Certified Legendary Thread 4th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy December 26-30 1000hrs @ the MCG

Who will win?

I think maybe you are a little like myself. I've followed the game a long time, I used to put all this crap behind me, but I have grown awfully tired of Poms and Indians coming to Australia and playing the same old song about Australians being cheats, etc, and gaining sympathy from the media, so now I fight back :)

They are more hysterical about it (particularly in the subcontinent) that’s pretty undeniable but you don’t recall decades of whinging about doctored pitches even when they are just pitches that turn like any Asian surface, an ashes series where apparently it was because England chewed mints illegally - something that wasn’t even against the rules in theory at the time - it was long acknowledged that players would chew gum to maintain saliva so they could shine the ball.
Ball changes that were within rules (yes of course England were angling for a different one no argument there but if it passes through the rings it doesn’t happen) substandard groundskeeping practices etc.

Aussies love a good whinge as well mate. Every team’s fans do. Hell NZ would be the undefeated world champions across formats if you believed Plugger

It is too small and round for my liking and the elevation used for telecasts is too low.

Lovely for cricket and Rugby though.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
God yes the central low camera position at the SCG for AFL is dreadful and the weird angle effect to the right of screen it's like SANFL games broadcast from Alberton Oval. Amatuer Hour.

It is too small and round for my liking and the elevation used for telecasts is too low.

It's not that much smaller than the MCG (5m shorter and 5m narrower). It's also as "round" as the MCG - actually both are more round-ish than actually round.

It's pretty much the same size as the Gabba, yet no-one says that is too small.

The problem is that it used to be small (the 45m arc lines were accurate), but it has gradually been made longer when ground improvements occurred. But people don't seem to realize that and still live with the "small ground" mentality.

This article sets things out quite well:

Ours was Test cricket, pink ball tests are mickey mouse.
It's all about the money, Gather round for example.
Ever tried to buy a ticket for Gather Round - if you don't hurry, they're about as rare as Essendon finals wins :).

It's not that much smaller than the MCG (5m shorter and 5m narrower). It's also as "round" as the MCG - actually both are more round-ish than actually round.

It's pretty much the same size as the Gabba, yet no-one says that is too small.

The problem is that it used to be small (the 45m arc lines were accurate), but it has gradually been made longer when ground improvements occurred. But people don't seem to realize that and still live with the "small ground" mentality.

This article sets things out quite well:
Well in the current catchphrase, it must be an optical illusion due to the shitty camera position

I think that is what leads to the impression that it is a small ground, yes. It even alludes to that in the article I linked to.

I've been to the ground numerous times to watch the footy, and it's a great experience - particularly when the ground is full. But TV wise it leaves a bit to be desired, acknowledged.

Ever tried to buy a ticket for Gather Round - if you don't hurry, they're about as rare as Essendon finals wins :).
Apart from Adelaide oval, what holds more than 12,000?
Moorabbin would have more capacity and is an actual football ground compared to that abomination we get with soccer style wings.
I absolutely detest this Gather round idiocy.

We have great grounds in every football playing state, but play for points on grounds not even up to VFL standards.

Don't get me wrong, Adelaide city is charming, Adelaide Oval is world class, but the other grounds are atrocious.

I think that is what leads to the impression that it is a small ground, yes. It even alludes to that in the article I linked to.

I've been to the ground numerous times to watch the footy, and it's a great experience - particularly when the ground is full. But TV wise it leaves a bit to be desired, acknowledged.
Have to admit, haven't been there since the 80's so will bow to your greater knowledge.

I feel the Jaiswal dismissal controversy comes from most having lost sight of what DRS was introduced for. Preventing howlers.

Indian fans who're upset aren't disappointed because they think he didn't hit it, they're upset that a technology fumble didn't result in them getting a let off. It's the argument that we should be using consistency with the DRS at all times, even if it leads to an incorrect decision which is a terrible road to go down.

The fact is, this was actually one of DRS' better moments. He clearly hit it based on an obvious deflection and technology wasn't even needed.

I feel the Jaiswal dismissal controversy comes from most having lost sight of what DRS was introduced for. Preventing howlers.

Indian fans who're upset aren't disappointed because they think he didn't hit it, they're upset that a technology fumble didn't result in them getting a let off. It's the argument that we should be using consistency with the DRS at all times, even if it leads to an incorrect decision which is a terrible road to go down.

The fact is, this was actually one of DRS' better moments. He clearly hit it based on an obvious deflection and technology wasn't even needed.
Bingo - it kissed the stickers and flicked his glove - nothing was going to show on snicko

Lol, Boycott just popped up on my YouTube feed crying like his slapped wife about Bairstow from a year ago.

Reminds me of the entitlement of this opposition and how precious they are. Barstow was fairly out but they cried like children about it.
Jaiswal was clearly and fairly out and millions of them cried like children about it.

What is it with this lesser nation's when a barsman is out legitimately? Do they want special conditions because we keep winning against them?

Oh well at least English and Indians have their rivers of salty tears in common.

Certain irony in you calling other teams' supporters salty when you were still sooking about Stuart Broad ten years later....

1000003272.png

Certain irony in you calling other teams' supporters salty when you were still sooking about Stuart Broad ten years later....

View attachment 2196195
Wow what ahead life you must lead.

I actually liked Broad, and considering in your sad lonely existence you trawl members posts from 2 years ago, totally out of context, find where I say on numerous posts, it's not the batsman's job to make decisions. Said it about the Jaiswal standing his ground.
Yeah ironic in an Alanis Morrisette way, but it does not detract in any way the original post.
Happy trawling posts 4chan boy.

I wanted to call out Nathan Lyon's batting performance in the last innings.

I've always felt he had runs in him as a tail ender, but he's sometimes not seemed to value his wicket much, and has fallen hitting out.

This test, he absolutely blew me away with his diligence, and I feel that last wicket partnership was a massive factor in giving Australia a chance to win.

If they hadn't scored so many runs, and soaked up the clock, with Starc and Marsh's injuries, the job would have been much more difficult, the target would have been much smaller, and the time to get them so much more.

I've been critical of his bowling recently, but I reckon his efforts with the bat were superb this test.

Well done Nathan.

The SCG is a great cricket venue, filled with history and tradition but it's a hopeless ground for rectangular sports.

Just not worth risking after playing 4 tests & a short break.

It's not like we don't have other quicks.

Time to give Jhye Richardson a go.

Also, Webster just has to come in for Marsh. If he is so important for the team off field, make him 12th man!

Apart from Adelaide oval, what holds more than 12,000?
Moorabbin would have more capacity and is an actual football ground compared to that abomination we get with soccer style wings.
I absolutely detest this Gather round idiocy.

We have great grounds in every football playing state, but play for points on grounds not even up to VFL standards.

Don't get me wrong, Adelaide city is charming, Adelaide Oval is world class, but the other grounds are atrocious.

Prospect Oval has 20K capacity
Elizabeth Oval has 18K capacity.
Glenelg Oval has 15K capacity
Woodville Oval has 15K capacity

Just not worth risking after playing 4 tests & a short break.

It's not like we don't have other quicks.

Time to give Jhye Richardson a go.

Also, Webster just has to come in for Marsh. If he is so important for the team off field, make him 12th man!

McGrath thinks it is.

Carey is sure he'll play.

listening to Okeefe and Haddin last night describing the SCG as the best stadium in Australia :drunk:

Its a woeful AFL ground and an average cricket stadium. Not to mention the sluggish pitch and ordinary weather.
Adelaide oval is a far better cricket venue
Yeah, I'm biased but Adelaide Oval is a beautiful viewing stadium & awesome atmosphere.

So much better since upgrading & moving football from football Park.

Also, South Australians turn up to AO far more than NSW people do to the SCG, despite much lower population.

McGrath thinks it is.

Carey is sure he'll play.

Pity the medical staff don't have the same input as teammates & past players...

Yeah, I'm biased but Adelaide Oval is a beautiful viewing stadium & awesome atmosphere.

So much better since upgrading & moving football from football Park.

Also, South Australians turn up to AO far more than NSW people do to the SCG, despite much lower population.
Footy Park was dire. I gave up going to the footy when you had to schlep down there.

I wanted to call out Nathan Lyon's batting performance in the last innings.

I've always felt he had runs in him as a tail ender, but he's sometimes not seemed to value his wicket much, and has fallen hitting out.

This test, he absolutely blew me away with his diligence, and I feel that last wicket partnership was a massive factor in giving Australia a chance to win.

If they hadn't scored so many runs, and soaked up the clock, with Starc and Marsh's injuries, the job would have been much more difficult, the target would have been much smaller, and the time to get them so much more.

I've been critical of his bowling recently, but I reckon his efforts with the bat were superb this test.

Well done Nathan.
Good call. No where near enough credit paid to this. Boland also epic in how long he lasted in second innings. Gave us back the initiative and just about snuffed India's chance of winning out.

Certified Legendary Thread 4th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy December 26-30 1000hrs @ the MCG