Player Watch #7 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026

Mansell's run and mark on the wing was pivotal in securing the draw.
On the replay, he was the only Richmond player in a zone defence of five Carlton players, enabling his teammates to spread.
Thus Hopper runs uncontested through the corridor.
It was tremendous composure under pressure for a relative youngster.

I've never understood any wraps on this kid. 2021 when he played 13 games on the trot I was perplexed how he held his spot as I didn't rate him. Our kids have some genuine talent and excitement about them and we need to get games into them. I'm generally not a big believer in dropping a kid after one game but I'd drop him 100%. Barring massive injuries or 5 bog's on the trot in the Magoo's I'd put a pencil through his name for senior selection. Our forward line was the envy of the comp last year. Thursday it was completely dysfunctional and Mansell added nothing whatsoever. Cumberland, Judson, Banks and Sonsie are the future stars of our club we need to get them to 50 games and watch them blossom. Playing Mansell ahead of them achieves nothing but detracts heaps. Aarts and Castagna were 10x better forwards than Mansell and they were universally acknowledged as 🥔🥔's. Did fu@k all in preseason too so if Cumberland is being held back for some unknown bullsh1t reason move on. Experiment failed. I personally think Mansell is lucky to still be on the list and not sure if I'd have in in our best 35 players.
I thought Mansell was fine as a defender. Lost his spot to Baker who'd moved fwd mid and back.
Short looked ok on the wing drifting back.
See what happens to Cumberland. Developing other traits.
Miller and Balta KPF to KPD.. and back up ruck.

Playing a "position" in modern footy is a bit of a joke.
I'm surprised that l Cumberland or Carke didn't line up round 1.
But we tend to select 37 players over a season.. Mansell and Dow and others we may have to delist deserve a game or 2. Strange that it's Round 1..
Sonsie is a find. Not sure about Banks.

On the replay, he was the only Richmond player in a zone defence of five Carlton players, enabling his teammates to spread.
A good bit of play . Indeed but if Lynch had missed the shot on goal and we lose we'd evaluate Mansell's game differently.
He has reigned in the white line fever. I don't if that's a good thing.

I think we go into round 2 unchanged.
No injuries is a bonus compared to last year

Preseason supplemental signing, realistically what should we expect from a player that slides through that far?

Specific role players are what they are, he has good speed/endurance and is suited to lock down / defensive roles . His kicking skills aren’t good enough for small back role and we have a number of better options

Still think there is room on the list for the old fashioned tagger. There’s some sides where you know you’ve just got to close down a particular player to maximise your chances of winning

The kick by Baker was centimetre perfect. To a 1 vs 3 Mansell did a great job marking it.

Like the 2022 final we were unable to dominate an opposition on the scoreboard. Brisbane threw everything at us. As did Carlton.
I think we've improved our list but not enough?
I don't watch CFC much DeKoning, Motlop, Hollands & Young are good. (Old man Hollands not enough games for RFC.):mad:

Acres ain't. Dropped a couple of marks.

We're really praising a guy for one bit of play in a 4 quarter game? The first thing he did all night. "Tremendous composure"? Lol the bar is really low for this guy.

Mansell should be dropped and I think will be dropped. He's keep much more talented players out of the team. And his defensive pressure wasn't that good to justify a complete lack of any production offensively

We're really praising a guy for one bit of play in a 4 quarter game? The first thing he did all night. "Tremendous composure"? Lol the bar is really low for this guy.

Mansell should be dropped and I think will be dropped. He's keep much more talented players out of the team. And his defensive pressure wasn't that good to justify a complete lack of any production offensively
100% this
Any good young suburban/country footballer would have done just as well as Mansell did in those last few minutes, however we will never know for sure as a young suburban/country footballer will never get to play in front of 90 thousand screeching fans in that situation. still gotta go and make room for sonz, clark and cumberland asap in my opinion.

AKA The Castagna Defence.
Had blokes on here for the last two and a half years banging on about one incident per game!!
On or two good things is simply below par and what's expected.
The best was when one poster said about a particularly ordinary game ... 'I thought he was good - he kicked a goal'.

In his 300 games coaching career one constant has been there. There's always an unjustified spud in the team. Steve Morris, Pushup Queen, blonde ex Geelong dud who's name I've forgotten, Chris Newman in his final 2 years, Aarts, Castagna and Mansell. This blokes very best is bung average. If he wasn't contracted 99% of supporters wouldn't have batted an eyelid if he was delisted in off season. HTF is this plodder in before Cumberland????? Maybe he's gonna do a repeat of Stewart/ Prestia and belt Daicos behind play???? Can't see the logic in playing a limited 23yo spud over getting games into Cumberland/ Sonsie/ Banks.

Spot on. He will be straight out again next week.

If you notice in those names it's always the limited battler who puts in effort that Dimma plays as a defensive forward. He eventually realizes you need a lot more than that in your forward and they aren't seen from again

Ross/Clarke/Hugo not enough for you? Add game 3 for young and Ryan.

Mansell has lucked out to be in the side But No Dusty or hopper are the issue. I hope Bolton plays a lot of mid time.
I hope we win but if not our emergencies this weekend look strong.
I expect Sonsie to be back in the 22 soon.
I hope Cumberland is not far off.
I can live without Dow

Grant Thomas says hello. 22 spuds ... Beating interstate teams on our home ground. That we never leave. Fans are that stupid don't even know where Marvel stadium
Cotch should have been rubbed out for the Sheil thing,
Never left the MCG. Talk about
having it on a platter.
Dustin "son of evil" Martin shoudda been deported.
Coach having affairs..

Edit: worst side to win 3 flags.
Shoudda gone with focus on footy
Worst dynasty side in my book.

For this guy yes, quit trying to twist my words. This is the Mansell thread after all.

The blinded faith in this guy is staggering, needs to be sent back to Tassie.
Don’t think anyone is under the impression he will ever be anything more than the 20th - 22nd player selected in the side but as far as role players go he does the job
Can play a few different roles and has a hard edge

No doubt he Will probably be squeezed in and out of the side but as it stands the guys likely to replace him haven’t found the consistency yet this year and Mansell is doing his job and putting pressure on them to improve
Exactly what you want out of a depth player

Don’t think anyone is under the impression he will ever be anything more than the 20th - 22nd player selected in the side but as far as role players go he does the job
Can play a few different roles and has a hard edge

No doubt he Will probably be squeezed in and out of the side but as it stands the guys likely to replace him haven’t found the consistency yet this year and Mansell is doing his job and putting pressure on them to improve
Exactly what you want out of a depth player

Hope you're right and he does play his role tonight, unfortunately I don't have the same faith in the guy.

Player Watch #7 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026