Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who will be our first selection on night 2 of the Draft?

I hope we can draft another KP player in the rookie draft tomorrow. Preferably someone that can play both ends, if required.
Preferably a forward not a defender If you pick to many of the same types, it becomes hard to develop anyone with us having to fit them all into the one vfl side.

Also wouldnt mind another small forward prospect.

Glad to see the lad i drafted last pick in the Phantom Draft Keighton Matofai-Forbes get picked up by the smoky specialists Geelong.

Don't think he was mentioned at all on Big Footy.

Gee everything went the Blues way this last month. Remember when it was all bickering and gloom in there only a few years ago? Now happy and professional. All pulling in the one direction.

With Pick 1 Carlton selected B.Cook.

Poor ol' Austin looks sooooo uncomfortable at a presser....he actually admitted on one of the Summer Sessions that he hates public speaking, just prefers to get on with the job.

Love what he's done with our list since he arrived - although next year is going to be interesting given we don't come into the draft until late in the 2nd round as it currently stands.....although the past couple of drafts have shown that there's still plenty of value with late picks.

Poor ol' Austin looks sooooo uncomfortable at a presser....he actually admitted on one of the Summer Sessions that he hates public speaking, just prefers to get on with the job.

Love what he's done with our list since he arrived - although next year is going to be interesting given we don't come into the draft until late in the 2nd round as it currently stands.....although the past couple of drafts have shown that there's still plenty of value with late picks.
Proof is in the pudding, but so far, the ingredients are looking very tasty.

On SM-G980F using BigFooty.com mobile app

We got heaps of guys out of contract next year. I think we will lose a few decent players and end up with more draft currency from that.

So def 1 rookie tomorrow. Maybe 2 according to Austin.

Speedy, nippy mid with future 10 year leadership Tick.

Athletic KPD to learn from Haynes and complement Weiters game in a few years time. Tick.

A "put to sleep Campo's" for not much at all. Tick.

Probably 1 rookie. Maybe 2 if things fall a certain way. Top up in SSP. Tick.

Our wants were projected. And we got them. Over to the next phase of the season. Pre-season.

Video inside carlton draft rooms, Austin's remarks imply they rates Jagga 1 in the draft. Didn't use those words, but gives that impression.

I think he said it at one point. Very good video. Amazing to think these guys live and breath this all year and get one chance to put it into action. They look like kids hopped up on lollies.

Demons squeal that they had bo viable access to Mac Andrew, bid comes for his brother very late in the draft from a strong recruiting club, but don't match the bid

I've seen this argument posted elsewhere and I just don't understand the point you're trying to make.

By all reports the brother isn't close to the same level of talent as Mac. There's valid questions over whether or not he's AFL level. It's their zone so they'd know as well as anyone.

Mac has re-signed to that extraordinary contract extension. They have no chance of getting Mac in via trade any time soon.

At this point they're making a judgement call on whether or not the brother is good enough to be on their list. They're not judging whether Mac is good enough. Other clubs have turned down talent from their NGA. We've assesssed individuwl talent as not being good enough for ours.

If this kid wasn't Mac's significantly less talented brother nobody would look twice at it.

I'm really not sure what the point is.

Decent draft period.

Glad that we got both Camps and even better when other teams bidded for them thinking they were a chance. Looking forward to seeing how O’Farrell goes as well.

Not sold on Jagga, but I don’t need to be if he performs incredibly. Time will tell.

If we don’t grab Clancy Dennis as a rookie selection for a long term position some doubt with the foot injury, i think Gabriel Stumpf 197cm KPF from Northern Knights would be a good choice to develop for the future…
Gabriel Stumpf would be the one i take have no idea if Austin and Carlton rate him.

He’s close with Eddie, surely having him here in Melbourne would have a positive influence and be the right support!! I don’t know what’s happened tho so hope Malakai is okay
His Father died 3 years ago when he was 15 he nearly gave up football. His uncle, his grandfather and his great grandfather have all passed since he lost his dad. I personally like him as a rookie i think although is part of West Coast Eagles Next Generation Academy player

Of all the players drafted I reckon Jagga is the one with the best exposed form against men given he averaged over 27 in the VFL. I can't see any reason he can't come in and have a similar first up year to Sam Walsh. He reminds me so much of Walsh. Just a natural footballer who knows how to find the pill. Seems so relaxed / composed. Ultimate professional.

Hoping the other draftees can make an impact at VFL level.

His Father died 3 years ago when he was 15 he nearly gave up football. His uncle, his grandfather and his great grandfather have all passed since he lost his dad. I personally like him as a rookie i think although is part of West Coast Eagles Next Generation Academy player
I really like him, his rawness reminds me of when we drafted Eddie which I still remember like it was yesterday the day we drafted Ed with the third pick in the rookie draft, I remember reading it in the hearld sun lol.

I know it’s unlikely but I hope we draft him today, the excitement he will bring with our supporters will be unreal and we have been dying for a specialist small forward since Eddie left which I feel he can be. I just hope we can draft him and he can be one of those players that makes it through like the other players yesterday that got passed up by their clubs through the academy selections.

've seen this argument posted elsewhere and I just don't understand the point you're trying to make.

By all reports the brother isn't close to the same level of talent as Mac. There's valid questions over whether or not he's AFL level. It's their zone so they'd know as well as anyone.

Mac has re-signed to that extraordinary contract extension. They have no chance of getting Mac in via trade any time soon.

At this point they're making a judgement call on whether or not the brother is good enough to be on their list. They're not judging whether Mac is good enough. Other clubs have turned down talent from their NGA. We've assesssed individuwl talent as not being good enough for ours.

If this kid wasn't Mac's significantly less talented brother nobody would look twice at it.
The brother of Mac Andrew is 10 centimetres shorter than him....193 cm as opposed to 203 cms ...Mac Andrew is a totally different footballer

Decent draft period.

Glad that we got both Camps and even better when other teams bidded for them thinking they were a chance. Looking forward to seeing how O’Farrell goes as well.

Not sold on Jagga, but I don’t need to be if he performs incredibly. Time will tell.

Tbf Geelong and Sydney didn’t bid thinking they were a chance (we were always matching the bid and other clubs knew that), they bid to buy themselves more time.

Geelong came into the draft late (I think the bids were their first pick), and my guess is they already knew who they wanted and what they would do. I'd suspect they already knew who they wanted, and I don't think they would have bid at least on Ty Gallop if they didn't want him. With Ben Campo, my guess is they knew we would match at that point, and wanted to see us pay some fair value, which when you look at it objectively, IMO it makes sense. And this doesn't change my opinion that since Mackie has entered LM space (and change of CEO), they've become more d* like....

Analysis 2024 National Draft