List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Would be pure speculation on my part but given I don’t disagree with anything you’ve said there and the dogs spent a 1st rounder on him, is there a non-footy issue?

They invested heavily to get him and he sat behind arty jones, lachie McNeil, laitham vandemeer and Harvey gallagher.

Not like there wasn’t a spot for him next to Weightman if he was good enough
No idea, would also need to know their list issue. Sometimes coaches just don't like a player for whatever reason.

I don't know him well at all. I would say maybe team things? Does he not run both ways? Does he not chase and tackle? Does he let half back flankers go too easily? His stats are forward trending so you would think he is going ok.

It probably just comes down to the coach not rating him.

I'd rather see him used elsewhere on the ground firstly to see how he goes, but if the club is set on him playing down back imo he needs to increase his size and strength considerably. His leap and judgement is fairly good, but he gets rag dolled by everybody. Similar to early days Josh Battle tbh
I remain of the opinion he's somewhat lighter by choice due to constantly trying to ramp his mobility and endurance.

I think his 2019 junior work shows he had already made the grade in the midfield, and that's where he enjoys his footy. Putting him in defence makes him have to strongly curtail his natural game, and putting him in attack leans towards him having to focus on his aerial game in a direct contest, which he'd have to change body shape for.

But the second he starts doing that, you lose a lot of his ground level ability, his agility, and his ability to continuously accelerate, and that's how he likes to play, and it suits playing around stoppages. He's clearly not a nervous wreck or incapable of learning, I think the coaches aren't separating the consequences of lesser motivation from systemic issues with a player.

Kemp's biggest concern is how he kicks when at full tilt, and that's pretty much it. He's not a brute for his height, but he is otherwise a complete player. Put him in the middle, and get him and Crippa on the same page.

Don’t know why we didn’t pick him up middle of last season when we had a chance to, so yes he’s a chance

Probably because we wanted to be able to have Docherty return if he was able - to take a second MSD pick would have been on the back of Doc's LTI I believe. Seemed a strange decision at the time but made sense once Doc's possible return came to light.

I remain of the opinion he's somewhat lighter by choice due to constantly trying to ramp his mobility and endurance.

I think his 2019 junior work shows he had already made the grade in the midfield, and that's where he enjoys his footy. Putting him in defence makes him have to strongly curtail his natural game, and putting him in attack leans towards him having to focus on his aerial game in a direct contest, which he'd have to change body shape for.

But the second he starts doing that, you lose a lot of his ground level ability, his agility, and his ability to continuously accelerate, and that's how he likes to play, and it suits playing around stoppages. He's clearly not a nervous wreck or incapable of learning, I think the coaches aren't separating the consequences of lesser motivation from systemic issues with a player.

Kemp's biggest concern is how he kicks when at full tilt, and that's pretty much it. He's not a brute for his height, but he is otherwise a complete player. Put him in the middle, and get him and Crippa on the same page.
remember watching his first game at VFL level after the layoff, thought he'd start in defence but his skill set was easily transferable to midfield.

IRC he played predominantly at half back and was struck by how comfortable he seemed, how easily he positioned himself to be an option (or close space) and how intuitively he seemed to pick a damaging option when in possession.

Happy for him to play forward as long as he retains agility and mobility coz I reckon he could be very potent as a point of difference rolling through midfield. Provides another weapon, but could also be used as a response to shake up the mix if we're getting beaten in there.

Look regardless whether he plays forward, mid, back or waterboy, I'm just glad he didn't go to the Aints.

Alex Witherden would be another nice option to look at. I'm a bit surprised that West Coast delisted him. He has played 53 games in the last three years in the backlines of a bad team. He has only just turned 26.

Witho had so much potential but just cannot kick the ball. No impact at all. Can rack it up but would be pure depth in an area we have heaps of it.

I'd rather Lucas on the list tbh.

Sorry in advance if Liam McMahon has been mentioned as a possible 2025 player but I read on SEN that McMahon plays for our Carlton VFL team and was originally a 2nd round No. 31 pick in 2020 for the Pies. I have heard good things about him as he kicked 45 goals form 16 games and I think the Blues are going to rookie him year. Does he have the goods to make a difference for for us in 2025 ? Thanks in advance.
I was hoping we would pick him up in the MSD, he's quick and nimble for his size.
He's got different movement than most and can make the difficult look easy, all be it at a level below (VFL).
Could be a diamond in the rough type of selection, reminds me a lot of Jarrad Waite tbh.

He is about a tenth of the player Newman is. Same ability to get the ball but can't kick and can't defend.

I was hoping we would pick him up in the MSD, he's quick and nimble for his size.
He's got different movement than most and can make the difficult look easy, all be it at a level below (VFL).
Could be a diamond in the rough type of selection, reminds me a lot of Jarrad Waite tbh.
Yes can see the JW comparison, less physical and versatile than JW but certainly capable both ends of the ground. Not sure he has the tricks to make it as an AFL forward but for a late pick, rookie or SSP worth the gamble.

Tom Clurey from Port has been delisted with a year to run on his contract siting he is pursuing another club.

I wonder if we're interested/linked with the Voss connection.

He is a key defender. 30yo. 193cm.

Tom Clurey from Port has been delisted with a year to run on his contract siting he is pursuing another club.

You'd imagine he's headed straight to the Saints.

Clurey would be a good get for us. Can be that defensive second tall. Get on the phone Voss. Make yourself useful.

Also from your unattributed source that you've tried to quote our of context:

As you can see, he split time between midfield and forward in what little NAB League he played in 2019, averaging just shy of 5 clearances a game.

At the Champs, his first two games were in defence due to coaching fears around their defensive stocks, but he dominated the games, stringing up intercepts and bolting out of defence with the ball.

Here's game 3:

27 disposals, 5 clearances, and a game winning goal.

So arguably the top key position prospect coming into the year went to work on his endurance base and forced his way into the midfield, then did it again at the highest level.

In summary: you have this wrong, though that should have been obvious given what you quoted.

IMO Under 18 draft scouting reports are useful until the players start playing league footy and then they are largely redundant as it’s very difficult translating junior abilities successfully to senior footy.

Whilst it’s possible he could become a good midfielder, Kemp would need a significant step change in all aspects of his game to do so. I’d put the chances of that happening at 25-30% probability.

IMO Under 18 draft scouting reports are useful until the players start playing league footy and then they are largely redundant as it’s very difficult translating junior abilities successfully to senior footy.

Whilst it’s possible he could become a good midfielder, Kemp would need a significant step change in all aspects of his game to do so. I’d put the chances of that happening at 25-30% probability.
Name literally anything you're referring to, please.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃