5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG

Who will win?

Hmmm...I dont know a lot about him, but looking at CI, 31 yr old journeyman. 2 50's in Shield this year. 13 wickets across 4 matches 6 of which came in one match. He's hardly putting up numbers that are convincing tbh, but cant be worse than Marsh I guess, but i feels a bit like the Faulkner/Hastings/Quiney era of awarding mediocre players with a Baggy G....something i really don't like.

It’s basically a selection with half an eye to SL. Marsh can’t bowl near as many overs as Webster can.

View attachment 2196478

apart from the 118 against England he hasn't really done much since, few 50's against the crap sides but not much consistency.. shows you need to play all forms to get the ABM these days.
I mean if we're disregarding an 80 in a 4th innings chase of 281 coming in at 4/34 as a 50 against a crap side what is actually the point of all this?

He can have no qualms at being dropped but like come on be serious.

Dhruv Jurel is a keeper who bats a bit. He has one first class century but played as a specialist bat in Perth for some reason.

K S Bharat the other keeper who played tests recently just hit a hundred for Andhra in a 10 wicket thrashing of the great cricketing state of Meghalaya in the Vijay Hazare trophy. He has a fc triple but no fifties in 7 tests.

Rahul could keep but his consistent low-thirties average performances look like being India’s strong suit in batting this time round.

beau fields in the slips for tassie so no loss in the field, Think beau's bowling is very over rated but with marsh sos out of form the move had to happen.

Still think india win this test with the aussies quicks sore

Bad decision re Marsh.

With Green’s return not far away, why risk ruining the confidence of another youngster when Webster is inevitably dropped to make room for Green?

webster deserves his chance.

while 31 isn't young , he could still churn out 2-3 years if he is up to it, especially if he bowls spin and mediums.

green will make his way back when fit and that may be at the start of the ashes next summer, meaning missing the sri lanka, possibly wtc final (if we qualify) and the west indies tour.

no reason why webster and green couldn't be in the same XI, short term.

part of me thinks that green was their preferred option to open this summer (prior to his injury) as they had already stated that they were running with the same top 6 and that smith was moving back to 4. green's injury happened and all hell broke loose. the stars may align that he replaces khawaja. for me , i'd like to see green @ 6 and then at 4 or 5 when smith calls it a day.

we may well have seen the back of marsh in test cricket though.

I think Pant was dropped for incessantly haranguing Sharma to review appeals, and possibly external voices like Sunny "optical illusion, stupid, stupid, stupid" Gavaskar.

I get he played some get out shots, but he's a bit like Travis Head, you have to take the good with the bad and back him in. He's done the job before, and dropping him seems really harsh.

As an Australian fan, I love it as he can dominate with the bat, though I don't really rate his keeping.

Anyone know much about the replacement guy?
I think you give guys like Pant and Head a longer leash but you can’t just just give them a pass all the time. Both those shots last test were genuinely putrid especially the one in the second innings.

He’s clearly a talent but I don’t think that’s enough some times. They are clearly setting a standard.

no one else was chomping at the bit to replace marsh, glad webster’s got his chance.

pant, while not a bright player, really isn’t the player they need to make an example out of. sharma has been torrid with the bat & even worse out on the field

Hmmm...I dont know a lot about him, but looking at CI, 31 yr old journeyman. 2 50's in Shield this year. 13 wickets across 4 matches 6 of which came in one match. He's hardly putting up numbers that are convincing tbh, but cant be worse than Marsh I guess, but i feels a bit like the Faulkner/Hastings/Quiney era of awarding mediocre players with a Baggy G....something i really don't like.
Averaging 50 in the shield this year and can bowl mediums + spin, replacing a bloke that has averaged 10 across the series. Reckon it’s fair enough

Great to see Starc still in the side. Gives him a golden opportunity to improve upon his woeful average of 40+ at the Sydney Cricket ground.

If Starcs injury gets worse, the good news is that SriLankan series is months away...so plenty of time to recover.

Last year he scored almost 1000 shield runs @ 58

Also took 30 wickets @ 29

This year he has 303 @ 50 already.

Not saying he is a superstar in the making but he has been consistently good for a few years now. Would suggest he is more of a late bloomer than a journeyman

You can add Cartwright to that list

Bad decision re Marsh.

With Green’s return not far away, why risk ruining the confidence of another youngster when Webster is inevitably dropped to make room for Green?

As for Marsh, even if he faltered with the bat in Sydney, there are seven other people in the side who are more than capable of making up the runs. And we’ve now lost one of the better fielders too.

Unless you're selected as the keeper, I'm not sure that "specialist fielder" is a viable position in test matches - and even then for keepers, there's an expectation that they can hold their own with the bat

Regarding Marsh, not only is it a case that he's batting hasn't been up to scratch, but he's also rarely bowling - can't afford to keep carrying him

I don’t know why Australia are so desperate for an allrounder.
since Watson, Marsh has played far more tests than he’s deserved, Green has been carried through some poor form, hell even Hilton Cartwright played 2 tests.

Why not just throw Labs the ball for 6-10 overs of whatever trash he feels like serving up.
Plus it’s Sydney, Head can bowl or even McSweeney.

Where on earth has this cricket isolated meme of 'ruining confidence' by playing people at the highest level.

What's worse for Webster's confidence?

Hey mate we don't think you're good enough to replace a guy averaging 10 with the bat and bowling pies. You'll never play test cricket despite averaging 50+ with the bat and 30 with the ball the last couple of years.

Or

Play for Australia in tests then maybe get dropped for a bloke who's in the top 6 bats in Australia and bowls 145.

I know which I'd pick

I don’t know why Australia are so desperate for an allrounder.
since Watson, Marsh has played far more tests than he’s deserved, Green has been carried through some poor form, hell even Hilton Cartwright played 2 tests.

Why not just throw Labs the ball for 6-10 overs of whatever trash he feels like serving up.
Plus it’s Sydney, Head can bowl or even McSweeney.

You need one in Sydney that’s why plus next series is SL. We need that AR in Sri Lanka where we want versatility with our side- with an AR you can play potentially up to 3 spinners.

5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG