Preview AFL Round 13 - Collingwood v WC Eagles - MCG Sat 23/6/12 at 4.40pm - Changes and Prematch Discussion

Any open training sessions on tomorrow? Over from Perth and wouldn't mind seeing them run around Gosch's for an hour..
Almost certain to be a session tomorrow morning, we seem to always have a short hit out the day before the game.

Just checked the official site;

Next Open Training Session
Friday 22 June - 9.30am at Gosch's Paddock

:thumbsu:

Good side as is WCE who'll be pretty pleased to have Beau Waters back.

Will be very interested to see how the back line all fits together with the three talls back there, and West Coast us one of the teams that would have stretched you a bit.

Glad we didn't go with Jolly plus Wood, ESP with the three talls back, makes us too slow IMO.

Getting pretty pumped for this one, shame a Selwood is out for them, though Pendles ( and Sinclair and Didak) out for us.

Go Pies!!

Not too keen on the 3 tall defenders in the side. We beat Wet toast with only 1 in the finals. Neither of their talls are really good marks in body contests so height isn't a real weapon against them.
Have to make a decision soon enough on which 2 defenders we'll stick with. Tarrant and Reid for me.

We may be a bit too tall in the wet.

Maybe one of Tarrant or Reid could be sub? Both are versatile types that could play anywhere except on ball when subbed on. I know it's usually a runner used as sub but just throwing it out there.

Good side as is WCE who'll be pretty pleased to have Beau Waters back.

Will be very interested to see how the back line all fits together with the three talls back there, and West Coast us one of the teams that would have stretched you a bit.

Glad we didn't go with Jolly plus Wood, ESP with the three talls back, makes us too slow IMO.

Getting pretty pumped for this one, shame a Selwood is out for them, though Pendles ( and Sinclair and Didak) out for us.

Go Pies!!
Do you think Sinclair is just being rested or actually has an injury? Would make sense for him to be rested given the games he has played so far this season

Never thought id say this but i wish he was lining up tomorrow, really like his pressure on the ball

Yeah kinda surprised they're going with 3 talls in the wet.

We need more run out of that backline. Then again, Toovey and Saw are back, so I guess it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Maybe Reid can play loose? Would be pretty damaging. Get Taz to Darling, Brown to the resting ruckman, and Reid plays loose.

Yeah kinda surprised they're going with 3 talls in the wet.

We need more run out of that backline. Then again, Toovey and Saw are back, so I guess it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Maybe Reid can play loose? Would be pretty damaging. Get Taz to Darling, Brown to the resting ruckman, and Reid plays loose.
Toovey, Shaw and O'Brien should be enough run off half-back shouldn't it? O'Brien was one of our better players against West Coast in the finals last year and should hopefully be better with the strengthened backline. I think the break would have done Clarke good too.

The last sessions I heard about in QLD he only ran laps with Bally.

He would need to train in the main session on Wednesday to be considered for Saturday's game.

At this stage I'd say he's doubtful, but things could improve quickly.

I was there he didn't run at all, had light boxing session with Ball

We may be a bit too tall in the wet.

Maybe one of Tarrant or Reid could be sub? Both are versatile types that could play anywhere except on ball when subbed on. I know it's usually a runner used as sub but just throwing it out there.
We won't play a tall as the sub, especially not a key back. The sub will need to be used to give fresh running legs through the middle on the heavy ground.

If they decide we are too tall, then they will drop one. Making them sub doesn't make any sense.

I don't think we are too tall anyway. WC will have three talls in their forwardline, so at the very least we need to cover them. I think we are about right, although I would think Sinclair would be in his element in this type of game, so it is a shame.

Do you think Sinclair is just being rested or actually has an injury? Would make sense for him to be rested given the games he has played so far this season

Never thought id say this but i wish he was lining up tomorrow, really like his pressure on the ball
Didn't he just rest last weekend?

I must admit I'm surprised at the suggestion we're too tall down back. Darling, Lynch, Cox and Nic Nat will all spend time in the forward 50. With Maxwell providing support I think its a pretty sound structure.

I'd hazard a guess that long term when we try to orchestrate that loose man (as we always do) we'll try to make it Reid as I think he could be a tremendous weapon loose in defence with his intercept marking ability and foot skills. IMO his best game for the club was in that role against the Hawks last year when we completely blanketed Buddy and Reid collected high 20's disposals and kicked a goal.

You know, during 2010 the crew I'd go to the footy with would put a dollar in every week, and guess wh would kick the first goal.

In 2011, we dropped the dollar but still took a guess for fun.

In 2012, we guess who is going to get injured each week. Seriously :(

We have 12 'backmen' listed in the side. That is alot of backmen...

West Coast have something similar

Personally wouldn't worry about your 3 "tall". Tarrant is quite adept at playing small as evidenced by his efforts on Lecras in the Past. Wouldn't be surprised to see him take Darling, Brown to Lynch and Reid to the ruckman

So If Tarrant is a late out, you would think Young comes back in.

Damn, that would weaken us considerably, losing Didak, Tarrant and Sinclair.

I still reckon Taz is a chance to play though, they may just be being cautious with the old man, the last training session of the week is never serious anyway, I've seen Swan running laps before at that session and still come out and get a BOG.

Tarrant and Didak both did lateral movements in addition to running laps. Pendlebury only completed laps.

Wrapt to see Heater back in the side!
I reckon with the talls we may either have a late change or Taz start up forward.

Possibly Line up like this -

B - Toovey Brown Maxwell
HB - Shaw Reid O'Brien
C - Thomas Swan Clarke
HF - Fasolo Cloke Wellingham
F - Blair Dawes Tarrant
R - Jolly Beams Sidebottom
INT - Goldsack Williams Buckley
SUB - Elliott

Wrapt to see Heater back in the side!
I reckon with the talls we may either have a late change or Taz start up forward.

Possibly Line up like this -

B - Toovey Brown Maxwell
HB - Shaw Reid O'Brien
C - Thomas Swan Clarke
HF - Fasolo Cloke Wellingham
F - Blair Dawes Tarrant
R - Jolly Beams Sidebottom
INT - Goldsack Williams Buckley
SUB - Elliott

Why? Who is going to play on nicnat or cox when they are resting fwd?

Because a mate of mine was recently talking to Bucks and he said that he believed Taz still had alot to offer up forward and with games where all 3 KPD are named it would be likely one of them would move up forward at stages.

I guess we will see.

Preview AFL Round 13 - Collingwood v WC Eagles - MCG Sat 23/6/12 at 4.40pm - Changes and Prematch Discussion