Magical_EddieBetts
- Aug 20, 2021
- AFL Club
- Carlton
I heard today that our interest in Gresham is not as strong as it was, and it’s more unlikely we pursue him
Zac Williams has no real history in this role & after a long term injury it makes alot sense to play him as a straight ahead defender, which really is where he has his best career footy.
I heard today that our interest in Gresham is not as strong as it was, and it’s more unlikely we pursue him
He’s worth a future forth - nothing more.My Saints mate reckon Gresh is being played out of position as a high half forward/impact mid. Rates him more as a crumbing small, and that his snaps for goals are very good compared to his often average field kicking.
I'm not against it, but contract would need to be minimal. Depth of pressure smalls could be a point of difference for us next year. Hard to maintain the rage all season with pressure, and having lots of options could be a weapon.
Based on injury history we rarely have a full list of players available, Williams is nearing 30 and coming off a ACL, he would be much better suited to that half back role certainly in the short term, he has missed alot of football the last 2 years.Who does he displace in the backline? I would hope that the back six of Weiters, Kemp, Saad, Doc, Cincotta ans McGovern/Marchbank would become even more settled next year. Then you have Newman, Boyd and others who may also be ahead of.Zac..
I think there's a genuine opportunity to play as Williams as a defensive forward next year who could hit the scoreboard as well. Perhaps he becomes a smaller utility type and a genuine Mr. Fix it
We don’t need Gresham,we don’t need anyone from the staints.
I've been saying the same thing since the start of the year. His ability to lower his eyes and bullet-pass disposal is exactly what we need across HF.Pencil in Zac Williams I reckon.
Of the names you list; I think Doc would be most suited to the HFF role - if you had to transform one of them into a forwardWho does he displace in the backline? I would hope that the back six of Weiters, Kemp, Saad, Doc, Cincotta ans McGovern/Marchbank would become even more settled next year. Then you have Newman, Boyd and others who may also be ahead of.Zac..
I think there's a genuine opportunity to play as Williams as a defensive forward next year who could hit the scoreboard as well. Perhaps he becomes a smaller utility type and a genuine Mr. Fix it
There will be day when ZW, Martin & Cunners are all fit & on the park, if that day turns into a few months at the end of a season (& most of the rest are fit) u can pencil in a flag.I've been saying the same thing since the start of the year. His ability to lower his eyes and bullet-pass disposal is exactly what we need across HF.
He’s worth a future forth - nothing more.
Solid pass.
Dow unlikely to accept the offer
Not a money issue.Sorry to those who disagree, but I'm totally fine with this. If he wants $$, then he needs to move on.
Can’t see it being $Sorry to those who disagree, but I'm totally fine with this. If he wants $$, then he needs to move on.
You seem determined to be a contrarian. We have plenty of depth, Irishmen on the way in droves and we will find gems in the draft. No top up hacks from the bleachers on other teams.Binns is not a forward or clearance midfielder, and I’d be surprised if Philpy is at Carlton next season.
We had all of these players on our list 10 weeks ago and it was our weakest area on the ground. Can’t afford to be complacent.
Of the names you list; I think Doc would be most suited to the HFF role - if you had to transform one of them into a forward
You would think the next 3 games will solidify the decision, hope he kills it & gets picked best 22 when it countsDow unlikely to accept the offer
Although Doc loves a goal he also loves to blaze away and doesn't necessarily lower their eyes when passing the ball and so forward. 50. I don't think he's really suited for that role because of it. That's not to say he couldn't play the wrong. Just that we have better options
GoodI heard today that our interest in Gresham is not as strong as it was, and it’s more unlikely we pursue him
Just like you said about TDK.....the very day he signed......Dow unlikely to accept the offer