Player Watch #30 Tom McCartin

Tom McCartin.jpg
Tom McCartin

Player Profile

In an indication of Tom McCartin’s rapid rise, the young Sydney Swans forward had played 34 AFL games by the end of his teenage years – and that was despite being the youngest player in the league in his debut 2018 season. The Geelong Falcons product has a brilliant marking ability and presents a tall target inside 50, although coach John Longmire has also used him as a key defender. McCartin is the younger brother of number one 2014 AFL Draft pick Paddy, who played 35 AFL games with St Kilda.

Tom McCartin

DOB: 30 December 1999
DRAFT: 2017
RECRUITED FROM: St Joseph's (Vic)/St Joseph's, Geel (Vic)/Geel Gram (Vic)/Geel U18

Last edited by a moderator:

This suspension is a joke. It shouldn’t have even been a free.

McCartin correctly followed the bounce of the ball while keeping his body low - perfect technique.

The Adelaide player kept running straight and hit McCartin, head first, seeking to drew the free.

By the time the Adelaide player hit McCartin, McCartin already had his back turned to him and was facing the ball. I took screen shots and here is the link if you correctly don’t automatically trust a freeze frame - Link

At the very worst, it is a football incident. If the Adelaide player wasn’t planning on staging and actually hit McCartin with some force, it should have been a free to McCartin for a hit in the back. It’s not McCartin fault that he is not soft as * like the Adelaide player.

We should appeal. The AFL is a farce.
Just going to post this here :)

That is a pretty damning finding from the tribunal on the MRO.
I honestly reckon that Christian bloke just follows whatever the media hacks are raving about and issues his suspensions on that. These findings absolutely make a joke of Christians findings.

The Adelaide supporters will have steam coming out of their ears.

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Season 5 Jello GIF by Friends

I said the other day it was a footy act. Not a bump where he deviates to hit McAdam. He actually tried to deviate away from him as the ball does the same. He went the way of the ball and McAdam tried to do the same but actually collided with McCartin. There was no intent, no recklessness just McAdam colliding with the taller man and his head hitting Tom's torso due to his legs being bent to brace & turn. Total accident.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app

You ripper! He's playing bloody well too lately.. I said at the time it was stupid of Tom, but maybe was a total accident. Josh Jenkins smugly and confidently said on SEN today he won't be getting off. Suck on that wanka!!

You never want a player to end up with a broken cheekbone and that part of it is a shame but as suggested it was a footy action that was brought on be the random bounce of the pill.

Common sense here as I can’t think of a time that McCartin has done anything untoward on the field and just seems a pure footy focussed guy.

It’s also a shame this was put up to have to hear the of course he got off he’s from Sydney the AFL’s love child. We all know that’s far from the truth but it sucks hearing it over and over from clueless supporters

You never want a player to end up with a broken cheekbone and that part of it is a shame but as suggested it was a footy action that was brought on be the random bounce of the pill.

Common sense here as I can’t think of a time that McCartin has done anything untoward on the field and just seems a pure footy focussed guy.

It’s also a shame this was put up to have to hear the of course he got off he’s from Sydney the AFL’s love child. We all know that’s far from the truth but it sucks hearing it over and over from clueless supporters

The fact that McCartin got the same penalty that Kosi Pickett deliberate action got shows how incompetent Michael Christian is.

Player Watch #30 Tom McCartin