Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon

Your role players have to be able to play multiple positions. Those who are genuinely elite in their chosen position (Cunnington, LDU, McKay ect) don’t need to have the flexibility to play elsewhere.

You don’t recruit an elite explosive ball winner to then play him in the back pocket.

Let him build up his game time in the two’s as a centre square mid. He’ll have no worries forcing his way into the side in due time.

He's there to replace Cunners when the great man retires in a few years imo.

I'm not against giving Sheezel a game from the get go as a forward who can use his smarts - Jaidyn did ok in his rookie year like this, albeit Sheez doesn't have his pace.

Warlord strikes me as the classic big inside mid who needs a few years to really hit his capability, especially with some injuries to manage.

Should be aiming to play consistent quality senior footy in the second half of season 2024.

agreed on the latter and that Warlord shouldn't ever be a lockdown defender, but i reckon i've already heard clarko say that he wants players to be able to play multiple positions at least 5 times since he's been here already. with his pace and manic defensive edge, i could see him being a really effective pressure forward as that secondary role
I like this option too, but I don't think we have as much of a need in that area.

I’d say Cunners likely has about two good years left, so the plan for Wardlaw should be a two year apprenticeship with an eye to be a starting midfielder in 2025. He’ll probably get about 10-20 games before then. Likely up forward with short stints in the middle.

I forget who made this point originally, but if he backs up his performance against the Collingwood VFL side, you’ll have no choice but to pick him eventually. Players with his pace also typically become senior ready a lot sooner. It’s not a Cunnington situation where he’d need to build up his strength for a few years because it’s his main weapon.

Wardlaw in a back pocket?

No.

It seems people are still unaware of the level of talent on our hands.

This kid is a certified monster and the sooner he gets into the AFL center square with some football under his belt, the sooner we win more games.
He's going to be too small to play full timeidfield for at least the next 3 years, maybe even 5. Not sure why people associate the back pocket with low talent. Maybe that's part of the reason small forwards continue to bury us time and time again.

I stand by my suggestion that he would be a great back pocket while he develops his body. His pace off half back would be nice too.

He's going to be too small to play full timeidfield for at least the next 3 years, maybe even 5. Not sure people associate the back pocket with low talent. Maybe that's part of the reason small forwards continue to bury us time and time again.

I stand by my suggestion that he would be a great back pocket while he develops his body. His pace off half back would be nice too.
You can stand by it all you’d like, but Clarkson will play Drury in the ruck before playing Wardlaw in a negating back pocket role.

The Nick Daicos role would be more of a possibility.

I don't think that Cunnington should play more than 15 games next year. We want him to be contributing in 2024. No need to burn him out in a development year. He can play 2 then rest 1.

There will be opportunities for Wardlaw. I wouldn't bother teaching him a role that he will only play for a year.

I think that when he is up and going in 2-3 months his ability and usefulness might surprise some people.

It worked out alright for Rory Laird.
Completely different case. Laird's primary skills were his intercepting and rebounding qualities. No one even knew he was good in the middle until he was tried there in 2020, eight years into his career. Wardlaw has all the traits of a beast midfielder, has not been drafted as an interceptor and rebounder, and his skillset seems a fair way removed from Laird's. In my eyes there's absolutely no point playing him there

Isn’t the reason why we still kept turner on our list is because he is a lockdown defender?

No reason to just plonk him there.

Best option is to build through VFL and then when he gets into seniors slowly expose him to the midfield.

There is absolutely no rush with him and it will work out better in the long run.

Completely different case. Laird's primary skills were his intercepting and rebounding qualities. No one even knew he was good in the middle until he was tried there in 2020, eight years into his career. Wardlaw has all the traits of a beast midfielder, has not been drafted as an interceptor and rebounder, and his skillset seems a fair way removed from Laird's. In my eyes there's absolutely no point playing him there
Actually, you're incorrect there. Laird was down there because of his ability to win a one on one contest on smalls. He was statistically the best in the league in the small defender category before moving into the midfield. It was a great place to do his apprenticeship and his skillset is very similar to Wardlaw. You can check old Prospectus' if you like?

Fair enough. He was still an excellent rebounder and interceptor. The stats will back me up there. And are you really trying to claim that his time in defence was an 'apprenticeship,' as if the midfield move was planned from the beginning? He spent eight years there mate

Playing future midfielders on the halfback line and small forwards reminds me of the Brad Scott era. Atley and McDonald were only doing an apprenticeships down there before making the move to the midfield. Compared to Cunners and Ziebell who spent time in the middle to learn their craft even if it was in the VFL

Fair enough. He was still an excellent rebounder and interceptor. The stats will back me up there. And are you really trying to claim that his time in defence was an 'apprenticeship?' He spent eight years there mate
No, it's slightly different in that Laird earned the opportunity to be a midfielder, just as any other player should IMO.

I wouldn't even put it that way. The cupboard was bare in midfield so they chucked him in there. It happened to work a treat. Was a move born of necessity rather than the coaching staff looking at Laird and going 'yeah he's earned this'

You’re comparing a player that was rookie listed without a clear best position, to a top 4 pick, arguably the best midfielder in his draft.

I think you’d get a better reaction (marginally) if you proposed your back pocket plan for Drury, rather then Wardlaw.

Anyway, there’s just no way it’s going to happen, so I echo Lig in that it’s an odd hill to die on. He’s more likely to play the Daicos role then what you’ve proposed.

same, why learn midfield in VFL when you can play nick daicos role in AFL

he too was a ball winning mid up until draft wasn't he?

Aside from the fact he is a completely different footballer to daicos, one which isn’t suited to a high accumulation half back (or back pocket). The reason he will play vfl is that his minutes will be managed.

Wardlaw is currently unfit for a rookie pre season. I wouldn’t think he will play vfl until mid season, and once he does I’m certain it will be under severely reduced/managed minutes.

Wardlaw won’t debut until 2024 at afl level imo.

Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon