List Mgmt. 2024 List Management thread - Trade Targets

What is the maximum (walk away point) you would pay for Bolton.

• 9 OR 10

Votes: 13 7.5%
  • 9 & 25

Votes: 33 19.0%
  • 9 & 17

Votes: 85 48.9%
  • 9 & F1

Votes: 18 10.3%
  • 9 & 10

Votes: 22 12.6%
  • 9, 10 & 17

Votes: 3 1.7%

I know the club's list management has improved since the heady days of the late 90's, early 2000's (Trent Croad anyone?) but they still make some head scratching decisions.

Why did we offer 4 years for O Meara? (Should have offered 2. 3 max).
Why did we feel the need to sign Darcy until 2030?
Why did we give Will Brodie a 4 year deal?
Also, they are both champions of the club but Fyfe and Walters should be on 1 year deals (then extend when needed). There is no way Alastair Clarkson would be giving his champions in their twilight years anymore than 1 year extensions.

We need to be a little bit more ruthless at this club.

What would our team look like this year if we'd offered Fyfe and Walters 1 year deals and they'd finished their careers elsewhere for longer deals? Absolute no brainer. Keeping a team together is much more important than letting important leaders go for nothing to appease fans who want their contracts to be one year shorter.

Also what harm is there having Will Brodie and Jaeger on the list? How is it actually hurting us? Oh no we have excellent mature depth, what a shit place to be in

What would our team look like this year if we'd offered Fyfe and Walters 1 year deals and they'd finished their careers elsewhere for longer deals? Absolute no brainer. Keeping a team together is much more important than letting important leaders go for nothing to appease fans who want their contracts to be one year shorter.

Also what harm is there having Will Brodie and Jaeger on the list? How is it actually hurting us? Oh no we have excellent mature depth, what a s**t place to be in
If Jaeger falls out of the best 22 at the end of the year (highly likely on current form) he has another 2 years of being paid without playing. That doesn't sound like great list management to me. The same thing with Will Brodie. Look, I think they should be on our list for depth, it's just that they should not have been offered 4 year deals.

On Fyfe and Walters, the harsh reality is that, for most AFL players, the cliff comes fast over the age of 33. Ruthless clubs, like Hawthorn and Geelong, do not offer multi year contracts at that point. Tom Hawkins, for example, has shown far superior form to both Walters and Fyfe in the last 3 years, has only been on 1 year deals.

If Jaeger falls out of the best 22 at the end of the year (highly likely on current form) he has another 2 years of being paid without playing. That doesn't sound like great list management to me. The same thing with Will Brodie. Look, I think they should be on our list for depth, it's just that they should not have been offered 4 year deals.

On Fyfe and Walters, the harsh reality is that, for most AFL players, the cliff comes fast over the age of 33. Ruthless clubs, like Hawthorn and Geelong, do not offer multi year contracts at that point. Tom Hawkins, for example, has shown far superior form to both Walters and Fyfe in the last 3 years, has only been on 1 year deals.

I think that the players we have over the age of 28 on our list are hugely important from a leadership perspective. Half of Geelong's list is over 30, if they lose some of those players who get offered 2 and 3 year deals elsewhere it won't affect them too much. We literally need Fyfe, Walters and Jaeger for next year and potentially the year after too given our list profile

Also Jaeger is hugely underrated on this board, he is too versatile and a big body that we need around the ball. We can't replace him with a 20 year old, he is not playing WAFL any time soon

The benefit of JOM which has already been seen this season is he can slot into multiple positions like Aish. He has already played forward, wing, midfield and back this year and also the difference between his best and worst is relatively small compared to players like Banfield, Sturt, etc.

Actually think it's going to get rather tight at years end if we don't lose any players to trade tbh.

We've got to remember Voss is essentially an extra rookie list we wanted normally have (replacing either Kuek or Corbett). Our MSD pick assuming it happens is essentially the same. Worker's upgrade to senior list negates the fact that Corbett is on the senior list.

So we'd need to delist two to even break even then however many more to get enough picks to use on the draft and/or bring in trade targets.

I'd select one key forward out of Taberner, Voss, Corbett and Kuek and delist the rest. For me I'm picking Voss to stay.

Its hard to see Hughes getting a new deal at this stage. He's 30 by the time next season starts and isn't best 22. There's other depth options on our list even if they're not as versatile.

Reidy might not be needed anymore if Knobel is WAFL standard and maybe ready to play a game or two if required next year. Reidy might be a trade option rather than delisted though. Clubs seem willing to pay a future 3rd/4th to get depth rucks onto their list.

After that it gets pretty hard imo. Got to find at least one more IMO out of NOD, Stanley, Wagner, Sturt, Emmett and Banfield. There's zero chance it's the last two btw. I don't really want to delist any of them. One of that group would need to be moved to the rookie list too.

I've assumed the club will use the four decent picks (or three and Baker) but if we bring in some other trade targets I can actually see there being more changes.

I'd be happy to take Brent Daniels off your hands.

Been thinking the same. I reckon we could add a sizeable amount to what is likely a modest contract

The benefit of JOM which has already been seen this season is he can slot into multiple positions like Aish. He has already played forward, wing, midfield and back this year and also the difference between his best and worst is relatively small compared to players like Banfield, Sturt, etc.
That's because the difference in shades of meh is very negligible. JOM adds nothing. He hasn't showed the polish we thought we would get.

His best game would prob be equal to an average Banfield game this season

That's because the difference in shades of meh is very negligible. JOM adds nothing. He hasn't showed the polish we thought we would get.

His best game would prob be equal to an average Banfield game this season

The importance of JOM into our team of 20 year olds continues to be criminally underrated on this board

Actually think it's going to get rather tight at years end if we don't lose any players to trade tbh.

We've got to remember Voss is essentially an extra rookie list we wanted normally have (replacing either Kuek or Corbett). Our MSD pick assuming it happens is essentially the same. Worker's upgrade to senior list negates the fact that Corbett is on the senior list.

So we'd need to delist two to even break even then however many more to get enough picks to use on the draft and/or bring in trade targets.

I'd select one key forward out of Taberner, Voss, Corbett and Kuek and delist the rest. For me I'm picking Voss to stay.

Its hard to see Hughes getting a new deal at this stage. He's 30 by the time next season starts and isn't best 22. There's other depth options on our list even if they're not as versatile.

Reidy might not be needed anymore if Knobel is WAFL standard and maybe ready to play a game or two if required next year. Reidy might be a trade option rather than delisted though. Clubs seem willing to pay a future 3rd/4th to get depth rucks onto their list.

After that it gets pretty hard imo. Got to find at least one more IMO out of NOD, Stanley, Wagner, Sturt, Emmett and Banfield. There's zero chance it's the last two btw. I don't really want to delist any of them. One of that group would need to be moved to the rookie list too.

I've assumed the club will use the four decent picks (or three and Baker) but if we bring in some other trade targets I can actually see there being more changes.
Jones is the other one that needs monitoring, you dont want to be a rookie pick then miss half the season. I think Nod is in a lot of trouble, so is Wagner. Sturt might be saved from lack of forward options but is treading thin ice.

Corbett
Kuek
Tabs
Noddy
Wagner
Hughes

I imagine those names at a minimum and because Reidy provides sort of KPF depth by helping keep Jackson forward, they might try to keep him. I will be very angry if they let Stanley go

Here's a head scratcher. Bailey Banfield is an unrestricted free agent this year. Are we likely to offer him a contract soon or will he walk for nothing?

I'd love Freo to keep him. His experience and effort are unquestionable, and his team vibe is good. Seems like a no-brainer to me. I just hope we don't low-ball him so much that another team turns his head with some big $.

Thoughts?
For someone like Banfield you'd assume it's about security. Never has had the most certain spot in the team, had to fight for everything, now engaged. That seems to suit us fine as well: when we really want to extend a player we seem to like giving the extra year presumably in return for lower yearly salary. He'll probably sign like 3 years.

Just looking at the WA under 18's squad from 2016 that Liam Baker played with and there's quite a lot of successful draftees.

Baker missed out and didn't get drafted until the end of the next year after moving from West Perth to play with the Subiaco league side.

Against the Allies in the Under 18's, he got a shirtfront as he was kicking a goal on the run from about 50m and his parents were there on the boundary line as he went off on a stretcher. Maybe was considered too small.

I think Jake Waterman was the captain of that side on that day, although I do remember it was the big ruckman Jeremy Goddard calling the players into a huddle when the game stopped for Baker's injury.

A couple of seasons ago Ross Lyon on Footy Classified (talking about Richmond) mentioned that when he was coaching Fremantle that he tried to get Liam Baker onto our list.

Baker also played for Subiaco in the losing WAFL Grand Final against Peel in 2017 so it could be he doesn't have much of a liking for Fremantle as there are a few players from that Peel team like Ryan, Cox, Darcy and Taberner that are still on our list. Also remember Zac Dawson had to go and contest at the tribunal for high contact against Baker after the WAFL 2nd semi-final.

I suppose Baker would have more connection with West Coast. Schofield being the coach at Subiaco and now at West Coast and some ex-teammates like Waterman, Rotham (who is probably borderline delist) from the U18's and Liam Ryan from Subiaco, though often these past connections don't count for much and it would be whichever WA based team offers the best contract.

I don't know if Baker is what we are looking for as a small forward crumber, and probably wouldn't be used in that role exclusively, although he played a bit of that role at Subiaco in the WAFL and a bit at Richmond. The assets I see that Baker has is being quick and he has a penetrating kick. I feel like a lot of our players can't kick long or don't want to risk taking a ping when they're in space around the 50m. Only Frederick out of our forward 50m players. Maybe Young and Johnson from the midfield could be goalkickers and Sharp is one that seems to gives himself a chance from that range.

Banfield is a tricky one.

Deserves a 2-3 year contract but if we’re all being fair dinkum he’s one that could easily lose his spot and wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest if he didn’t play more than 5 more games for Freo over 3 years. Could just as easily play 50+ games in that time.

He is a very genuine case of that best 12-30 player on our list. Such a wide spread.

I’d offer 2 with a trigger and the trigger being significant.

Unsure how they work it all out but hypothetically 2 years, $700k. Play 30+ games and can trigger a 3rd year for $500k.

So, 3 years for $1.2 if he continues to deliver OR 2 years and he’s cut at end of 2026.

Something like that.

If other clubs wish to provide him 4 years at say $1.5 total, then good luck to them and him if he chooses security… which he’d be completely entitled to do.

Jones is the other one that needs monitoring, you dont want to be a rookie pick then miss half the season. I think Nod is in a lot of trouble, so is Wagner. Sturt might be saved from lack of forward options but is treading thin ice.

Corbett
Kuek
Tabs
Noddy
Wagner
Hughes

I imagine those names at a minimum and because Reidy provides sort of KPF depth by helping keep Jackson forward, they might try to keep him. I will be very angry if they let Stanley go
Wagner is safe in my opinion. We need more depth players that can use the football or as soon as we get an injury our skills at afl level go down. Wagner footskills against West Perth on the weekend were superb.

My plan is to watch O'Meara closely on Friday and see how many of the intangibles he contributes
'Intangibles'. Right. 😉
Food Porn GIF by Model Plate