Votes: 44 49.4%
  • Sydney

Votes: 37 41.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 8 9.0%

Surprisingly, I saw far more contentious ones go Sydney's way. The free kick count was more an indication that only one side was playing decent football.

It was terrible for both sides i reckon. Both sets of supporters had reason to go apeshit at the umps at various times.
Does the game need fixing or does more investment need to go into the ump dept?

On a different topic, it was quite revealing that Longmire said Buddy had completed only 20 minutes training this year because of foot and knee issues.

I saw Buddy live against the Cats and he looked overweight and unfit. He didn't work to get to the contest much either and basically only went for the ball if it landed on him. Shows how good player he is that he can still have an effect on the game in that state, but it has to be a bit of a liability to play him. Don't see why they don't just rest him and get him right, because at his age chronic injuries can be career ending.

Sydney literally were 5 goals better off because of poor umpiring. The Heeney 50 and Buddy's two goals were all dead set howlers of decisions, the two blatant non holding the ball calls in the Essendon forward 50 in the first quarter were mind blowing also.

Two times these came just as Essendon were pulling away on the scoreboard only to have momentum stopped each time, they should have won that match by 70 points.

I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of the frees to Essendon were intentional by Sydney to slow up the play. They were getting killed by run and in the air.

Sydney literally were 5 goals better off because of poor umpiring. The Heeney 50 and Buddy's two goals were all dead set howlers of decisions, the two blatant non holding the ball calls in the Essendon forward 50 in the first quarter were mind blowing also.

Two times these came just as Essendon were pulling away on the scoreboard only to have momentum stopped each time, they should have won that match by 70 points.
Buddy's first goal wasn't a bad decision to me - Hurley did make contact with his head. Only a glancing blow, but the high contact was there, so the free was warranted.

Buddy's second one - where Buddy basically shoved Hurley in the back of the neck - was a genuine stinker of a non-decision.

How Jones wasn't pinged for holding the ball in the first has me beat too.

Mind you, I have no idea what Stringer's free in the last was for either.

Bloody stirring win by the Bombers last night. I love a packed Etihad stadium under lights, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night. Real electric vibe about it. When the Dons are up and about their football is as good as anyones. High tempo and tough tackling with ferocious support to match.

Dons - I applaud you.

Essendon would be that team that just.makes the right, but a team no one would want to play... They are so quick and can score pretty quickly...
if we make it, and its a damn big if, the only team i want to avoid is richmond.
I'd back us with a chance against the rest of the 8, but Richmond kill us with their setup at HB.

Umpiring was a disgrace last night.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower
most games

they are the elephant in the room when it comes to the "look of the game"
Too much guessing, interpretation and baffling decisions.

But, they will never be on the agenda as they are protected from criticism.

Bloody stirring win by the Bombers last night. I love a packed Etihad stadium under lights, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night. Real electric vibe about it. When the Dons are up and about their football is as good as anyones. High tempo and tough tackling with ferocious support to match.

Dons - I applaud you.
Nice one Mac. :thumbsu:

The umpires made some horrendous call too favouring Sydney, and no calls. Buddy was gifted two goals in the 3rd from frees that weren't even there. The first one he initiated contact on Hurley. Several holding the ball no calls as well, one right at the start of the game and Sydney got the first goal not long later.
Putrid stuff.

Haha I actually don’t give a shit about the loss mate... it was always happening. Just enjoying getting a rise out of the bombers supporters. But o actually do think McGrath is a shit no1 pick.
Had a look at the replay this morning , McGrath clearly very good, mcrobie clearly very drunk.

8/10 isn’t exactly shabby. Beat west coast & gws on the road along the way. As a tiges fan, I think you’d acknowledge that’s no mean feat..
That's good form. Just imagine if you won the whole lot.

A: The AFL finds you out as drug cheats
B: You keep the draft picks anyway
C: Win it with their help

A+B=C

Imagine the melts.

I loved how Sydney tried to rough us up early, They've done it in the past and has really worked, I like that we gave it back until we broke them, They couldn't sustain it and we just dominated.

Horse should be sacked IMO, Swans list is moving in a direction where his coaching does not suit.
It's the Swans style to do that. Usually they target a player or players they think they can trouble.
The difference last night was they're usually very disciplined about it, and it looked a bit desperate last night.

It's the Swans style to do that. Usually they target a player or players they think they can trouble.
The difference last night was they're usually very disciplined about it, and it looked a bit desperate last night.

Yeah, They've been doing it to us for years and we go into our shells a bit but last night we responded. I think Dev and Jake are a big part of that, They have brought arrogance back to us, Heppell while a great player and captain for us doesn't have that mean side to him and tbh he doesn't need it with others around who have it.

McGrath, Fantasia, Francis, Langford, Guelfi, Mckenna all have levels to go IMO, We have a bright future if they get the attitude right, And it looks like they are.

Yeah, They've been doing it to us for years and we go into our shells a bit but last night we responded. I think Dev and Jake are a big part of that, They have brought arrogance back to us, Heppell while a great player and captain for us doesn't have that mean side to him and tbh he doesn't need it with others around who have it.

McGrath, Fantasia, Francis, Langford, Guelfi, Mckenna all have levels to go IMO, We have a bright future if they get the attitude right, And it looks like they are.
I think it's unfortunate you left your run so late. Better to support a club playing great footy though. I can see you playing finals but teams that have to pull off the unlikely to make it, never do well in September.
I think Worsfold is underrated as a coach, I doubt pkayer development will be a problem.

He hip and shouldered his jaw!!

Yeah I know, just don’t know if it was that malicious in the scheme of things. I think everybody is still adjusting re the bumps to the head and it’ll take years (if ever) to take it out of the game - which I don’t know is even possible.

Looks bad in slo-mo but it’s a hard one for players.

I think it's unfortunate you left your run so late. Better to support a club playing great footy though. I can see you playing finals but teams that have to pull off the unlikely to make it, never do well in September.
I think Worsfold is underrated as a coach, I doubt pkayer development will be a problem.

If we make it we will be in great form so I think we could do some damage, But i's going to be tough. I've played with the ladder predictor and we can make it if we win 3 of our last 4, We are basically playing elim finals every game.

People will look at the Carlton loss that cost us but that loss was he catalyst for change.

I’ve said it nearly every week, but the umpiring has been absolutely appalling all year. I haven’t been an umpire basher prior to this season. They have been unspeakably bad, I don’t know what it is - perhaps all the tweaking with the rules has finally caught up with them.

No 17 (Schmitt) should not be umpiring AFL. He makes shocking call after shocking call every week. Clueless.

most games

they are the elephant in the room when it comes to the "look of the game"
Too much guessing, interpretation and baffling decisions.

But, they will never be on the agenda as they are protected from criticism.

100% agree.

Am I imagining this or did some Swans knob end really go after one of the bombers players with that faux macho bullshit 'push in the chest and say something smart with a stupid grin on his face' crap for a good couple of minutes in the third quarter?

I played a (very shit) gig at a pub last night so wasn't paying much attention to the game, but seemed to happen after Essendon had just kicked a run of goals to take control.

Do players realise how f***ing stupid they look when they do that while their team is getting beaten?

On a different topic, it was quite revealing that Longmire said Buddy had completed only 20 minutes training this year because of foot and knee issues.

I saw Buddy live against the Cats and he looked overweight and unfit. He didn't work to get to the contest much either and basically only went for the ball if it landed on him. Shows how good player he is that he can still have an effect on the game in that state, but it has to be a bit of a liability to play him. Don't see why they don't just rest him and get him right, because at his age chronic injuries can be career ending.
How long has he got left on his contract?

Four years.

Reports of his demise are well exaggerated, and without underplaying the supreme job Hurley did last night, he's clearly not 100% right at the moment.

AFL Round 19: Essendon v Sydney Friday 7:50pm AEST @ES