Autopsy Autopsy vs Collingwood aka the Great Pain Robbery

It seems subbing philips was dumb, but I think he ran out of gass.

Before he was subbed I saw some low efforts from him, just was not able to go. Daicos is just a superior runner and started being playing in a position that makes the most of that.

Not a knock on will, I thought up till him running out of gas he was awesome. I can see that as a role he might possibly be fantastic at, but not against one of the best runners in the comp - will phil has power, but not endurance.

Some great signs. Just a young team that faded.

In 3 years when Wardlaw plays 85% of game time will be amazing. Comben growing as a CHB and will improve when Logue returns. Scheez does some amazing things and X is great.

14-4 frees in the 2nd half didn’t help.

Fall back to our older habits when playing with something to lose. Shallow rushed kicks i50, not waiting for an option to get a better i50.

We just have to be better than this psychologically. Same thing happened last week, you knew the comeback was on the moment we started slumping into our shells and trying only to grimly hold on to the lead. It's understandable, a young side completely not in the habit of winning starts to panic... but we'd held steady and kept the lead around the mark or even improved it for most of the half before the last quarter, so it really shouldn't have collapsed the way it did. Need to address that side of things quickly and then, based on the ability and pressure shown today, we can start to have confidence that things might finally be turning in our favour.

Not helped by blatant incompetence or worse from the umpires. Every soft call to Collingwood, none to us - whether it was Pink having to catch a defender HTB twice to be rewarded, Scott's touch uncalled even upon review, Daicos clearly HTB a few times without reward, or the frankly inconceivable decision not to pay a 50m penalty to Scott when two Magpies heard the whistle and chose to keep running over the mark anyway... that moment in the first quarter where Sheezel won the free but they gave Collingwood the advantage for 15 seconds before realising starts to look less like a goof and more like a Freudian slip in hindsight. The flagrant injustice of it completely ruins whatever objective merit the game might've had even with our choking a nine-goal lead - bad as our backslide in the last term was, it should be obvious that the deserving team didn't win today.

Lots of positives from the first half especially - Larkey's good form from last week setting us up early, LDU and Wardlaw both in excellent form makes for a really exciting stoppage set-up (especially when someone like Simpkin last week or Phillips today negates their weaknesses), Xerri has started to turn his great untamed intent into something much more rounded, defence looks so much better for having Comben and Archer settled down there with their sheer commitedness, thought Teakle showed decent signs in his first outing for us, and just in general the effort and willingness to apply pressure goes a long way to making our attacking flow that much more dynamic. Was good to see us not taking last week's win as a job well done and reverting straight away to bad habits - even when it fell apart late, the problem isn't what it was earlier in the year, where a lot of players were picking and choosing when to put in the effort; now, we're just tired and too fearful of losing, a combination that won't win us anything too often. We probably need to find more tricks collectively, too - felt like Collingwood spent some time working out what was failing and making changes to rectify it (Moore off Larkey for a bit, N.Daicos starting in the forward 6, clamping down on LDU, Howe swung forward) that we then failed to counter.

Shattered, really. We deserved that one, and it 100% feels like it was stolen from us. But the late collapse is absolutely a young pitfall, and if that can be all that's holding us back at the moment then we should rightfully feel pretty confident heading into the rest of the season and beyond - which is something I couldn't have said even a couple of weeks ago. Just you wait and see...

Didn’t see any of the game, out all day with the family but did watch a replay of the 50 incident.

100 percent should’ve been a 50 but Bailey Scott quickly playing on while the umpire looked like he was deciding what to do was not smart.

Shouldn’t matter as the umpire should call him back and award the 50 but I think he gave the umpire an out before he had to make a decision. A more game aware player doesn’t do that.
Great call. Sidebottom or even Daicos would've stood absolutely still and demanded the 50

View attachment 2021486

Look at Souv/Stevo. Zurhaar cost us the game. End of story.
Said it during the game.

But Zuurhar does not have the speed of thought to play as a general play midfielder/HF.
Takes way too long to make decisions, and then inevitably makes the wrong one.

Likes to pick up the ball, tuck it under the arm and try and run through the tackler. Every time it either gets knocked free or he gets tackled.

That being said, was handy up forward.

In 3 years when Wardlaw plays 85% of game time will be amazing
He’ll be something else.

He’s a different beast to players we’ve had.

His intent is in a different stratosphere than other players.

I just wish this would stop happening. When will we run out a game? I’m just devastated that LDU might leave.

Losing like we did today won’t be the reason LDU leaves mate. He was integral to our team today and got to play excellent footy with George and Harry.

If we got belted by 10 goals it’d be another story!

I just wish this would stop happening. When will we run out a game? I’m just devastated that LDU might leave.
Reckon it's just a matter of one or two more good performances as a team and he's a lock. Keep the faith 🙏

Losing like we did today won’t be the reason LDU leaves mate. He was integral to our team today and got to play excellent footy with George and Harry.

If we got belted by 10 goals it’d be another story!
More games like this (hopefully finishing with a W like last week) and he LDUs and zurhaars will be signing on quick smart

TBH I think Fisher, McDonald, Tucker (and to a lesser extent Scott due to foot skills) is where we lost the game through the usual sh!t bombing of the ball to the opposition.
Lost the game because the so called stars got smashed in the middle in the second half. Impossible for back line to halt momentum when the ball,is coming in that often and fast. Needs to be stopped at the source.

I must admit it’s hard to feel that bad, but this is part of our problem we were 9 goals up in the third quarter and I still felt like we would get run over I can’t wait for the time when I can watch the team play and expect to win and not lose every game, this is what it was like back in the 90s.

Having said that I must admit within the first 2 and a half quarters I was so excited and proud, we are building a strong team just missing some parts.

The sooner we don’t have to play McDonald and guys like him the better

What’s the next evolution in the game? For Nick Daicos to umpire the game he is playing in?

Absolutely sickening how protected this bloke is with his soft flopping shit lapped up by the maggots.

In last he plays on and then doesn’t like what he sees so stops and puts his hand up so he can go back and take his kick.

That wasn’t event the worst. When has running past the ball and throwing yourself into a player been a free kick?

I’m not sure how they can take the sport seriously when they deem that Powell handed it back too slowly, but two guys running 5 metres over the mark is ok?

We shouldn’t have let them back in the game but when the umpires decided to interject themselves into the game in the 3rd quarter, you know that there is something rotten in the sport.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Collingwood aka the Great Pain Robbery