List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

i am fine with facts...

the facts are:
  • the football GM who knows more than any of us has publicly stated battle's extension is close. he will stay a saint,
  • we have no idea if hawthorn are interested let alone what their offer is,
  • we do not know what contract offer will trigger band 1 compensation. using the mckay contract is outdated information. players since then have had renewed on long term deal worth more. the CBA will go up. clubs are spending more to retain what they have. we have no idea how the formula works.

the idea that battle = Pick 5 is based on alot of moving parts, plenty of assumption and if you take our footy GM on his word its dead in the water.

worth also rememember we have a lot of salary cap room to burn. we've tried for numerous players and been knocked back. i think we use some of that coin on battle.
I love your first point and hope against hope it comes to pass.
Who.in their right mind want to lose Josh, even for a band 1. Even a top 5 pick I would be disappointed. We know what he brings.
As gringo said, we lose him I reckon we go backwards. The one thing that is strong in our team is the backline.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who.in their right mind want to lose Josh, even for a band 1. Even a top 5 pick I would be disappointed. We know what he brings.
As gringo said, we lose him I reckon we go backwards. The one thing that is strong in our team is the backline.

He has to be re-signed. The draft is a bloody lottery at the end of the day, Battle is a good player now, letting him walk to the Hawks would be depressing.

I think he'll re-sign, he seems to love the club.

He has to be re-signed. The draft is a bloody lottery at the end of the day, Battle is a good player now, letting him walk to the Hawks would be depressing.

I think he'll re-sign, he seems to love the club.
I personally hope he stays.

You cannot be a good team, if you are not committed to being a team.

If it is just a bunch of "I's" then you will go nowhere.

Never get a better chance to get two very high draft picks though.
Just got to grab it now, with Tassie waiting in the wings.
One top draft pick a year is just not going to get us anywhere.
Sucks to lose Battle, if it happens, I like him, but come on, how many years have we been pleading for good mids.

The only player that would be a culture killer if we traded him (others may disagree) would be Max, a supporter of the Saints forever. These days it has to be a footy business decision.

High picks have to be nailed and have to be in a good draft. I rate the first few in this draft but they would have been behind most of last years first round. I'd probably put Smillie, O'Sullivan and Smith in at around pick 7 of last years draft in quality. Some drafts just don't have as much high end. I think this draft will have some depth to it but the real cream is missing from this one.

After this weekend we will see the metro country champs game and maybe some players will really step up but I'm not vibing so far. This feels more like the 2020 draft than the 2019 draft.

This is not a loaded question just a curiosity. Are you willing to pay him a million a year to keep him? 900k? What’s your threshold?

I think Battle is a very f*ckin good player.
Easily one of our best...but there's not a lot we can do. From what I understand he's got 6x800000 on the table. That's an excellent offer. If we pay him more, then other guys worth less will want more, & then we end up over paying a team of spuds again. If another team is willing to pay him a million for the same amount of years, then I think it's too much for what he provides. He's unrestricted. Our hands are tied.

100% agree

I put more weight on Twomey than anyone.

https://www.afl.com.au/video/114510...dal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1717548467001

Last 2 minutes. He calls it himself that the possibility and potential is there. No one is working backwards and wishing into existence a scenario.

He isn’t cherry picking and he comments about opposition long term offers.

i find it interesting you're willing to trust Twomey over our own footy GM. not saying you're wrong. just find it interesting where the trust is placed.

the wording used was interesting. "it's close" if he was going to fob it off, he simply would say they're in dialog about a contract extension and hope to get it resolved. that's where I feel the club is genuinely close and it's not just a usual statement to make the inquiries go away.

now in the event Battle does leave. I think i'll be done with Misson as Footy GM. he'll be in the Rath boat of full of it, but worse than that there's an element of nepotism seen in his appointment to begin with.

i find it interesting you're willing to trust Twomey over our own footy GM. not saying you're wrong. just find it interesting where the trust is placed.

the wording used was interesting. "it's close" if he was going to fob it off, he simply would say they're in dialog about a contract extension and hope to get it resolved. that's where I feel the club is genuinely close and it's not just a usual statement to make the inquiries go away.

now in the event Battle does leave. I think i'll be done with Misson as Footy GM. he'll be in the Rath boat of full of it, but worse than that there's an element of nepotism seen in his appointment to begin with.
Has a club ever said a player is leaving?

I think it’s very much acceptable to be concerned if the club told the media it was effectively done in round 2 to think they might be in some trouble 10 weeks later if they haven’t announced anything.

And Battle leaving has nothing to do with the job any of them are doing. Talk about creating your own head canon here.

Has a club ever said a player is leaving?

I think it’s very much acceptable to be concerned if the club told the media it was effectively done in round 2 to think they might be in some trouble 10 weeks later if they haven’t announced anything.

And Battle leaving has nothing to do with the job any of them are doing. Talk about creating your own head canon here.

no but they dont tell people they're close to signing!!!

High picks have to be nailed and have to be in a good draft. I rate the first few in this draft but they would have been behind most of last years first round. I'd probably put Smillie, O'Sullivan and Smith in at around pick 7 of last years draft in quality. Some drafts just don't have as much high end. I think this draft will have some depth to it but the real cream is missing from this one.

After this weekend we will see the metro country champs game and maybe some players will really step up but I'm not vibing so far. This feels more like the 2020 draft than the 2019 draft.
I actually have a high degree of trust on what you say re players, because many you’ve spoken about targeting in the past etc have really turned out well - you obviously are quite a talent watcher around the various comps and I am definitely not.

Nevertheless, last years draft is gone.
It’s like continuing to mourn Billings/Bont, Paddy/Petracca etc, no help at all.

All we can do is move forward - and hope like hell the drafting team know what they are doing this time round. The last couple of drafts have been good (not telling you anything you don’t know) let’s see what SOS and Dalrymple and the rest can do.

The players may not be exactly as good, although who really knows considering where some players who landed up stars of the game were picked, but the likelihood of the higher picks being the best has to be taken into account. I’m very nervous about the gift package Tassie are going to get. We’ve been there, done that before.

I’d rather risk it, all chips in this year and maybe it’s not necessary next year. Despite everything I’ve said, it’s a moot point I guess, because it’s all in Josh Battle’s hands.

Yeah, it’s a tough one.
I love Josh, he gives it everything.
The backline is the strongest and they work so well together.

On the other hand (luckily we only have two) is it not easier to replace a backman? Do we have some, granted raw, waiting in the wings?

And how, how, how do we ever improve our midfield at a quicker pace than one very good one per year? Especially when players are not falling over themselves to come to us. Hopefully the team are looking at mids in other teams not getting games a la Steele, but there’s no guarantee.

Just glad I’m not the one making the decisions.

The way I look at it is if Battle was contracted and a team offered us pick 5/6 in a trade for battle would I take it?

Most definitely!

We have to do something, we have to bring in some top end midfielders for once.

With Tassie coming in soon the pool of talent is only going to get smaller and good players will just jump ship for teams regularly in the 8.

Yes, letting battle go and drafting a kid is a risk. But I'd rather we take a risk then continue the slow death by a thousand cuts we have been experiencing for nearly 15 years.

Yes, we let bj and dal go in compromised drafts (stupid) so better to do it now (battle) before Tassie comes in.

Mini drafts, and underage selections will begin 2026/2027.

It's time to make a move gents or we'll be enjoying another 15 years doing F all.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

How much would you be prepared to offer? What else could he do?
That’s bloody good money. Maybe they can raise it a little, but they’ve also got to be sensible.
The decision is pretty much Battle’s.
Not sure nepotism, whether there is or isn’t, has anything to do with this decision.

The way I look at it is if Battle was contracted and a team offered us pick 5/6 in a trade for battle would I take it?

Most definitely!

We have to do something, we have to bring in some top end midfielders for once.

With Tassie coming in soon the pool of talent is only going to get smaller and good players will just jump ship for teams regularly in the 8.

Yes, letting battle go and drafting a kid is a risk. But I'd rather we take a risk then continue the slow death by a thousand cuts we have been experiencing for nearly 15 years.

Yes, we let bj and dal go in compromised drafts (stupid) so better to do it now (battle) before Tassie comes in.

Mini drafts, and underage selections will begin 2026/2027.

It's time to make a move gents or we'll be enjoying another 15 years doing F all.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app
The pick 5/6 thing is great on paper but the issues are 1. It relies on us finishing bottom four or five which isn't a guarantee, in fact if we win tomorrow we'll be up to twelfth 2. It's highly unlikely that he'll trigger that kind of compo.

And despite all that and that it's very unlikely, the chances of actually drafting a guy as good as him at that pick aren't exactly high either.

It just seems like a dumb play to me.