Certified Legendary Thread 4th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy December 26-30 1000hrs @ the MCG

Who will win?

Footy Park was dire. I gave up going to the footy when you had to schlep down there.
Yeah, was way past it's used by date... & not as convenient location wise.

Meanwhile Adelaide Oval was half complete.

Fortunately common sense prevailed having 1 quality stadium over 2 average ones.

The member's at Adelaide Oval was becoming less quaint and more crap in the end too. Whoever managed to bring the SANFL, Port and the SACA to the same point should probably be heading over the Middle East right now.

The Crows were dragged kicking and screaming from the beige bowl at West Lakes, if it were up to them that ridiculous upgrade would've taken place there.. as Demetriou said at the time you are not putting lipstick on that pig.

They are more hysterical about it (particularly in the subcontinent) that’s pretty undeniable but you don’t recall decades of whinging about doctored pitches even when they are just pitches that turn like any Asian surface, an ashes series where apparently it was because England chewed mints illegally - something that wasn’t even against the rules in theory at the time - it was long acknowledged that players would chew gum to maintain saliva so they could shine the ball.
Ball changes that were within rules (yes of course England were angling for a different one no argument there but if it passes through the rings it doesn’t happen) substandard groundskeeping practices etc.

Aussies love a good whinge as well mate. Every team’s fans do. Hell NZ would be the undefeated world champions across formats if you believed Plugger

That’s a true and fair but we don’t deify our players and are very harsh on them when they go too far and ‘cross the line’ - it’s also undeniable that the Indian fans, cricket media machine and administration go to absurd lengths to protect their players from any accountability…I feel that’s the important distinction in this current round of drama 👍

Apart from Adelaide oval, what holds more than 12,000?
Moorabbin would have more capacity and is an actual football ground compared to that abomination we get with soccer style wings.
I absolutely detest this Gather round idiocy.

We have great grounds in every football playing state, but play for points on grounds not even up to VFL standards.

Don't get me wrong, Adelaide city is charming, Adelaide Oval is world class, but the other grounds are atrocious.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
They play at Norwood Oval because of location appeal nothing else it has terrible field dimensions.

Prospect, Noarlunga, Richmond, Alberton are all good field dimension wise with Prospect being the only one with location appeal. Glenelg has location appeal but it's a little shithole of a ground.

I'd vote Prospect they reckon they can hold 20k, close enough to the cafe, restuarant & shopping strip on Prospect rd, close enough to the city and they've been doing upgrades there in recent years.

medical staff: these scans say you're injured, we recommend you sit this one out.
Starc: I'm fit to play
selectors/coach: he's good to go
Mitch Starc is much closer to the end than most think - he’s a different cat so to speak and this could well be his last SCG Test

Was Ian McLaughlan who brought SACA & SANFL together.

Should have a bar named after him!

The Crows were dragged kicking and screaming from the beige bowl at West Lakes, if it were up to them that ridiculous upgrade would've taken place there.. as Demetriou said at the time you are not putting lipstick on that pig.
It was the Crows who managed to get a better deal for Port, because Port wanted to jump before actually properly negotiating a deal at AO!

I think Sunny is right, it's likely to be a localized rainbow in the middle of the mcg, where when sunlight passes through water droplets in the atmosphere, causing the light to bend and separate into colors which makes it look like an edge. We just need a scientitian to confirm this phenomenon
Just to upset the Indian flogs even more, I hope 3 of our batsmen get bowled off no balls before they've scored in Sydney, and all 3 go on to register triple figures.

]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="western royboy" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Mitch Starc is much closer to the end than most think - he’s a different cat so to speak and this could well be his last SCG Test

Next year more likely you would think. He’ll play a lot of short form cricket once he retires from test cricket though. Will make a lot of $$

That’s a true and fair but we don’t deify our players and are very harsh on them when they go too far and ‘cross the line’ - it’s also undeniable that the Indian fans, cricket media machine and administration go to absurd lengths to protect their players from any accountability…I feel that’s the important distinction in this current round of drama 👍

100 per cent their admin are bizarrely insistent on having their say in particular

Cricket is gaining in popularity worldwide, the introduction of shorter forms of the game is a contributing factor. This is good for the game. However, as in life, with every upside there usually comes a downside. We are seeing a lot more people talking cricket now who, although they love the game, lack basic understanding of the game and appreciation for the rules.

As you say, genuine cricket people (those who have spent their entire lives learning the game) know that the Jaiswal dismissal was correct, and had the shoe been on the other foot, would've accepted it.

The problem begins when we see people trying to create headlines with "controversial" comments, even though no controversy exists. I've just finished reading an article on Facebook from some Indian chap purporting to be a journalist who knows cricket. He was obviously catering to an Indian audience, going through the mechanics of Jaiswal and Akash's dismissal, offering "evidence" they weren't out. Pulpable nonsense of course.

He then went the extra mile that Australia was aided by BAD umpiring, then it became absurd when he suggested Australia could not defeat India without cheating. This is where I get upset with Indians. An umpiring decision is made, the Australians use the referral system to challenge in accordance with the rules of the game. It is then left to the third umpire to make a decision. I'm mystified as to how this makes Australians cheats.

To suggest the reason India lost that Test was umpiring shows a complete lack of understanding of the rules and the game in general.
This is classic Indian behaviour. Claim black is white, use fabricated evidence and a good dose of outrage to back it up, then gaslight by using that evidence as clear proof of the opposition cheating. They’ll get away with anything they can. And if busted, they’ll double down. Not the scam call centre capital of the world for nothing. They don’t really do accountability.

medical staff: these scans say you're injured, we recommend you sit this one out.
Starc: I'm fit to play
selectors/coach: he's good to go
Starc is only injured when he hasn't taken a wicket, pink test he must play.
What scares me is Bumrah with the pink ball, under the right conditions could end up with 8 for 7

Starc is only injured when he hasn't taken a wicket, pink test he must play.
What scares me is Bumrah with the pink ball, under the right conditions could end up with 8 for 7

think you have your tests mixed up m8

I wanted to call out Nathan Lyon's batting performance in the last innings.

I've always felt he had runs in him as a tail ender, but he's sometimes not seemed to value his wicket much, and has fallen hitting out.

This test, he absolutely blew me away with his diligence, and I feel that last wicket partnership was a massive factor in giving Australia a chance to win.

If they hadn't scored so many runs, and soaked up the clock, with Starc and Marsh's injuries, the job would have been much more difficult, the target would have been much smaller, and the time to get them so much more.

I've been critical of his bowling recently, but I reckon his efforts with the bat were superb this test.

Well done Nathan.
Mate I agree with you in part but we have to remember that dud of Indian dropped him at second slip very early in his innings

I wanted to call out Nathan Lyon's batting performance in the last innings.

I've always felt he had runs in him as a tail ender, but he's sometimes not seemed to value his wicket much, and has fallen hitting out.

This test, he absolutely blew me away with his diligence, and I feel that last wicket partnership was a massive factor in giving Australia a chance to win.

If they hadn't scored so many runs, and soaked up the clock, with Starc and Marsh's injuries, the job would have been much more difficult, the target would have been much smaller, and the time to get them so much more.

I've been critical of his bowling recently, but I reckon his efforts with the bat were superb this test.

Well done Nathan.
Yes absolutely crucial partnership. Changed the game and really took an Indian win out of the equation. And knocked all their momentum out of them. It was also the highest partnership of the innings. Wonder how many times the 10th wicket has been the highest in a test match innings.

Wasn’t even half complete. Was a political blockage. Remembered going there in 08, and just walking through the gate to tour it. That’s how inept and garbage it was back then. Was strange at the time.
Thankfully SA did it justice. Prime location, prime land and accessibility.

Donald Bradman passing way made it all happen, as sad as that is. He was adamant against redeveloping.

Certified Legendary Thread 4th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy December 26-30 1000hrs @ the MCG