We got within 10pts of them last year twice.Essendon are tough to call. They usually drop off around/after Anzac Day, but if they keep playing the way they currently are, likely to make the 8 imo.
Really should of snagged a W in one of those.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
We got within 10pts of them last year twice.Essendon are tough to call. They usually drop off around/after Anzac Day, but if they keep playing the way they currently are, likely to make the 8 imo.
Nah mate - because the free kick count wasn't even it couldn't have been evenly umpired!Umpiring was fine.
I mean, it was s**t in the way that the whistle goes off too often like most of the season so far, but it was at least consistently s**t for both teams. Panicking defenders like Marchbank and the VFL Roo defenders absolutely hugging blokes out of the contest should be penalized every time though.
We'll probably post a reasonable score, while Carlton post a big one. High(ish) scoring slaughter.
Yep, draw hasn’t done you any favours. As most can see, some great young kids coming through. Love the way George goes about it, he’s a ripper. Can see the class in the others too.Thanks
It's been a tough start with 2 prelim finalists & the grand finalist next week.
Brisbane and Cats next
Then maybe a more winnable game vs Hawks.
Not quite, for a while there our recruiters couldn't pick their nose, North has some great young talent.So this is what it feels like to be a Carlton supporter from 2005 to 2020...
LDU was held well early by Hewett, but I think we released that tag later.Umps aside
Carlton deserved to win
Bigger bodies and our midfield didn't fire.
Not sure if LDU was tagged ?
Yep. Seemingly never ending misery until it wasntSo this is what it feels like to be a Carlton supporter from 2005 to 2020...
We have young Will Dawson who we drafted last year pick 22 as a defender.Yep, draw hasn’t done you any favours. As most can see, some great young kids coming through. Love the way George goes about it, he’s a ripper. Can see the class in the others too.
Probably have gone about the rebuild the opposite way to the Blues who locked in the bigs before the smalls.
Need to work towards getting some bigs, particularly back as Pink & Corr are battlers. Need to pick up some quality KPDs over the next couple of years.
You can build a forward line around Larkey but he needs another key big to support him.
Big fella in the ruck goes about it nicely.
Do you have any young bigs that look OK?
I went to the game and it was an enjoyable day out. Far better to watch than the Freo-Crows poo-fest that came on after.Was pretty refreshing to see a high scoring game. More goals is what we want! Stuff defence
I went to the game and it was an enjoyable day out. Far better to watch than the Freo-Crows poo-fest that came on after.
While I'm at it, all of this talk of North no longer playing on Good Friday deserves to be thrown in the bin. A large part of the game is to raise cash for the Royal Children's Hospital - which is right on the border of North Melbourne and Carlton. Happy for those teams to have the game because of this reason.
Good to see someone gets it... $23 Million raised for sick kids, and for the second year in a row the game was a sell-out.I went to the game and it was an enjoyable day out. Far better to watch than the Freo-Crows poo-fest that came on after.
While I'm at it, all of this talk of North no longer playing on Good Friday deserves to be thrown in the bin. A large part of the game is to raise cash for the Royal Children's Hospital - which is right on the border of North Melbourne and Carlton. Happy for those teams to have the game because of this reason.
Yes we are furious with all the 50-50 calls going against us. Thankfully, it made no difference to the result, and the better team won. I hate it when it's a close game and umpiring might make the difference.While I agree that the whistle was blown far too often, North did themselves no favours and were so sloppy.
How hard is it to just stand still when an umpire calls “stand”? Or to not run through the mark? How hard is it to keep looking at the ball when you’re holding onto a forward? How many frees were conceded to a clumsy desperate act when Carlton had already won the ball?
I would have been furious too but not mostly at the umpires tbh.
The better team won build a bridge and get over it! Your team would want to show some improvement at some stage. The Roos HQ at Arden Street would make for a lovely location for a Coles or a Woolies after all!They umpired beautifully.
Got to keep the Carlton fans happy and the crowds coming in.
They were going to win anyway, umpires just making sure an upset doesn’t happen.
The AFL is like the WWE. Scripted garbage to keep the big clubs happy and revenue up.
Never said the better team didn’t win clown.The better team won build a bridge and get over it! Your team would want to show some improvement at some stage. The Roos HQ at Arden Street would make for a lovely location for a Coles or a Woolies after all!
I'm well aware of our problems over the past twenty or so years mate. I just don't think there's any great conspiracy here, and that the umpiring was bad for both teams.Never said the better team didn’t win clown.
But Carlton didn’t deserve 34 free kicks and a the free ride they were given all day.
Typical mouthy Carlton flog. When was your last flag? Or did you forget how crap you were while rebuilding?
There shouldn’t be 34 free kicks in total in a game, let alone for one team.I'm well aware of our problems over the past twenty or so years mate. I just don't think there's any great conspiracy here, and that the umpiring was bad for both teams.
You were overrun at midfield and of course you were going to give away frees, considering the pressure your defence was under.There shouldn’t be 34 free kicks in total in a game, let alone for one team.
Even the most one-eyed of Carlton fans would recognise they had a great run.
Even the commentators were perplexed at the decisions going Carlton’s way.
Enjoy your next trip to Coles flog, maybe they might have a DVD of 1995 you can enjoy?
There were not 34 incidents free kick worthy in that game. You are delusional if you think any differently.You were overrun at midfield and of course you were going to give away frees, considering the pressure your defence was under.
The facts are that a Roos team going at full tempo, were beaten handily enough by a Carlton team that was only operating on third gear.