Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation Part 3

Choosing to watch a comedian perform insensitive jokes is not the same as making those same jokes in a work setting.
Still bar staff there mate. And security. And ushers. Lighting and sound techs. Do "safe workplace" requrements not apply in thos cases?

I'd personally be cancelled if I did it and that footage was made public.

Whether or not Toby Greene or other players should be sanctioned for "doing nothing to stop it" depends on how much responsibility they hold for the event. Does the captaincy apply in that setting? Not sure.
My understanding according to The Herald Sun is that the coaches attend as well.

Wouldnt they ultimately have had the most responsibility in being able to stop certain activities taking place?

My understanding according to The Herald Sun is that the coaches attend as well.

Wouldnt they ultimately have had the most responsibility in being able to stop certain activities taking place?
They left before the skits were performed according to media reports.

The fact it was 12 years ago and noone cared, whereas they would today, tells you everything you need to know about modern snowflake society. My God.
What?… that we’ve become more educated, more ‘modern’ and as such… less ignorant and primative?

Still bar staff there mate. And security. And ushers. Lighting and sound techs. Do "safe workplace" requrements not apply in thos cases?

They do, but at a comedian's performance staff would be aware there's a reasonable expectation of material that could be offensive

In a normal workplace, there is no expectation of that.

Like how someone that performs autopsies is not going to be offended by a corpse, but if an accountant brought a corpse to the office, I reckon a few people might be upset

Nope. Known / expected risks are different. Reasonable person.

If someone ran through the bar-tender with a completely AFL legal hip and shoulder that caused no head injury and just some decent bruising ... they'd be stuffed. Ok on the AFL field though.

In this case if it's not what a reasonable person can expect while working the bar for a private function - could be a problem.

Working the audio at a comedy club, probably could expect to have some personal boundaries pushed in the name of comedy :)

They do, but at a comedian's performance staff would be aware there's a reasonable expectation of material that could be offensive

Like how someone that performs autopsies is not going to be offended by a corpse, but if an accountant brought a corpse to the office, I reckon a few people might be upset
Snap.

Also - given he showed up looking like an NFL linebacker - and we are publically staying ambivalent toward him, it probably prevents an early tactical bid from someone

Because they may have to take him in a strong draft. Assuming he gets past 40 no doubt we grab him - we bought him into the fold for the whole year!

Surely if he is bid on and our pick in the 60’s has come into late 50’s then we either (1) give up a 2025 third rounder if needed (say acquiring pick 50 ish from a team that’s finished drafting) OR (2) just take a small step back next year for our first third rounder used (ie not a big deal)

The only issue is if bid on in second round (perhaps late) - say 35-40 then the second option above isnt possible

So remove the corpse from the office tea room?

What?… that we’ve become more educated, more ‘modern’ and as such… less ignorant and primative?

This juxtaposition you (attempt) to pull off between old-school, knockabout Aussie tradie who swears a lot… and postmodern, enlightened male feminist, is really fascinating. I’m certainly tuning in for more.

Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation Part 3