also kept saying never say never when it came to swapping picks with North.

The other important watch is Thursfield talking on Monday. You reckon someone talks so much about how in love they are with Tauru if they aren't keen.

As I said, it's pure copium, but those two are giving plenty of hints as to who they prefer if you ask me.

2024 Draft Thread.