Australia vs India - ICC World Cup 2015 Semi Final 2 @ SCG 2:30pm 26/03/15

Do you think that might have had a bit to do with the bowling and good field placements?

Field placement and good bowling does not stop batsmen from throwing their bat around when the run rate required starts to get out of it, all it does is possibly get you out.

Like I said, losing by 100 or losing by 250 makes no difference in a knock out semi final, at least throwing your bat around gives you a better chance to make the runs whereas just continually dabbing the ball around for dot balls and singles for so long just guarantees that you lose the game.

They needed 6 or 7 runs an over, hardly a formidable run chase, actually all us here on BigFooty were crapping our pants at that stage, YET Dhoni admitted that he gave up the run chase and didn't attempt to pick up the run rate because he had no faith in his lower order to support a lousy 7 and over run chase.

I agree getting rid of me was the game changer. That was a ripper, I almost crapped my pants. :cry:

Be thankful you weren't rightfully given for a duck! lol..and I was so close with the prediction

Your prediction played mind games with me so I edged it, but luckily felt short of Watson. Good sledge mate :cry: Why bringing up the past when the man is down. U evil homes

Almost worked though, was so close lol

Was very nervous when I called it a night about 3.45am when they were 0-75, evidently I turned the TV off right before the wickets tumbled. Great to send those bastards packing, would hate to have lost to them. Much worse than losing to the Kiwis in the final.

Yes, it's what I have been wanting all World Cup. To knock India out is the prize, a win over New Zealand would be the bonus. I find the thought of New Zealand winning far more palatable than the Indians. Australia are a superior team to India, as we've proven all summer long.

By the way, I haven't seen a lot of the World Cup due to not having Fox-Tel, so this has probably been discussed before. What's with the strong zone, weak zone stuff? Who would have thought every batsman's weak zone was just outside off, around waist high? Strong zone, fine, because each batsman has their particular strengths, but the weak zone is unnecessary.

India just picked the wrong side.

Dhoni at 6 with Jadeja at 7 and Ashwin at 8 just isn't enough batting.

Especially because Jadeja is a different player on these big grounds and can't clear the rope.

They should have played Sehwag, the Aussie conditions specialist - and his spin is still very useful.

What actually was said ? Besides something about going back to taxi driving. Which is just a generalisation, hardly racism I would of thought.

I was thinking the same thing. I didn't read the entire thread, but I must have looked through at least 10 pages, and the taxi driver reference was the only thing I saw that was even remotely racist. There was a lot of crowing over the win, as you would expect, but hardly racist.

would the racist comments not have been removed?

That was such a crap ending to the game last night. Promised so much early on but India just caved in at the end - very disappointing. I hope the final is much better.

I thought we played really well, there is more than one way to win a cricket match and I think Australia has the talent and skill to beat anyone, we can always have an off day but I think at our best we are unbeatable. Not worried that Warner went out early or that Finch made a scratchy 80 odd etc., Smith and the bowlers did what needed to be done and the Indian team were tamed :D Just wish I was going, I foolishly thought I'd be able to get a ticket today but there are none left :(

Considering he's seeing the ball like a watermelon at the moment, he probably saw the deflection rather than heard it.
No, he actually said he heard it in an interview after the game. Besides he was fielding at deep square leg at the time, so the batsman had his back to him. So unlikely he saw much.

I was at work for the law 30 - can someone explain the Smith Review to me

Is it true he has super human hearing as well as super human ability?

Yes!

Stay tuned for new episode

26227.jpg

I was at work for the law 30 - can someone explain the Smith Review to me

Is it true he has super human hearing as well as super human ability?
I reckon it's the best review I've seen since DRS was brought in. There was no appeal from keeper, bowler or Clarke at slip. Watching on the TV it looked regulation play and miss.

For Smith to not just think he heard something from cover, but to be so confident there was a nick and convince the captain to take it upstairs, is indeed super human. The run-out and brilliant century on top of that makes it one of the all-time great WC performances.

I reckon it's the best review I've seen since DRS was brought in. There was no appeal from keeper, bowler or Clarke at slip. Watching on the TV it looked regulation play and miss.

For Smith to not just think he heard something from cover, but to be so confident there was a nick and convince the captain to take it upstairs, is indeed super human. The run-out and brilliant century on top of that makes it one of the all-time great WC performances.
Is there anywhere I can see this?! I need to check this out!

The best part was that the review system sunk India. Absolute justice.